News › Fraun­ho­fer IOF • Excel­lent rese­arch is cele­bra­ted on the occa­sion of the Inter­na­tio­nal Day of Light

With the »Inter­na­tio­nal Day of Light« on May 16, UNESCO draws atten­tion to rese­arch and sci­ence rela­ted to light as well as to light-based tech­no­lo­gies that – liter­ally – »illu­mi­nate« our lives in many areas. The Fraun­ho­fer Insti­tute for App­lied Optics and Pre­cision Engi­nee­ring IOF in Jena, Ger­many con­tri­bu­tes to this with its excel­lent rese­arch on a glo­bal scale. Rese­ar­chers have already been awar­ded the »Deut­sche Zukunfts­preis« (Ger­man Future Prize) three times.

Let’s be honest: Who of us ever thinks about why a tiny LED lamp can illu­mi­nate a room as bright as day even at night? Or why our navi­ga­tion app still finds the right way when we our­sel­ves can no lon­ger see the forest for the trees? Whe­ther it’s tiny micro­chips in our smart­pho­nes or highly com­plex satel­li­tes in space – many of the tech­no­lo­gies on which our ever-gro­wing qua­lity of life is based work for us in secret.

But it is pre­cisely what remains invi­si­ble to most of us that rese­ar­chers at Fraun­ho­fer IOF are thin­king about – and their fin­dings not infre­quently have an impact of glo­bal sta­ture. In the past, their work has repeatedly ope­ned doors in sci­ence, indus­try and society. Today, tech­no­lo­gies deve­lo­ped at Fraun­ho­fer IOF are often a self-evi­dent part of our ever­y­day life. Pionee­ring pro­jects, which have been signi­fi­cantly co-deve­lo­ped by Fraun­ho­fer IOF rese­arch teams, have the­re­fore already been hono­red three times with the »Deut­sche Zukunfts­preis«, the Ger­man Federal President’s award for out­stan­ding inno­va­tion technologies.

Three times »Deut­sche Zukunfts­preis« for rese­ar­chers at Fraun­ho­fer IOF

The first award found its way to Jena in 2007. It was awar­ded for the deve­lo­p­ment of light-inten­sive high-per­for­mance LEDs. Tog­e­ther with the pho­to­nics com­pany OSRAM, Dr. Andreas Bräuer and his Fraun­ho­fer col­leagues, Dr. Peter Schrei­ber and Dr. Peter Dann­berg, suc­cee­ded in incre­a­sing the lumin­ous effi­cacy of LED lamps so dra­ma­ti­cally that they could be used as a uni­ver­sal light source. The LED, as it can be found in almost every house­hold today, was thus born.

Six years later, in 2013, the cove­ted tro­phy went to the »Licht­stadt Jena« (City of Light) for a second time – this time to Prof. Dr. Ste­fan Nolte. Tog­e­ther with rese­ar­chers from the Insti­tute of App­lied Phy­sics at Fried­rich Schil­ler Uni­ver­sity Jena and the com­pa­nies BOSCH and TRUMPF, he had deve­lo­ped ultras­hort pulse lasers (UKP) for indus­trial app­li­ca­ti­ons. Such lasers can be used to pro­cess a wide variety of mate­ri­als pre­cisely and quickly without hea­ting them too much and thus dama­ging them. Since then, UKP lasers have become an indis­pensable part of mass pro­duc­tion and an estab­lis­hed eco­no­mic factor.

Last year, Dr. Ser­giy Yulin finally brought the »Ger­man Future Prize« to Fraun­ho­fer IOF for a third time. In coope­ra­tion with rese­ar­chers from ZEISS and TRUMPF, he was hono­red for the pro­ject »EUV Litho­gra­phy – New Light for the Digi­tal Age«. »EUV« stands for extreme ultra­vio­let light. This new type of litho­gra­phy pro­cess makes it pos­si­ble to pro­duce more power­ful and energy-saving micro­chips than ever before. The new »EUV chips« thus form the basis for the fur­ther digi­tiz­a­tion of our daily lives and will enable for­ward-loo­king app­li­ca­ti­ons such as auto­ma­ted dri­ving, 5G or arti­fi­cial intel­li­gence. In addi­tion, EUV tech­no­logy will drive tech­no­lo­gi­cal pro­gress that may seem almost incon­ceiva­ble to us today – the con­quest of space as a habi­tat, for example, or the pur­suit of a CO²-neu­tral life.

