News › Fraun­ho­fer IOF • First quan­tum-secu­red video con­fe­rence bet­ween two Ger­man Federal agencies

Initia­tive QuNET demons­tra­tes highly secure and prac­ti­cal quan­tum communication

Today, two Ger­man Federal agen­cies com­mu­ni­ca­ted via video for the first time in a quan­tum-secure man­ner. The QuNET pro­ject, an initia­tive fun­ded by the Ger­man Federal Minis­try of Edu­ca­tion and Rese­arch (BMBF) to deve­lop highly secure com­mu­ni­ca­tion sys­tems, is thus demons­tra­ting how data sov­er­eig­nty can be gua­ran­teed in the future. This tech­no­logy will not only be important for governments and public aut­ho­ri­ties but also to pro­tect ever­y­day data.

It was a fore­taste of the com­mu­ni­ca­tion of the future – or rather, the »data secu­rity« of the future. Because when Federal Rese­arch Minis­ter Anja Kar­li­c­zek invi­ted mem­bers of the Federal Office for Infor­ma­tion Secu­rity (BSI) to a video con­fe­rence today, ever­ything loo­ked the same, at least for out­si­ders. Tog­e­ther with Andreas Könen, Head of Depart­ment CI »Cyber and IT Secu­rity« at the Federal Minis­try of the Inte­rior, Buil­ding and Com­mu­nity (BMI) and BSI Vice Pre­si­dent Dr. Ger­hard Schab­hü­ser, the minis­ter tal­ked via video stream.

And yet this video­con­fe­rence opens a new chap­ter in the highly secure com­mu­ni­ca­tion of the future. Because what the eye can’t see: The con­ver­sa­tion was not encryp­ted using con­ven­tio­nal methods but by means of light quanta. The trick is that if an atta­cker tries to access the keys to be gene­ra­ted, which are later used for data trans­mis­sion, the light par­ti­cles are mani­pu­la­ted. This mani­pu­la­tion is detec­ted tog­e­ther by the sen­der and recei­ver, thus pre­ven­ting an inter­cep­tion attempt. The detec­tion is based on phy­si­cal princi­ples. If an eaves­drop­ping attempt is dis­co­ve­red, the key is dis­car­ded and a new one is gene­ra­ted. By means of this stra­tegy, only pri­vate keys are kept and the­re­fore long-term secu­rity of the agreed keys is achie­ved. This sets a new mile­stone for data con­fi­den­tia­lity in the digi­tal world.

A new chap­ter for the highly secure com­mu­ni­ca­tion of the future

This so-cal­led »quan­tum com­mu­ni­ca­tion« will become necessary in the light of future tech­no­lo­gi­cal deve­lo­p­ments: In the future, quan­tum com­pu­ters and new algo­rithms are expec­ted to be able to crack pre­viously used methods of data encryp­tion. Accord­ing to the motto »store now, decrypt later«, data can already be stored today and read later, e.g., with the aid of more power­ful computers.

This threa­tens espe­cially data that requi­res long-term pro­tec­tion, i.e., data that will still be of great value to hackers in the distant future. This inclu­des not only infor­ma­tion from governments and aut­ho­ri­ties, but also cor­po­rate secrets or per­so­nal health data of citizens.

Federal Minis­ter of Edu­ca­tion and Rese­arch Anja Kar­li­c­zek exp­lai­ned: »Quan­tum com­mu­ni­ca­tion is one of the key tech­no­lo­gies that play a cru­cial role in IT secu­rity and can help us pre­pare for future thre­ats. This is so important because cyber secu­rity and cyber sov­er­eig­nty are pre­con­di­ti­ons for the sta­bi­lity of demo­cracy and also why I laun­ched the QuNET initia­tive two years ago. QuNET is an important dri­ver of the trans­la­tion of fin­dings from basic rese­arch on quan­tum com­mu­ni­ca­tion into sys­tems that are sui­ted for ever­y­day use. Our objec­tive is to take advan­tage of the work of QuNET and the other pro­jects on quan­tum com­mu­ni­ca­tion fun­ded by the Federal Rese­arch Minis­try to lay the foun­da­ti­ons for an eco­sys­tem of pro­du­cers and pro­vi­ders of quan­tum com­mu­ni­ca­tion solu­ti­ons in Ger­many. In this way, we can ensure the swift trans­la­tion of inno­va­tive tech­no­lo­gies and com­pon­ents into broad application.«

