News › Fraun­ho­fer IOF • 60th anni­ver­s­ary of the laser

Jena rese­arch groups world­wide lea­ding in laser development

It is indis­pensable for the use of smart­pho­nes, for modern medi­cal tech­no­logy or app­li­ca­ti­ons in space: we are tal­king about lasers. It first saw the light of day exactly 60 years ago. To make this ground­brea­king inven­tion acces­si­ble to a wider public, UNESCO has decla­red the laser’s bir­th­day, May 16th, to be Inter­na­tio­nal Day of Light. The laser rese­ar­chers of Jena, the city of light, are also cele­bra­ting this anni­ver­s­ary – nume­rous records have been set here over the past 22 years. To this day, Jena is at the fore­front of rese­arch in the field of laser technologies.

 

On May 16th, 1960, the team around Theo­dore H. Mai­man at Bell Labs (USA) suc­cee­ded in rea­li­zing a laser for the first time. App­li­ca­ti­ons were tes­ted early on, e.g. in mate­rial pro­ces­sing or oph­thal­mo­logy. The wealth of ideas for the use of the new pre­cision tool sub­se­quently incre­a­sed inexor­ably. In only 60 years, the laser has become almost uni­ver­sal and indis­pensable for our daily life.

Pres­ti­gious awards for laser rese­arch in Jena

Laser tech­no­logy also plays an important role in Jena, the city of light. For more than 20 years, rese­ar­chers at the Fraun­ho­fer IOF and the Insti­tute for App­lied Phy­sics at the Fried­rich Schil­ler Uni­ver­sity of Jena have been working con­ti­nuously to improve the para­me­ters and app­li­ca­tion pos­si­bi­li­ties of lasers. Prof. Andreas Tün­ner­mann is an expe­ri­en­ced expert at the head of both insti­tu­tes – in 2005 he hims­elf was awar­ded the Gott­fried Wil­helm Leib­niz Prize for his work in the field of laser development.

Other renow­ned pri­zes were awar­ded to the deputy direc­tor of the Fraun­ho­fer IOF, Prof. Ste­fan Nolte, for the use of ultras­hort laser pul­ses in indus­trial pro­duc­tion (Ger­man Future Prize 2013) and to the head of the »Fiber and Wave­guide Lasers« rese­arch group at the Insti­tute for App­lied Phy­sics, Prof. Jens Lim­pert, who recei­ved an ERC grant for the third time in 2019 for his rese­arch in the field of high-per­for­mance fiber laser systems.

Mile­stones in Jena laser research

On the occa­sion of the anni­ver­s­ary, Insti­tute Direc­tor Prof. Andreas Tün­ner­mann recalls the most important mile­stones in Jena’s laser rese­arch: »There were many decisive deve­lo­p­ments. One of them is undoub­tedly the cohe­rent cou­pling of lasers for sca­ling the out­put, for which we in Jena stand world­wide. The demons­tra­tion of the laser in opti­cal com­mu­ni­ca­tion net­works was also important for us. Without the laser, our digi­tal society would pro­bably not exist. But there are other examp­les, such as the use of the laser as a pre­cise and wear-resistant tool.«

Bes­i­des the deve­lo­p­ment of novel and ground­brea­king fiber ampli­fiers, so-cal­led »rod-type fiber ampli­fiers« in 2004, the Jena rese­ar­chers have suc­cee­ded in the past deca­des in con­stantly rai­sing the average out­put of high-power fiber lasers to new record levels. This hap­pened in 2009, when an out­put power of > 2 kW was achie­ved for the first time using spec­tral beam com­bi­ning (SBC). Fur­ther high­lights fol­lo­wed, e.g. in 2019 when Prof. Jens Limpert’s team suc­cee­ded in rea­li­zing an ultra-short pulse thu­lium fiber laser sys­tem with an average out­put power > 1 kW. Only at the begin­ning of this year, a novel 10 kW fem­to­se­cond laser sys­tem based on a cohe­rent com­bi­na­tion of laser beams (CBC) was pre­sen­ted at SPIE.Photonics West.

High inno­va­tion poten­tial also for the future

Des­pite the achie­ve­ments so far, Insti­tute Direc­tor Tün­ner­mann indi­ca­tes that the limit of what is fea­si­ble is far from being reached. »In the future, the laser will open up new wav­elength ran­ges up to the X‑ray range and thus enable new ima­ging methods in medi­cine, for example.”

Inten­sive rese­arch is cur­r­ently being car­ried out at the Fraun­ho­fer-Gesell­schaft on ultra-short pul­sed lasers for indus­trial app­li­ca­ti­ons. In the »Clus­ter of Excel­lence Advan­ced Pho­ton Sources« (CAPS), 13 Fraun­ho­fer Insti­tu­tes have joi­ned for­ces to deve­lop laser sources and pro­cess tech­no­logy for out­puts up to 20 kW. Lasers of this kind could be used, for example, to make mil­li­ons of tiny holes in air­craft wings, which would help to save fuel.