Solu­ti­ons with light of glo­bal format

The rese­arch work that was awar­ded the »Ger­man Future Prize« is repre­sen­ta­tive for several other exci­ting pro­jects at Fraun­ho­fer IOF that have a far-reaching impact on qua­lity of life, tech­no­lo­gi­cal pro­gress and eco­no­mic prosperity.

The diverse rese­arch topics at the insti­tute all have one thing in com­mon: they use light. Light that is con­trol­led so pre­cisely that it has already made the impos­si­ble pos­si­ble in the past and will con­ti­nue to help over­come bounda­ries in the future.

Kon­takt

Desi­ree Haak
Press and Public Relations
Fraun­ho­fer IOF
 +49 3641 807–803
ed.refohnuarf.foi@kaah.eerised

Aktuelles › Fraun­ho­fer IOF • Aus­ge­zeich­nete For­schung wird anläss­lich des Inter­na­tio­na­len Tag des Lichts gefeiert

Mit dem »Inter­na­tio­na­len Tag des Lichts« lenkt die UNESCO jedes Jahr am 16. Mai die Auf­merk­sam­keit auf For­schung und Wis­sen­schaft im Zusam­men­hang mit Licht sowie auf licht­ba­sierte Tech­no­lo­gien, die unser Leben in vie­len Berei­chen – im wahrs­ten Sinne des Wor­tes – »erleuch­ten«. Das Fraun­ho­fer-Insti­tut für Ange­wandte Optik und Fein­me­cha­nik IOF trägt mit sei­ner aus­ge­zeich­ne­ten For­schung im glo­ba­len Maß­stab dazu bei. For­schende wur­den bereits drei­mal mit dem »Deut­schen Zukunfts­preis« ausgezeichnet.

Seien wir doch ein­mal ehr­lich: Wer von uns macht sich schon Gedan­ken dar­über, warum eine win­zige LED-Lampe einen Raum selbst bei Nacht tag­hell erleuch­ten kann? Oder warum unser Navi­ga­ti­ons-App auch dann noch den rich­ti­gen Weg fin­det, wenn wir selbst schon längst den Wald vor lau­ter Bäu­men nicht mehr sehen? Seien es win­zige Mikro­chips in unse­ren Smart­pho­nes oder hoch­kom­plexe Satel­li­ten im Welt­all – viele der Tech­no­lo­gien, auf denen unsere ste­tig wach­sende Lebens­qua­li­tät beruht, arbei­ten für uns im Verborgenen.

Doch über genau das, was für die meis­ten von uns unsicht­bar bleibt, machen sich For­sche­rin­nen und For­scher am Fraun­ho­fer IOF Gedan­ken – und ihre Erkennt­nisse haben nicht sel­ten Ein­fluss von glo­ba­lem For­mat. In der Ver­gan­gen­heit hat ihre Arbeit wie­der­holte Male Türen in Wis­sen­schaft, Wirt­schaft und Gesell­schaft auf­ge­sto­ßen. Am Fraun­ho­fer IOF ent­wi­ckelte Tech­no­lo­gien sind heute zum Teil selbst­ver­ständ­li­cher Bestand­teil unse­res All­tags. Weg­wei­sende Pro­jekte, die wesent­lich von For­schungs­teams des Fraun­ho­fer IOF mit­ent­wi­ckelt wor­den sind, wur­den daher bereits drei­mal mit dem »Deut­schen Zukunfts­preis«, der Aus­zeich­nung des Bun­des­prä­si­den­ten für her­aus­ra­gende Inno­va­ti­ons­tech­no­lo­gien, gewürdigt.

