News › ZEISS • Suc­cess­ful Start to Fis­cal Year

Half-year reve­nue reaches 3.4 bil­lion euros (+6% com­pa­red to prior year) – EBIT at 591 mil­lion euros (+136 mil­lion euros vs. prior year)

  • Posi­tive deve­lo­p­ment across all ZEISS segments
  • ZEISS Group suc­cess­fully navi­ga­tes pan­de­mic thanks to broad port­fo­lio and glo­bal structure
  • In par­ti­cu­lar, Medi­cal Tech­no­logy and Con­su­mer Mar­kets seg­ments cur­r­ently the big­gest con­tri­bu­tors to growth
  • High invest­ments in Rese­arch & Deve­lo­p­ment con­ti­nue as 12% of reve­nue dedi­ca­ted to this area

The ZEISS Group had a suc­cess­ful end to the first six mon­ths of fis­cal year 2020/21 (ended 31 March 2021). It saw its reve­nue rise by 6 per­cent (adjus­ted for cur­rency fluc­tua­tions, by 9 per­cent) to 3.406 bil­lion euros (pre­vious year: 3.213 bil­lion euros). Around 90% of this sum was gene­ra­ted in mar­kets out­side Ger­many. At 591 mil­lion euros, ear­nings before inte­rest and tax (EBIT) were signi­fi­cantly hig­her than in the pre­vious year (455 mil­lion euros). The EBIT mar­gin was 17%. Inco­m­ing orders incre­a­sed to 4.200 bil­lion euros (prior year: 3.601 bil­lion euros).

»Thanks to our broad port­fo­lio, glo­bal struc­ture and the excep­tio­nal dedi­ca­tion of our employees, we have suc­cess­fully navi­ga­ted through the COVID-19 pan­de­mic,« said Dr. Karl Lam­precht, ZEISS Pre­si­dent and CEO. »This has allo­wed us to get off to a good start in the first half of the new fis­cal year. Our glo­bal invest­ment stra­tegy and high expen­dit­ure on rese­arch and deve­lo­p­ment over many years are now paying off. We will be con­ti­nuing to make these investments.«

Seg­ment development

  Reve­nue (in mil­lion euros)
  1st six mon­ths of 2020/21 1st six mon­ths of 2019/20 Dif­fe­rence
(adjus­ted for cur­rency effects)
Semi­con­duc­tor Manu­fac­tu­ring Technology 913 904 +1% (+1%)
Indus­trial Qua­lity & Research 853 865 -1% (+2%)
Medi­cal Technology* 920 834 +10% (+16%)
Con­su­mer Markets 681 576 +18% (+24%)

*Not iden­ti­cal to the Carl Zeiss Medi­tec Group

In gene­ral, busi­ness at ZEISS‹ four seg­ments has deve­lo­ped well over the past fis­cal year.

ZEISS is con­ti­nuing to see growth in the semi­con­duc­tor mar­ket. The Semi­con­duc­tor Manu­fac­tu­ring Tech­no­logy seg­ment has been able to expand its high reve­nue in the cur­rent fis­cal year com­pa­red to the dis­pro­por­tio­na­tely strong equi­va­lent period in the pre­vious year. Due to the high demand for the inno­va­tive extreme ultra­vio­let (EUV) litho­gra­phy sys­tems and deep ultra­vio­let (DUV) litho­gra­phy sys­tems, ZEISS has every rea­son to be opti­mistic about the second half of the year. Glo­bal trends such as 5G, arti­fi­cial intel­li­gence, the Inter­net of Things and high-per­for­mance com­pu­ting solu­ti­ons, are the major dri­vers fue­ling this high demand.

The Indus­trial Qua­lity & Rese­arch seg­ment repor­ted sta­ble deve­lo­p­ment for the first six mon­ths of this fis­cal year: the indus­trial metro­logy busi­ness is slowly reco­vering from the impact of the COVID-19 pan­de­mic. The gene­ral struc­tu­ral and tech­no­logy trans­for­ma­tion con­ti­nues to pose a chal­lenge, par­ti­cu­larly in the auto­mo­bile indus­try. Adjus­ted for cur­rency fluc­tua­tions, the micro­scopy solu­ti­ons busi­ness achie­ved two-digit growth. Growth oppor­tu­nities for both busi­ness areas at the seg­ment come in the form of e‑mobility: micro­scopy and qua­lity assurance solu­ti­ons are deployed in bat­tery rese­arch and in qua­lity assurance for bat­tery production.