More and more advan­ced laser tech­no­lo­gies are also nee­ded in the field of quan­tum tech­no­lo­gies. Prac­ti­cally all approa­ches to quan­tum tech­no­logy require lasers to gene­rate and query quan­tum sta­tes. This was the case with the »QuNET« pro­ject, for which the Fraun­ho­fer-Gesell­schaft, the Max Planck Society, and the Ger­man Aero­space Cen­ter have been buil­ding a pilot net­work for quan­tum com­mu­ni­ca­tion in Ger­many since last year.

Experts, the­re­fore, agree that the laser will con­ti­nue to pro­duce spec­ta­cu­lar inno­va­tions in the future. Laser rese­ar­cher Prof. Andreas Tün­ner­mann puts it this way: »Alt­hough the laser is now 60 years old, it is always good for some­thing new. There are always new sur­pri­sing rea­liz­a­ti­ons of this old concept.«

Con­tact

Dr. Tho­mas Schreiber
Fraun­ho­fer IOF
Albert-Ein­stein-Straße 7
07745 Jena
+49 3641 807–352
+49 3641 807–604

 

Prof. Dr. Jens Limpert
Fraun­ho­fer CAPS and Head Group of »Fiber & Wave­guide Laser«
Insti­tut für Ange­wandte Phy­sik der FSU Jena
Albert-Ein­stein-Str. 15
07745 Jena
+49 3641 947–811
+49 3641 947–802

Aktuelles › Fraun­ho­fer IOF • 60. Jubi­läum des Lasers

Jenaer For­scher­grup­pen welt­weit füh­rend bei Laser­ent­wick­lung

Er ist unver­zicht­bar für die Nut­zung von Smart­pho­nes, für moderne Medi­zin­tech­nik oder für Anwen­dun­gen im Welt­all: Die Rede ist vom Laser. Vor genau 60 Jah­ren erblickte er das Licht der Welt. Um diese bahn­bre­chende Erfin­dung einem brei­te­ren Publi­kum zugäng­lich zu machen, hat die UNESCO den Geburts­tag des Lasers, den 16. Mai, zum Inter­na­tio­na­len Tag des Lichts erklärt. Auch die Laser­for­schen­den der Licht­stadt Jena fei­ern die­ses Jubi­läum – hier wur­den in den ver­gan­ge­nen 22 Jah­ren zahl­rei­che Rekorde erzielt. Bis heute zählt Jena zur Speer­spitze der For­schung im Bereich der Laser­tech­no­lo­gien.

 

Am 16. Mai 1960 gelang es dem Team rund um Theo­dore H. Mai­man in den Bell Labs (USA) erst­ma­lig, einen Laser zu rea­li­sie­ren. Früh wur­den Anwen­dun­gen, z. B. in der Mate­ri­al­be­ar­bei­tung oder der Augen­heil­kunde erprobt. Der Ideen­reich­tum zur Nut­zung des neuen Prä­zi­si­ons­werk­zeugs nahm im Anschluss unauf­halt­sam zu. In nur 60 Jah­ren ist der Laser fast all­ge­gen­wär­tig und für unser täg­li­ches Leben unver­zicht­bar gewor­den.

Renom­mierte Aus­zeich­nun­gen für die Laser­for­schung in Jena

Auch in der Licht­stadt Jena spielt das Thema Laser­tech­no­lo­gie eine große Rolle. Am Fraun­ho­fer IOF sowie am Insti­tut für Ange­wandte Phy­sik der Fried­rich-Schil­ler-Uni­ver­si­tät Jena arbei­ten seit mehr als 20 Jah­ren For­sche­rin­nen und For­scher kon­ti­nu­ier­lich daran, die Para­me­ter und Anwen­dungs­mög­lich­kei­ten von Lasern zu ver­bes­sern. Mit Prof. Andreas Tün­ner­mann steht ein erfah­re­ner Experte an der Spitze bei­der Insti­tute – im Jahr 2005 wurde er selbst mit dem Gott­fried-Wil­helm-Leib­niz-Preis für seine Arbeit auf dem Gebiet der Laser­ent­wick­lung aus­ge­zeich­net.

Wei­tere renom­mierte Preise gin­gen unter ande­rem an den stell­ver­tre­ten­den Insti­tuts­lei­ter des Fraun­ho­fer IOF, Prof. Ste­fan Nolte, für die Nut­zung ultra­kur­zer Laser­pulse in der indus­tri­el­len Fer­ti­gung (Deut­scher Zukunfts­preis 2013) sowie an den Lei­ter der For­scher­gruppe »Fiber and Wave­guide Lasers« am Insti­tut für Ange­wandte Phy­sik, Prof. Jens Lim­pert, der im Jahr 2019 zum drit­ten Mal einen ERC-Grant für seine For­schung auf dem Gebiet der Hoch­leis­tungs­fa­ser­la­ser­sys­teme erhielt.