In order to be able to pro­tect the pri­vacy of citi­zens as well as sta­tes and com­pa­nies in the future, there is already a great need for action today. It is not just a mat­ter of deve­lo­ping new and highly secure com­mu­ni­ca­tion sys­tems based on quan­tum know-how but also of fin­ding ways to inte­grate this new tech­no­logy into exis­ting IT infra­st­ruc­tures (e.g., fiber optic cables) and to take estab­lis­hed cryp­to­gra­phic pro­ces­ses into account. There is also a par­ti­cu­lar chal­lenge when it comes to long distan­ces. Here, satel­li­tes can play a cen­tral role.

Long-term data secu­rity through encryp­tion with quantum

The QuNET initia­tive pur­sues the goal of enab­ling long-term data secu­rity. On the way to achie­ving this goal, today rese­ar­chers from all par­ti­ci­pa­ting insti­tu­tes rea­li­zed the first quan­tum-based video con­fe­rence bet­ween BMBF and BSI in Bonn, Ger­many. The focus of the QuNET work is the so-cal­led »quan­tum key exchange«, also known as QKD (short for »Quan­tum Key Dis­tri­bu­tion«). QKD enab­les the exchange of sym­metric keys whose secu­rity can be quan­ti­fied. The BSI is sup­por­ting the QuNET initia­tive and is pre­pa­ring accom­pany­ing and inde­pen­dent test cri­te­ria in inter­na­tio­nal cooperation.

At the end of last year, the rese­arch orga­niz­a­ti­ons invol­ved in the initia­tive – the Fraun­ho­fer-Gesell­schaft, the Max Planck Society and the Ger­man Aero­space Cen­ter (DLR) – pre­sen­ted important basic princi­ples for modern and secure com­mu­ni­ca­tion stan­dards. Accord­in­gly, the sci­en­tists have fur­ther deve­lo­ped the over­all archi­tec­ture for sys­tems for quan­tum-safe com­mu­ni­ca­tion, as well as pos­si­bi­li­ties for exch­an­ging quan­tum keys over long, medium and short distan­ces using free-space and fiber systems.

In the setup of the first quan­tum-based video­con­fe­rence bet­ween BMBF and BSI, mul­ti­ple free-space and fiber quan­tum chan­nels have been used. This cor­re­sponds to a more com­plex sce­n­a­rio than a con­nec­tion via a sin­gle quan­tum chan­nel. Bes­i­des the video con­fe­rence aspect of the demons­tra­tion, the setup was also used to pro­duce sci­en­ti­fic data which might give important insights for com­mu­ni­ca­tion in com­plex quan­tum secure net­works of the future.

Facts and figu­res about the QuNET initiative

Start: Fall 2019
Dura­tion: 7 years
Spon­sor: Ger­man Federal Minis­try of Edu­ca­tion and Research
Volume: 125 mil­lion euros fun­ding planned
Partners:

  • Fraun­ho­fer Insti­tute for App­lied Optics and Pre­cision Engi­nee­ring IOF,
  • Fraun­ho­fer Hein­rich Hertz Insti­tute (HHI),
  • Max Planck Insti­tute for the Sci­ence of Light (MPL),
  • DLR Insti­tute of Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons and Navigation

Web­site: https://www.qunet-initiative.de/

QuNET initia­tive: Ques­ti­ons and answers

Why this initiative?