In the first six mon­ths of the year, the Medi­cal Tech­no­logy seg­ment achie­ved clear reve­nue growth once again. The impact of the COVID-19 pan­de­mic is ebbing away, allowing the seg­ment to boost its growth rate back up to its pre-pan­de­mic level. Major con­tri­bu­ti­ons to growth came from retur­ning reve­nues from con­sum­a­bles, implants and ser­vices ren­de­red. Mean­while, sales and mar­ke­ting costs were com­pa­ra­tively low given the con­ti­nued limi­ta­ti­ons impo­sed by the pandemic.

The Con­su­mer Mar­kets seg­ment has cer­tainly reco­ve­red from the impact of the COVID-19 pan­de­mic, con­clu­ding the first six mon­ths of the year with a very good reve­nue, and ear­ning mar­ket shares as well. Des­pite fur­ther regio­nal lock­down-indu­ced limi­ta­ti­ons in the eye­glass lens mar­ket, the out­look for the second half of the fis­cal year remains posi­tive. The pan­de­mic has meant that the con­di­ti­ons for logistics and deli­very relia­bi­lity will remain challenging.

Key figu­res

Free cash flow amoun­ted to 609 mil­lion euros (first six mon­ths of 2019/20: 180 mil­lion euros). The company’s equity rose by 13 per­cent as com­pa­red to fis­cal year 2019/20, tota­ling 4,840 mil­lion euros (30 Sep­tem­ber 2020: 4,287 mil­lion euros).

ZEISS‹ expen­dit­ure on rese­arch and deve­lo­p­ment tota­led around 12 per­cent of reve­nue in the first half of fis­cal year 2020/21. This amoun­ted to 425 mil­lion euros of reve­nue (first six mon­ths of 2019/20: 398 mil­lion euros),
Invest­ments in pro­perty, plant and equip­ment amoun­ted to 264 mil­lion euros in the repor­ting period (first six mon­ths of 2019/20: 215 mil­lion euros), as com­pa­red to depre­cia­ti­ons tota­ling EUR 127 mil­lion (first six mon­ths of 2019/20: 123 mil­lion euros).

At the end of the repor­ting period on 31 March 2021, net liqui­dity tota­led 1,829 mil­lion euros.

In the Ame­ri­cas and APAC regi­ons, dis­tinct reve­nue growth has been achie­ved, adjus­ted for cur­rency fluc­tua­tions. Slight growth was also repor­ted in the EMEA region.

»Growth at the ZEISS Group is based on for­ward-loo­king decisi­ons and a little pati­ence, « says Dr. Chris­tian Mül­ler, Chief Finan­cial Offi­cer of Carl Zeiss AG. »While our size­able invest­ments in rese­arch and deve­lo­p­ment do not always immedia­tely pay off, a little pati­ence cou­pled with inno­va­tive ideas allow us to shape the mar­ket. ZEISS‹ invest­ment stra­tegy, i.e. invest­ments in tech­no­logy, infra­st­ruc­ture and our stra­te­gic pre­sence in the world’s high-tech hubs, also inclu­des the ZEISS Inno­va­tion Cen­ter that was ope­ned this year in Dub­lin, Cali­for­nia. This allows us to bols­ter the links bet­ween sci­ence and busi­ness, thus ope­ning up new mar­ke­ting oppor­tu­nities in the digi­tal arena.«

ZEISS does not shy away from its respon­si­bi­lity toward ensu­ring sus­taina­bi­lity. »Our goal is to embed sus­taina­bi­lity throughout the com­pany, ren­de­ring it mea­sura­ble and deve­lo­ping it fur­ther,« says Mül­ler. »ZEISS aims to ope­rate in a car­bon-neu­tral way in its own acti­vi­ties world­wide by 2025. This sup­ple­ments the company’s exis­ting goal of swit­ching to green power by 2022.«

ZEISS‹ new part­ners­hips and acqui­si­ti­ons in the first half of the fis­cal year include the part­ners­hip with glo­bal tech­no­logy player vivo in the area of mobile ima­ging, which was announ­ced in Decem­ber. As part of this stra­te­gic col­la­bo­ra­tion, the two com­pa­nies are working on pro­jects such as deve­lo­ping ima­ging sys­tems for vivo’s smart­pho­nes. Fur­ther­more, in order to expand its offe­ring in micro­scopy with inno­va­tive 3D and big data soft­ware solu­ti­ons, back in Decem­ber ZEISS acqui­red a majo­rity stake in ari­vis AG. This is how the com­pany is bols­te­ring its soft­ware skills and mar­ket posi­tion in the field of 3D visua­liz­a­tion and ana­ly­sis technology.