Drei­mal »Deut­scher Zukunfts­preis« für For­schende am Fraun­ho­fer IOF

Der erste Award fand 2007 sei­nen Weg nach Jena. Ver­lie­hen wurde er für die Ent­wick­lung von licht­in­ten­si­ven Hoch­leis­tungs-LEDs. Gemein­sam mit dem Pho­to­nik-Unter­neh­men OSRAM war es Dr. Andreas Bräuer und sei­nen Fraun­ho­fer-Kol­le­gen, Dr. Peter Schrei­ber und Dr. Peter Dann­berg, gelun­gen, die Licht­aus­beute von LED-Lam­pen der­art dras­tisch zu stei­gern, dass ihr Ein­satz als uni­ver­selle Licht­quelle mög­lich wurde. Die LED, wie sie heute in bei­nahe jedem Haus­halt zu fin­den ist, war damit geboren.

Sechs Jahre spä­ter, 2013, wan­derte die begehrte Tro­phäe ein zwei­tes Mal in die Licht­stadt – dies­mal an Prof. Dr. Ste­fan Nolte. Zusam­men mit For­schen­den des Insti­tuts für Ange­wandte Phy­sik der Fried­rich-Schil­ler-Uni­ver­si­tät Jena sowie den Unter­neh­men BOSCH und TRUMPF hatte er Ultra­kurz­puls-Laser (UKP) für die indus­tri­elle Anwen­dung erschlos­sen. Mit der­ar­ti­gen Lasern kön­nen ver­schie­denste Mate­ria­lien prä­zise und schnell bear­bei­tet wer­den, ohne dass sie zu stark erhitzt und damit beschä­digt wer­den. Seit­her sind UKP-Laser aus der Mas­sen­pro­duk­tion nicht mehr weg­zu­den­ken und damit zu einem eta­blier­ten Wirt­schafts­fak­tor geworden.

Im ver­gan­ge­nen Jahr holte Dr. Ser­giy Yulin den »Deut­schen Zukunfts­preis« schließ­lich ein drit­tes Mal ans Fraun­ho­fer IOF. In Koope­ra­tion mit For­schern von ZEISS und TRUMPF wurde er für das Pro­jekt »EUV-Litho­gra­phie – Neues Licht für das digi­tale Zeit­al­ter« aus­ge­zeich­net. »EUV« steht dabei für extrem ultra­vio­let­tes Licht. Die­ses neu­ar­tige Litho­gra­phie-Ver­fah­ren ermög­licht es, leis­tungs­fä­hi­gere und ener­gie­spa­ren­dere Mikro­chips als jemals zuvor her­zu­stel­len. Die neuen »EUV-Chips« bil­den damit die Grund­lage für die wei­tere Digi­ta­li­sie­rung unse­res täg­li­chen Lebens und wer­den zukunfts­wei­sende Anwen­dun­gen wie auto­ma­ti­sier­tes Fah­ren, 5G oder Künst­li­che Intel­li­genz ermög­li­chen. Dar­über hin­aus wird EUV-Tech­no­lo­gie einen tech­no­lo­gi­schen Fort­schritt vor­an­trei­ben, der uns heute noch gera­dezu unvor­stell­bar erschei­nen mag – die Erobe­rung des Welt­raums als Lebens­raum etwa oder das Stre­ben nach einem CO² neu­tra­len Leben.

Lösun­gen mit Licht von glo­ba­lem Format

Die mit dem »Deut­sche Zukunfts­preis« aus­ge­zeich­ne­ten For­schungs­ar­bei­ten ste­hen stell­ver­tre­tend für eine Reihe wei­tere span­nen­der Pro­jekte am Fraun­ho­fer IOF, die einen weit­rei­chen­den Ein­fluss auf Lebens­qua­li­tät, tech­no­lo­gi­schen Fort­schritt und wirt­schaft­li­chen Wohl­stand haben.

Die viel­fäl­ti­gen For­schungs­the­men am Insti­tut haben dabei alle eines gemein­sam: Sie nut­zen Licht. Licht, das so prä­zise gesteu­ert wird, dass es bereits in der Ver­gan­gen­heit Unmög­li­ches mög­lich machte und auch in Zukunft wei­ter­hin dazu bei­tra­gen wird, Gren­zen zu überwinden.

Kon­takt

Desi­ree Haak
Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Fraun­ho­fer IOF
 +49 3641 807–803
ed.refohnuarf.foi@kaah.eerised