Incre­a­singly power­ful digi­tal tech­no­lo­gies are impac­ting today’s data net­works and are more and more a threat to the secu­rity of the data and cri­ti­cal infra­st­ruc­ture of the modern infor­ma­tion society. This is dri­ven by the advan­cing deve­lo­p­ment of quan­tum com­pu­ting. With the abi­lity to com­pute and ana­lyze a mul­ti­tude of pos­si­ble opti­ons simul­ta­ne­ously, not only new oppor­tu­nities but also new risks are being crea­ted. Most of the cur­r­ently used core com­pon­ents of encryp­tion can be bro­ken with envi­sio­ned quan­tum com­pu­ters of the future. As a result, the government, orga­niz­a­ti­ons, the health­care sys­tem, and secu­rity-cri­ti­cal enter­pri­ses need to rethink and renew their secu­rity infrastructures.

What is the goal of the initiative?

The pri­mary goal of QuNET is the app­li­ca­tion-ori­en­ted deve­lo­p­ment of the phy­si­cal-tech­ni­cal fun­da­men­tals as well as the necessary tech­no­lo­gies for highly secure com­mu­ni­ca­tion net­works under real con­di­ti­ons using quan­tum phy­sics. The initial focus is on prac­ti­cal app­li­ca­ti­ons for quan­tum-safe net­wor­king, for example of public aut­ho­ri­ties. Howe­ver, QuNET enab­les more than just secure com­mu­ni­ca­tion: The per­spec­tive app­li­ca­ti­ons of the trans­mis­si­ons of quan­tum sta­tes extend to net­wor­ked quan­tum com­pu­ters, the so-cal­led quan­tum internet.

What is the state of the art in quan­tum communication?

Quan­tum com­mu­ni­ca­tion offers many poten­tial app­li­ca­ti­ons for the bene­fit of busi­ness and society. Of these, quan­tum key dis­tri­bu­tion (QKD) is pro­bably one of the best stu­died and most inter­na­tio­nally advan­ced examples.

How does quan­tum encryp­tion work?

Quan­tum encryp­tion takes advan­tage of the pro­perty of quan­tum par­ti­cles: they can­not be mea­su­red or copied without being noti­ced. For example, a quan­tum source gene­ra­tes light pul­ses that are exch­an­ged bet­ween two loca­ti­ons. From the results of a quan­tum mecha­ni­cal mea­su­re­ment, tam­pe­ring or inter­cep­tion of the light pul­ses would be detec­ted. Based on this, a key can be gene­ra­ted that is known only to the sen­der and recei­ver and can be used for encryp­tion. This method is also secure against any future attacks by a quan­tum com­pu­ter. To over­come lar­ger distan­ces, satel­li­tes with quan­tum sources can gene­rate quan­tum keys over inter­con­ti­nen­tal distan­ces, or future deve­lo­p­ments of so-cal­led quan­tum repeaters (cf. Q.Link.X) can be used.

Which rese­arch insti­tu­tes are invol­ved in the initiative?