At the end of the first six mon­ths of the cur­rent fis­cal year (31 March 2021), ZEISS had a glo­bal work­force of 34,434 employees. Its head­count thus incre­a­sed by more than 8% as com­pa­red to 31 March 2020. This also reflects the seg­ments‹ growth tra­jec­tory. For instance, in the first half of the fis­cal year the Semi­con­duc­tor Manu­fac­tu­ring Tech­no­logy seg­ment hired over 450 new people. And 300 fur­ther new posi­ti­ons will help the seg­ment to con­ti­nue gro­wing in the second half of the fis­cal year.

Out­look

Moreo­ver, the glo­bal eco­nomy will face con­si­derable chal­len­ges due to the COVID-19 pan­de­mic. Howe­ver, the cur­rent eco­no­mic trends offer a posi­tive out­look. ZEISS the­re­fore expects to see a rise in reve­nue for fis­cal year 2020/21. »While the impact of the glo­bal pan­de­mic does raise some doubts, we remain opti­mistic as regards the second half of the fis­cal year,« says Lamprecht.

2021 is also a spe­cial year for ZEISS, as it will be cele­bra­ting its 175th anni­ver­s­ary, to honor the day in Novem­ber 1846 when Carl Zeiss estab­lis­hed the com­pany in Jena.

About ZEISS

ZEISS is an inter­na­tio­nally lea­ding tech­no­logy com­pany in the optics and optoelec­tro­nics indus­try. In the pre­vious fis­cal year, the ZEISS Group gene­ra­ted annual reve­nue tota­ling more than 6.3 bil­lion euros in its four seg­ments Indus­trial Qua­lity & Rese­arch, Medi­cal Tech­no­logy, Con­su­mer Mar­kets and Semi­con­duc­tor Manu­fac­tu­ring Tech­no­logy (updated: 30 Sep­tem­ber 2020).

For its cus­to­mers, ZEISS deve­lops, pro­du­ces and dis­tri­bu­tes highly inno­va­tive solu­ti­ons for indus­trial metro­logy and qua­lity assurance, micro­scopy solu­ti­ons for the life sci­en­ces and mate­ri­als rese­arch, as well as medi­cal tech­no­logy solu­ti­ons for dia­gnostics and tre­at­ment in oph­thal­mo­logy and micro­sur­gery. The name ZEISS is also syn­ony­mous with the world’s lea­ding litho­gra­phy optics, which are used by the chip indus­try to manu­fac­ture semi­con­duc­tor com­pon­ents. There is glo­bal demand for trend­set­ting ZEISS brand pro­ducts such as eye­glass len­ses, camera len­ses and binoculars.

With a port­fo­lio ali­gned with future growth areas like digi­ta­liz­a­tion, health­care and Indus­try 4.0 as well as a strong brand, ZEISS is shaping tech­no­lo­gi­cal pro­gress and, through its solu­ti­ons, is exten­ding the hori­zon of the world of optics and asso­cia­ted areas. The company’s signi­fi­cant, sus­tainable invest­ments in rese­arch and deve­lo­p­ment lay the foun­da­tion for the suc­cess and con­ti­nued expan­sion of ZEISS‹ tech­no­logy and mar­ket lea­ders­hip. ZEISS invests 12% of its reve­nue in rese­arch and deve­lo­p­ment work – ZEISS has a long tra­di­tion of high expen­dit­ure in these areas. This also repres­ents the company’s invest­ment in the future.

With over 34,000 employees, ZEISS is active glo­bally in almost 50 coun­tries with around 60 sales and ser­vice com­pa­nies, 30 pro­duc­tion sites and 27 deve­lo­p­ment sites. Foun­ded in 1846 in Jena, the com­pany is head­quar­te­red in Ober­ko­chen, Ger­many. The Carl Zeiss Foun­da­tion, one of the lar­gest foun­da­ti­ons in Ger­many com­mit­ted to the pro­mo­tion of sci­ence, is the sole owner of the hol­ding com­pany, Carl Zeiss AG (updated: 31 March 2021).