Mei­len­steine der Jenaer Laser­for­schung

Anläss­lich des Jubi­lä­ums erin­nert sich Insti­tuts­lei­ter Prof. Andreas Tün­ner­mann an die wich­tigs­ten Mei­len­steine der Jenaer Laser­for­schung: »Ent­schei­dende Ent­wick­lun­gen gab es viele. Eine davon ist zwei­fels­ohne das kohä­rente Kop­peln von Lasern zur Ska­lie­rung der Leis­tung, für das wir in Jena welt­weit ste­hen. Wich­tig für uns war auch die Demons­tra­tion des Lasers in opti­schen Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­net­zen. Ohne den Laser würde es unsere digi­tale Gesell­schaft wohl nicht geben. Aber es gibt auch andere Bei­spiele, wie den Ein­satz des Lasers als prä­zi­ses und ver­schleiß­fes­tes Werk­zeug.«

Neben der Ent­wick­lung von neu­ar­ti­gen und weg­wei­sen­den Faser­ver­stär­kern, soge­nann­ten »rod-type fiber ampli­fiers« im Jahr 2004 gelang es den Jenaer For­sche­rin­nen und For­schern in den ver­gan­ge­nen Jahr­zehn­ten, die mitt­lere Leis­tung von Hoch­leis­tungs­fa­ser­la­sern ste­tig auf neue Rekord­ni­veaus zu heben. So gesche­hen im Jahr 2009 als erst­ma­lig eine Aus­gangs­leis­tung von > 2 kW unter Ein­satz spek­tra­ler Strahl­ver­ei­ni­gung (Spec­tral Beam Com­bi­ning, SBC) erreicht wurde. Es folg­ten wei­tere Höhe­punkte, z. B. im Jahr 2019, als es dem Team um Prof. Jens Lim­pert gelang, ein Ultra­kurz­puls-Thu­li­um­fa­ser-Laser­sys­tem mit einer mitt­le­ren Leis­tung > 1 kW zu rea­li­sie­ren. Erst Anfang die­ses Jah­res wurde auf der SPIE.Photonics West ein neu­ar­ti­ges 10 kW Fem­to­se­kun­den-Laser­sys­tem vor­ge­stellt, basie­rend auf kohä­ren­ter Kom­bi­na­tion von Laser­strah­len (CBC).

Hohes Inno­va­ti­ons­po­ten­zial auch für die Zukunft

Trotz der erreich­ten Leis­tun­gen deu­tet Insti­tuts­lei­ter Tün­ner­mann an, dass die Grenze des Mach­ba­ren noch lange nicht erreicht ist. »Der Laser wird zukünf­tig neue Wel­len­län­gen­be­rei­che bis in den Rönt­gen­be­reich erschlie­ßen und damit zum Bei­spiel neue bild­ge­bende Ver­fah­ren in der Medi­zin ermög­li­chen.«

Der­zeit wird in der Fraun­ho­fer-Gesell­schaft inten­siv an ultra­kurz­ge­puls­ten Lasern für die indus­tri­elle Anwen­dung erforscht. Im »Clus­ter of Excel­lence Advan­ced Pho­ton Sources« (CAPS) haben sich 13 Fraun­ho­fer-Insti­tute zusam­men­ge­schlos­sen, um Laser­quel­len und Pro­zess­tech­nik für Leis­tun­gen bis 20 kW zu ent­wi­ckeln. Mit sol­chen Lasern lie­ßen sich unter ande­rem Mil­lio­nen kleins­ter Löcher in Flug­zeug­flü­gel ein­brin­gen, die dann hel­fen, Treib­stoff zu spa­ren.

Auch für den Bereich der Quan­ten­tech­no­lo­gien wer­den immer fort­schritt­li­chere Laser­tech­no­lo­gien benö­tigt. Prak­tisch alle Ansätze zur Quan­ten­tech­no­lo­gie benö­ti­gen Laser zum Erzeu­gen und Abfra­gen der Quan­ten­zu­stände. So gesche­hen beim Pro­jekt »QuNET«, für das die Fraun­ho­fer-Gesell­schaft, die Max-Planck-Gesell­schaft sowie das Deut­sche Zen­trum für Luft- und Raum­fahrt seit ver­gan­ge­nem Jahr ein Pilot­netz zur Quan­ten­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion in Deutsch­land auf­bauen, das der abhör- und mani­pu­la­ti­ons­si­che­ren Daten­über­tra­gung dient.

Exper­ten sind sich daher einig, dass der Laser auch in Zukunft spek­ta­ku­läre Inno­va­tio­nen her­vor­brin­gen wird. Laser­for­scher Prof. Andreas Tün­ner­mann drückt es fol­gen­der­ma­ßen aus: »Obwohl der Laser inzwi­schen 60 Jahre alt ist, so ist er immer für Neues gut. Es gibt immer wie­der neue über­ra­schende Rea­li­sie­run­gen die­ses alten Kon­zep­tes.«

Kon­takt

Dr. Tho­mas Schrei­ber
Fraun­ho­fer IOF
Albert-Ein­stein-Straße 7
07745 Jena
+49 3641 807–352
+49 3641 807–604

 

Prof. Dr. Jens Lim­pert
Fraun­ho­fer CAPS und Lei­ter Gruppe »Fiber & Wave­guide Laser«
Insti­tut für Ange­wandte Phy­sik der FSU Jena
Albert-Ein­stein-Str. 15
07745 Jena
+49 3641 947–811
+49 3641 947–802