  • The Fraun­ho­fer Insti­tute for App­lied Optics and Pre­cision Engi­nee­ring IOF, based in Jena, Ger­many, con­ducts rese­arch on the deve­lo­p­ment of light as a means of sol­ving a wide range of pro­blems and app­li­ca­tion sce­n­a­rios. The work of the rese­arch insti­tute, foun­ded in 1992, the­re­fore focu­ses on app­li­ca­tion-ori­en­ted rese­arch on light genera­tion, light gui­d­ance and light mea­su­re­ment. Tog­e­ther with rese­ar­chers from basic rese­arch and indus­try, inno­va­tive solu­ti­ons are deve­lo­ped that pro­vide a tech­no­lo­gi­cal advan­tage in sci­ence and indus­try and open up new fields of app­li­ca­tion for photonics.
  • Inno­va­tions for the digi­tal society of tomor­row are the focus of the rese­arch at the Fraun­ho­fer Hein­rich Hertz Insti­tute (HHI) in Ber­lin. Foun­ded in 1928, the insti­tute is a world lea­der in rese­arch on mobile and opti­cal com­mu­ni­ca­tion net­works and sys­tems, as well as in the coding of video signals and data pro­ces­sing. Tog­e­ther with inter­na­tio­nal part­ners from rese­arch and indus­try, Fraun­ho­fer HHI works across the ent­ire spec­trum of the digi­tal infra­st­ruc­ture – from basic rese­arch to the deve­lo­p­ment of pro­to­ty­pes and solu­ti­ons. The insti­tute con­tri­bu­tes signi­fi­cantly to the stan­dards for infor­ma­tion and com­mu­ni­ca­tion tech­no­lo­gies and crea­tes new app­li­ca­ti­ons as a part­ner of industry.
  • The Max Planck Insti­tute for the Sci­ence of Light (MPL) covers a broad spec­trum of rese­arch, inclu­ding non­linear optics, quan­tum optics, nano­pho­to­nics, pho­to­nic crys­tal fibers, opto­me­cha­nics, quan­tum tech­no­lo­gies, bio­phy­sics and – in col­la­bo­ra­tion with the Max Planck Cen­ter for Phy­sics and Medi­cine – links bet­ween phy­sics and medi­cine. The MPL was foun­ded in Janu­ary 2009 and is one of over 80 insti­tu­tes of the Max Planck Society that con­ducts basic rese­arch in natu­ral sci­en­ces, bio­tech­no­logy, huma­nities and social sci­en­ces for the bene­fit of the gene­ral public. Today, almost 400 people from around 40 nati­ons work at the insti­tute. Some of the rese­ar­chers look back on deca­des of expe­ri­ence in the field of quan­tum com­mu­ni­ca­tion. They also use telecom tech­no­logy for the exchange of quan­tum keys, which allows the pro­ce­du­res to be quickly com­mer­cia­li­zed. In addi­tion, the rese­ar­chers from Erlan­gen have been inves­ti­ga­ting for more than ten years how the keys can be trans­mit­ted on the ground with laser light over several kilo­me­ters (known as a free-beam con­nec­tion) or by satel­lite over grea­ter distan­ces. The MPL is play­ing a major role in many large natio­nal and inter­na­tio­nal pro­jects, also in coope­ra­tion with natio­nal industry.
  • The DLR Insti­tute of Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons and Navi­ga­tion is dedi­ca­ted to mis­sion-ori­en­ted rese­arch in selec­ted areas of com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons and navi­ga­tion. Its work ran­ges from the theo­re­ti­cal foun­da­ti­ons to the demons­tra­tion of new pro­ce­du­res and sys­tems in real-world envi­ron­ments and is embed­ded in DLR’s Space, Aero­nau­tics, Trans­port, Digi­tiz­a­tion and Secu­rity pro­grams. The insti­tute cur­r­ently employs around 200 people, inclu­ding 150 sci­en­tists, at its sites in Ober­pfaf­fen­ho­fen and Neu­stre­litz. The insti­tute deve­lops solu­ti­ons for the glo­bal net­wor­king of man and machine, for high-pre­cision and reli­able posi­tio­ning for future navi­ga­tion app­li­ca­ti­ons, as well as methods for auto­no­mous and coope­ra­tive sys­tems in trans­port and explo­ra­tion. In addi­tion, the insti­tute is con­cer­ned with cyber secu­rity. Focal points in this area include post-quan­tum cryp­to­gra­phy and the trans­mis­sion of quan­tum keys via satellite.

Con­tact

QuNET Office
Coor­di­na­tion of the QuNET-Initia­tive at Fraun­ho­fer IOF

Fraun­ho­fer IOF
Albert-Ein­stein-Str. 7
07745 Jena
+49 3641 807–290 / ‑506
ed.refohnuarf.foi@eciffo-tenuq

Aktuelles › Fraun­ho­fer IOF • Erste quan­ten­ge­si­cherte Video­kon­fe­renz zwi­schen zwei Bundesbehörden

Initia­tive QuNET demons­triert hoch­si­chere und pra­xis­nahe Quantenkommunikation

In Bonn haben heute erst­mals zwei deut­sche Bun­des­be­hör­den quan­ten­ge­si­chert per Video kom­mu­ni­ziert. Das Pro­jekt QuNET, eine vom Bun­des­mi­nis­te­rium für Bil­dung und For­schung (BMBF) geför­derte Initia­tive zur Ent­wick­lung hoch­si­che­rer Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­sys­teme, zeigt damit, wie Daten­sou­ve­rä­ni­tät in Zukunft gewähr­leis­tet wer­den kann. Diese Tech­no­lo­gie wird nicht nur für Regie­run­gen und Behör­den wich­tig sein, son­dern auch um Daten des täg­li­chen Lebens zu schützen.