Fur­ther infor­ma­tion at www.zeiss.com

Press Con­tact

Jörg Nit­schke
Group Spokesman
ZEISS Group
+49 7364 20–3242
moc.ssiez@ekhcstin.greoj

Aktuelles › ZEISS • Erfolg­rei­cher Start ins Geschäftsjahr

Halb­jah­res­um­satz erreicht 3,4 Mil­li­ar­den Euro (+6% ggü. VJ) – EBIT bei 591 Mil­lio­nen Euro (+136 Mio. Euro ggü. VJ)

  • Zeiss LogoPosi­tive Ent­wick­lung über alle ZEISS Spar­ten hinweg
  • ZEISS Gruppe durch brei­tes Port­fo­lio und glo­bale Auf­stel­lung erfolg­reich durch Pan­de­mie manövriert
  • Ins­be­son­dere die Spar­ten Medi­cal Tech­no­logy und Con­su­mer Mar­kets tra­gen der­zeit am stärks­ten zum Wachs­tum bei
  • Mit 12 % des Umsat­zes hohe Inves­ti­tio­nen in For­schung & Ent­wick­lung fortgesetzt

Die ZEISS Gruppe schloss die ers­ten sechs Monate des Geschäfts­jahrs 2020/21 (Bilanz­stich­tag: 31. März 2021) erfolg­reich ab: Der Umsatz stieg um 6 Pro­zent (wäh­rungs­be­rei­nigt um 9 Pro­zent) auf 3,406 Mil­li­ar­den Euro (Vor­jahr: 3,213 Mrd. Euro). Davon ent­fie­len rund 90 % auf Märkte außer­halb von Deutsch­land. Auch das Ergeb­nis vor Zin­sen und Steu­ern (EBIT) über­traf mit 591 Mil­lio­nen Euro (Vor­jahr: 455 Mio. Euro) deut­lich das Vor­jah­res­ni­veau. Die EBIT-Marge erreichte 17 %. Der Auf­trags­ein­gang lag bei 4,200 Mil­li­ar­den Euro (Vor­jahr: 3,601 Mrd. Euro).

„Wir haben uns dank des brei­ten Port­fo­lios, der glo­ba­len Auf­stel­lung und auch durch den hohen Ein­satz unse­rer Mit­ar­bei­te­rin­nen und Mit­ar­bei­ter gut durch die COVID-19-Pan­de­mie manö­vriert“, sagte Dr. Karl Lam­precht, Vor­stands­vor­sit­zen­der von ZEISS. „So konn­ten wir erfolg­reich in das erste Halb­jahr des neuen Geschäfts­jahrs star­ten. Unsere glo­bale Inves­ti­ti­ons­stra­te­gie und die hohen Aus­ga­ben für For­schung und Ent­wick­lung über viele Jahre hin­weg zah­len sich aus. Diese Inves­ti­tio­nen wer­den wir auch kon­se­quent fortsetzen.“

Ent­wick­lung der Sparten

Umsatz (in Mio. Euro)
  1. Halb­jahr 2020/21
1. Halb­jahr 2019/20
Ver­än­de­rung
(wäh­rungs­be­rei­nigt)
Semi­con­duc­tor Manu­fac­tu­ring Technology 913 904 +1 % (+1 %)
Indus­trial Qua­lity & Research 853 865 -1 % (+2 %)
Medi­cal Technology* 920 834 +10 % (+16 %)
Con­su­mer Markets 681 576 +18 % (+24 %)

*Nicht iden­tisch mit der Carl Zeiss Medi­tec Gruppe

Die Geschäfte der vier ZEISS Spar­ten haben sich im ver­gan­ge­nen Halb­jahr grund­sätz­lich gut entwickelt.

Das Wachs­tum im Halb­lei­ter­markt hält an. Die Sparte Semi­con­duc­tor Manu­fac­tu­ring Tech­no­logy konnte im aktu­el­len Geschäfts­jahr das hohe Umsatz­ni­veau gegen­über dem über­pro­por­tio­nal star­ken Ver­gleichs­zeit­raum im Vor­jahr aus­bauen. Auf­grund der hohen Nach­frage nach inno­va­ti­ven Extreme Ultra Vio­let (EUV)-Lithographiesystemen und auch nach Deep Ultra Vio­let (DUV)-Lithographiesystemen blickt ZEISS posi­tiv in das zweite Halb­jahr. Glo­bale Trends wie 5G, Künst­li­che Intel­li­genz, Inter­net of Things und High-Per­for­mance-Com­pu­ting-Lösun­gen sind die gro­ßen Trei­ber hin­ter der star­ken Nachfrage.

Die Sparte Indus­trial Qua­lity & Rese­arch ent­wi­ckelte sich im ers­ten Halb­jahr sta­bil: Das Geschäft mit indus­tri­el­ler Mess­tech­nik erholt sich lang­sam von den Aus­wir­kun­gen der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie. Her­aus­for­dernd bleibt der gene­relle Struk­tur- und Tech­no­lo­gie­wan­del ins­be­son­dere in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie. Das Geschäft mit Mikro­sko­pie­lö­sun­gen ist wäh­rungs­be­rei­nigt zwei­stel­lig gewach­sen. Wachs­tums­chan­cen für beide Geschäfts­fel­der der Sparte bie­tet das Thema Elek­tro­mo­bi­li­tät: Mikro­sko­pie- und Qua­li­täts­si­che­rungs­lö­sun­gen wer­den in der Bat­te­rie­for­schung sowie in der Qua­li­täts­si­che­rung in der Bat­te­rie­her­stel­lung eingesetzt.

Die Sparte Medi­cal Tech­no­logy konnte im ers­ten Halb­jahr zu deut­li­chem Umsatz­wachs­tum zurück­keh­ren. Die Aus­wir­kun­gen der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie las­sen all­mäh­lich nach, so dass die Sparte ihr Wachs­tums­tempo in Summe wie­der auf das Niveau von vor der Pan­de­mie stei­gern kann. Dabei lie­fern wie­der­keh­rende Umsätze aus Ver­brauchs­ma­te­ria­lien, Implan­ta­ten und Ser­vice­leis­tun­gen wesent­li­che Wachs­tums­bei­träge. Gleich­zei­tig blei­ben die Ver­triebs- und Mar­ke­ting­kos­ten vor dem Hin­ter­grund noch bestehen­der Beschrän­kun­gen auf­grund der Pan­de­mie ver­gleichs­weise niedrig.

Die Sparte Con­su­mer Mar­kets konnte sich deut­lich von den Aus­wir­kun­gen der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie erho­len, das erste Halb­jahr mit einem sehr guten Umsatz abschlie­ßen und dabei auch Markt­an­teile hin­zu­ge­win­nen. Trotz wei­te­rer regio­na­ler Lock­down-Ein­schrän­kun­gen im Bril­len­glas­markt ist der Aus­blick für die zweite Geschäfts­jah­res­hälfte ver­hal­ten opti­mis­tisch. Die Rah­men­be­din­gun­gen für Logis­tik und Lie­fer­fä­hig­keit blei­ben auf­grund der Pan­de­mie herausfordernd.

Kenn­zah­len

Der Free Cash­flow belief sich auf 609 Mil­lio­nen Euro (1. Halb­jahr 2019/20: 180 Mio. Euro). Das Eigen­ka­pi­tal des Kon­zerns stieg im Ver­gleich zum Geschäfts­jah­res­ab­schluss 2019/20 um 13 Pro­zent auf 4.840 Mil­lio­nen Euro (30. Sep­tem­ber 2020: 4.287 Mio. Euro).

Die Auf­wen­dun­gen für For­schung und Ent­wick­lung betru­gen im ers­ten Halb­jahr 2020/21 mit 425 Mil­lio­nen Euro rund 12 Pro­zent des Umsat­zes (1. Halb­jahr 2019/20: 398 Mio. Euro).
Die Inves­ti­tio­nen in Sach­an­la­gen belie­fen sich im Berichts­zeit­raum auf 264 Mil­lio­nen Euro (1. Halb­jahr 2019/20: 215 Mio. Euro). Dem gegen­über stan­den Abschrei­bun­gen in Höhe von 127 Mil­lio­nen Euro (1. Halb­jahr 2019/20: 123 Mio. Euro).

Die Net­to­li­qui­di­tät lag zum Stich­tag 31. März 2021 bei 1.829 Mil­lio­nen Euro.