Es war ein Vor­ge­schmack auf die Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion der Zukunft – oder bes­ser: die »Daten­si­cher­heit« der Zukunft. Denn als Bun­des­for­schungs­mi­nis­te­rin Anja Kar­li­c­zek heute zu einer Video­kon­fe­renz mit dem Bun­des­amt für Sicher­heit in der Infor­ma­ti­ons­tech­nik (BSI) ein­lud, war zumin­dest augen­schein­lich für den Außen­ste­hen­den alles beim Alten. Gemein­sam mit Andreas Könen, Abtei­lungs­lei­ter CI »Cyber- und IT-Sicher­heit« im Bun­des­mi­nis­te­rium des Innern, für Bau und Hei­mat (BMI) und BSI-Vize­prä­si­dent Dr. Ger­hard Schab­hü­ser unter­hielt sich die Minis­te­rin via Videostream.

Und doch schlägt diese Video­kon­fe­renz ein neues Kapi­tel in der hoch­si­che­ren Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion der Zukunft auf. Denn was das Auge nicht sieht: Ver­schlüs­selt wurde das Gespräch nicht mit her­kömm­li­chen Metho­den, son­dern mit­tels Licht­quan­ten. Der Clou dabei: Ver­sucht ein Angrei­fer auf die zur Daten­über­tra­gung ver­wen­de­ten Schlüs­sel zuzu­grei­fen, so wer­den die Licht­teil­chen mani­pu­liert. Diese Mani­pu­la­tion kann von Sen­der und Emp­fän­ger nach­ge­wie­sen und ein Abhör­ver­such damit ver­hin­dert wer­den. Der Nach­weis beruht dabei auf phy­si­ka­li­schen Prin­zi­pien. Wurde ein Lausch­an­griff ent­deckt, wird der Schlüs­sel ver­wor­fen und ein neuer erzeugt. Mit­tels die­ser Stra­te­gie wird eine lang­fris­tige Sicher­heit der ver­ein­bar­ten Schlüs­sel erreicht. Damit ist ein neuer Mei­len­stein für die Ver­trau­lich­keit von Daten in einer digi­ta­len Welt gesetzt.

Ein neues Kapi­tel für die hoch­si­chere Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion der Zukunft

Not­wen­dig wird diese soge­nannte »Quan­ten­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion« ins­be­son­dere vor dem Hin­ter­grund künf­ti­ger tech­no­lo­gi­scher Ent­wick­lun­gen: Quan­ten­com­pu­ter und neue Algo­rith­men wer­den vor­aus­sicht­lich in Zukunft in der Lage sein, bis­her übli­che Metho­den zur Daten­ver­schlüs­se­lung zu kna­cken. Nach dem Motto »Store now, decrypt later« (dt.: »Jetzt spei­chern, spä­ter ent­schlüs­seln«) kön­nen bereits heute Daten abge­spei­chert und spä­ter, z. B. mit­hilfe leis­tungs­fä­hi­ge­rer Rech­ner, aus­ge­le­sen werden.

Bedroht sind davon ins­be­son­dere Daten mit lang­fris­ti­gem Schutz­be­darf, also jene Daten, die für Hacke­rin­nen und Hacker auch in ent­fern­ter Zukunft noch von gro­ßem Wert sein wer­den. Dies beinhal­tet nicht nur Infor­ma­tio­nen von Regie­run­gen und Behör­den, son­dern auch Unter­neh­mens­ge­heim­nisse oder per­so­nen­be­zo­gene Gesund­heits­da­ten von Bür­ge­rin­nen und Bürgern.

Hierzu erklärte Bun­des­for­schungs­mi­nis­te­rin Anja Kar­li­c­zek: »Quan­ten­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion ist eine der ent­schei­den­den Schlüs­sel­tech­no­lo­gien in der IT-Sicher­heit und kann uns für zukünf­tige Bedro­hungs­sze­na­rien rüs­ten. Das ist wich­tig, denn Sicher­heit und Sou­ve­rä­ni­tät im Netz sind Vor­aus­set­zun­gen für eine sta­bile Demo­kra­tie. Ich habe daher vor zwei Jah­ren die QuNET-Initia­tive ins Leben geru­fen. Sie ist ein wich­ti­ger Motor zur Umset­zung von For­schungs­er­geb­nis­sen aus der Grund­la­gen­for­schung zur Quan­ten­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion in all­tags­taug­li­che Sys­teme. Ziel ist es, mit den Arbei­ten von QuNET und den wei­te­ren durch das Bun­des­for­schungs­mi­nis­te­rium geför­der­ten Vor­ha­ben im Bereich der Quan­ten­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion die Basis für ein Öko­sys­tem von Her­stel­lern und Anbie­tern von Quan­ten­kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­lö­sun­gen in Deutsch­land zu schaf­fen. So brin­gen wir die inno­va­ti­ven Tech­no­lo­gien und Kom­po­nen­ten zeit­nah in die breite Anwendung.«

Um die Pri­vat­sphäre von Bür­ge­rin­nen und Bür­gern sowie Staa­ten und Unter­neh­men auch in Zukunft schüt­zen zu kön­nen, gibt es schon heute einen gro­ßen Hand­lungs­be­darf. Dabei geht es nicht allein darum, neue und hoch­si­chere Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­sys­teme basie­rend auf Quan­ten-Know­how zu ent­wi­ckeln, son­dern auch Wege zu fin­den, diese neue Tech­nik in bereits bestehende IT-Infra­struk­tu­ren (z. B. Glas­fa­ser­ka­bel) ein­zu­bin­den sowie eta­blierte kryp­to­gra­fi­sche Ver­fah­ren zu berück­sich­ti­gen. Eine beson­dere Her­aus­for­de­rung besteht zudem bei gro­ßen Distan­zen. Hier kön­nen Satel­li­ten eine zen­trale Rolle spielen.

Lang­fris­tige Daten­si­cher­heit durch Ver­schlüs­se­lung mit Quanten

Die QuNET-Initia­tive ver­folgt das Ziel lang­fris­tige Daten­si­cher­heit zu ermög­li­chen. Auf dem Weg dort­hin haben die For­sche­rin­nen und For­scher aller betei­lig­ten Insti­tute nun die erste quan­ten­ba­sierte Video­kon­fe­renz zwi­schen dem BMBF und dem BSI in Bonn rea­li­siert. Im Fokus der QuNET-Arbeit steht dabei der soge­nannte »Quan­ten­schlüs­sel­aus­tausch«, auch QKD genannt (kurz für engl.: »Quan­tum Key Dis­tri­bu­tion«). Die QKD ermög­licht den Aus­tausch sym­me­tri­scher Schlüs­sel, deren Sicher­heit quan­ti­fi­zier­bar ist. Das BSI beglei­tet dabei die Initia­tive QuNET und berei­tet flan­kie­rende und unab­hän­gige Prüf­kri­te­rien in inter­na­tio­na­ler Zusam­men­ar­beit vor.

Bereits Ende des ver­gan­ge­nen Jah­res prä­sen­tier­ten die an der Initia­tive betei­lig­ten For­schungs­ge­sell­schaf­ten – die Fraun­ho­fer-Gesell­schaft, die Max-Planck-Gesell­schaft sowie das Deut­sche Zen­trum für Luft- und Raum­fahrt (DLR) – wich­tige Grund­la­gen für moderne und sichere Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­stan­dards. Die Wis­sen­schaft­le­rin­nen und Wis­sen­schaft­ler haben dem­nach ebenso die Gesamt­ar­chi­tek­tur für Sys­teme zur quan­ten­si­che­ren Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion wei­ter­ent­wi­ckelt, wie auch Mög­lich­kei­ten zum Aus­tausch von Quan­ten­schlüs­seln über lange, mitt­lere sowie kurze Distan­zen mit­tels Frei­strahl- und Fasersystemen.