In den Regio­nen Ame­ri­cas und APAC konnte wäh­rungs­be­rei­nigt bereits wie­der ein deut­li­ches Umsatz­wachs­tum gene­riert wer­den. Auch in der Region EMEA war ein leich­tes Wachs­tum erkennbar.

„Das Wachs­tum der ZEISS Gruppe beruht auch auf vor­aus­schau­en­den Kursent­schei­dun­gen und einem lan­gen Atem“, so Dr. Chris­tian Mül­ler, Finanz­vor­stand der Carl Zeiss AG. „Unsere hohen Inves­ti­tio­nen in For­schung und Ent­wick­lung zah­len sich nicht immer sofort aus, doch mit lan­gem Atem und inno­va­ti­ven Ideen kön­nen wir den Markt gestal­ten. Die Inves­ti­ti­ons­stra­te­gie, also Inves­ti­tio­nen in Tech­no­lo­gie, Infra­struk­tur und unsere gezielte Prä­senz in inter­na­tio­nale Hoch­tech­no­lo­gie­zen­tren, umfasst auch das in die­sem Jahr eröff­nete ZEISS Inno­va­tion Cen­ter in Dub­lin, Kali­for­nien. Hier kön­nen wir die Ver­net­zung von Wirt­schaft und Wis­sen­schaft stär­ken und neue Markt­chan­cen im digi­ta­len Umfeld erschließen.“

Dabei ist sich ZEISS sei­ner Ver­ant­wor­tung auch im Bereich Nach­hal­tig­keit bewusst. „Unser Ziel ist es, nach­hal­ti­ges Han­deln in der gesam­ten Orga­ni­sa­tion zu ver­an­kern, mess­bar zu machen und wei­ter­zu­ent­wi­ckeln“, erklärt Mül­ler. „Bis 2025 soll ZEISS CO2-neu­tral in den eige­nen Tätig­kei­ten welt­weit wer­den. Dies ergänzt das bereits gesetzte Ziel, bis 2022 den Ener­gie­be­zug auf Grün­strom umzustellen.“

Zu den erfolg­reich abge­schlos­se­nen Koope­ra­tio­nen und Akqui­si­tio­nen des ers­ten Geschäfts­halb­jahrs zählt die im Dezem­ber bekannt gege­bene Part­ner­schaft mit dem glo­ba­len Tech­no­lo­gie-Unter­neh­men vivo im Bereich Mobile Ima­ging. Im Rah­men der stra­te­gi­schen Koope­ra­tion arbei­ten die bei­den Unter­neh­men unter ande­rem an Bild­ge­bungs­sys­te­men für die vivo Smart­pho­nes. Um sein Ange­bot im Bereich Mikro­sko­pie mit inno­va­ti­ven 3‑D- und Big-Data-Soft­ware­lö­sun­gen zu erwei­tern, hat ZEISS im Dezem­ber die Mehr­heit an der ari­vis AG erwor­ben. So stärkt das Unter­neh­men seine Soft­ware­kom­pe­tenz und Markt­po­si­tion im Bereich 3‑D-Visua­li­sie­rung und Analyse-Technologie.

Zum Ende des ers­ten Halb­jahrs (31. März 2021) beschäf­tigte ZEISS in sei­nen Unter­neh­mens­ein­hei­ten welt­weit 34.434 Mit­ar­bei­te­rin­nen und Mit­ar­bei­ter. Die Anzahl der Mit­ar­bei­ten­den stieg damit im Ver­gleich zum 31. März 2020 um mehr als 8 %. Das spie­gelt auch den Wachs­tums­pfad der Spar­ten wider. In der ers­ten Geschäfts­jah­res­hälfte stellte bei­spiels­weise die Sparte Semi­con­duc­tor Manu­fac­tu­ring Tech­no­logy über 450 neue Mit­ar­bei­tende ein. Mit wei­te­ren 300 neuen Stel­len soll der Auf­bau der Sparte auch im zwei­ten Halb­jahr fort­ge­setzt werden.

Aus­blick

Die Welt­wirt­schaft hat wei­ter­hin, auf­grund der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie, glo­bale Her­aus­for­de­run­gen zu bewäl­ti­gen. Aktu­elle Wirt­schafts­trends zei­gen aber wie­der posi­tive Vor­zei­chen. Für das Geschäfts­jahr 2020/21 geht ZEISS daher von einem stei­gen­den Umsatz aus. „Durch die Aus­wir­kun­gen der glo­ba­len Pan­de­mie blei­ben natür­lich Unsi­cher­hei­ten, den­noch sind wir für die zweite Geschäfts­jah­res­hälfte opti­mis­tisch“, so Lamprecht.

Für ZEISS ist das Jahr 2021 auch ein beson­de­res Jahr, denn im Novem­ber 1846, also vor 175 Jah­ren, hat Carl Zeiss das Unter­neh­men in Jena gegründet.

Über ZEISS

ZEISS ist ein welt­weit füh­ren­des Tech­no­lo­gie­un­ter­neh­men der opti­schen und opto­elek­tro­ni­schen Indus­trie. In den vier Spar­ten Semi­con­duc­tor Manu­fac­tu­ring Tech­no­logy, Indus­trial Qua­lity & Rese­arch, Medi­cal Tech­no­logy und Con­su­mer Mar­kets erwirt­schaf­tete die ZEISS Gruppe zuletzt einen Jah­res­um­satz von 6,3 Mil­li­ar­den Euro (Stand: 30.9.2020).

ZEISS ent­wi­ckelt, pro­du­ziert und ver­treibt für seine Kun­den hoch­in­no­va­tive Lösun­gen für die indus­tri­elle Mess­tech­nik und Qua­li­täts­si­che­rung, Mikro­sko­pie­lö­sun­gen für Lebens­wis­sen­schaf­ten und Mate­ri­al­for­schung sowie Medi­zin­tech­nik­lö­sun­gen für Dia­gnos­tik und The­ra­pie in der Augen­heil­kunde und der Mikro­chir­ur­gie. ZEISS steht auch für die welt­weit füh­rende Litho­gra­phie­op­tik, die zur Her­stel­lung von Halb­lei­ter­bau­ele­men­ten von der Chip­in­dus­trie ver­wen­det wird. ZEISS Mar­ken­pro­dukte wie Bril­len­glä­ser, Foto­ob­jek­tive und Fern­glä­ser sind welt­weit begehrt und Trendsetter.

Mit die­sem auf Wachs­tums­fel­der der Zukunft wie Digi­ta­li­sie­rung, Gesund­heit und Indus­trie 4.0 aus­ge­rich­te­ten Port­fo­lio und einer star­ken Marke gestal­tet ZEISS den tech­no­lo­gi­schen Fort­schritt mit und bringt mit sei­nen Lösun­gen die Welt der Optik und angren­zende Berei­che wei­ter voran. Grund­lage für den Erfolg und den wei­te­ren kon­ti­nu­ier­li­chen Aus­bau der Tech­no­lo­gie- und Markt­füh­rer­schaft von ZEISS sind die nach­hal­tig hohen Auf­wen­dun­gen für For­schung und Ent­wick­lung. ZEISS inves­tiert 12% sei­nes Umsat­zes in For­schungs- und Ent­wick­lungs­ar­beit – diese hohen Auf­wen­dun­gen haben bei ZEISS eine lange Tra­di­tion und sind glei­cher­ma­ßen eine Inves­ti­tion in die Zukunft.

Mit über 34.000 Mit­ar­bei­te­rin­nen und Mit­ar­bei­tern ist ZEISS in fast 50 Län­dern mit rund 30 Pro­duk­ti­ons­stand­or­ten, 60 Ver­triebs- und Ser­vice­stand­or­ten sowie 27 For­schungs- und Ent­wick­lungs­stand­or­ten welt­weit aktiv. Haupt­stand­ort des 1846 in Jena gegrün­de­ten Unter­neh­mens ist Ober­ko­chen, Deutsch­land. Allei­nige Eigen­tü­me­rin der Dach­ge­sell­schaft, der Carl Zeiss AG, ist die Carl-Zeiss-Stif­tung, eine der größ­ten deut­schen Stif­tun­gen zur För­de­rung der Wis­sen­schaft (Stand: 31.3.2021).

Wei­tere Infor­ma­tio­nen unter www.zeiss.de

Pres­se­kon­takt

Jörg Nit­schke
Pressesprecher
ZEISS Gruppe
+49 7364 20–3242
moc.ssiez@ekhcstin.greoj