Im Auf­bau der ers­ten quan­ten­ba­sier­ten Video­kon­fe­renz zwi­schen dem BMBF und dem BSI wur­den nun meh­rere Frei­strahl- und Faser­sys­teme ein­ge­setzt. Dies ent­spricht einem kom­ple­xe­ren Sze­na­rio als einer Ver­bin­dung über einen ein­zi­gen Kanal. Neben der erst­ma­li­gen Video­kon­fe­renz­über­tra­gung ver­steht sich der Ver­suchs­auf­bau dem­entspre­chend auch als ein Expe­ri­ment, in wel­chem wert­volle Erkennt­nisse für die Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion in kom­ple­xen Net­zen der Zukunft gewon­nen werden.

Zah­len und Fak­ten zur Initia­tive QuNET

Start: Herbst 2019
Lauf­zeit: 7 Jahre
För­der­mit­tel­ge­ber: Bun­des­mi­nis­te­rium für Bil­dung und Forschung
Volu­men: 125 Mil­lio­nen Euro För­de­rung geplant
Beteiligte:

  • Fraun­ho­fer-Insti­tut für Ange­wandte Optik und Fein­me­cha­nik IOF,
  • Fraun­ho­fer Hein­rich-Hertz-Insti­tuts (HHI),
  • Max-Planck-Insti­tut für die Phy­sik des Lichts (MPL),
  • DLR-Insti­tut für Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion und Navigation

Fra­gen und Ant­wor­ten zur Initia­tive QuNET

Warum diese Initiative?

Immer leis­tungs­fä­hi­gere digi­tale Tech­no­lo­gien wir­ken auf die Daten­netz­werke von heute ein und sind zuneh­mend eine Gefahr für die Sicher­heit der kri­ti­schen Infra­struk­tur der moder­nen Infor­ma­ti­ons­ge­sell­schaft. Hinzu kommt die vor­an­schrei­tende Ent­wick­lung der Quan­ten­com­pu­ter. Mit der Fähig­keit, eine Viel­zahl von mög­li­chen Optio­nen gleich­zei­tig zu berech­nen und zu ana­ly­sie­ren, wer­den nicht nur neue Chan­cen, son­dern auch Risi­ken geschaf­fen. Viele der zur­zeit weit ver­brei­te­ten Kern­be­stand­teile der Ver­schlüs­se­lung, auf denen die Sicher­heit fußt, las­sen sich damit bre­chen. Daher müs­sen vor allem Regie­rungs­or­ga­ni­sa­tio­nen, das Gesund­heits­sys­tem und sicher­heits­kri­ti­sche Unter­neh­men ihre Sicher­heits­in­fra­struk­tu­ren über­den­ken und erneuern.

Was ist das Ziel der Initiative?

Pri­mä­res Ziel von QuNET ist die anwen­dungs­ori­en­tierte Ent­wick­lung der phy­si­ka­lisch-tech­ni­schen Grund­la­gen sowie der not­wen­di­gen Tech­no­lo­gien für hoch­si­chere Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­netze unter rea­len Bedin­gun­gen unter Nut­zung der Quan­ten­phy­sik. Dabei steht zunächst die prak­ti­sche Anwen­dung für eine quan­ten­si­chere Ver­net­zung, bei­spiels­weise von Behör­den im Vor­der­grund. Doch QuNET ermög­licht mehr als nur sichere Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion: Die per­spek­ti­vi­schen Anwen­dun­gen der Über­tra­gun­gen von Quan­ten­zu­stän­den rei­chen bis hin zu ver­netz­ten Quan­ten­com­pu­tern, dem soge­nann­ten Quanteninternet.

Wie ist der Stand der Tech­nik bei der Quantenkommunikation?

Quan­ten­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion bie­tet viele Ein­satz­mög­lich­kei­ten zum Wohl der Wirt­schaft und der Gesell­schaft. Davon ist der Quan­ten­schlüs­sel­aus­tausch (QKD) eines der wohl am bes­ten unter­such­ten und inter­na­tio­nal am wei­tes­ten fort­ge­schrit­te­nen Beispiele.

Wie funk­tio­niert Quantenverschlüsselung?

Die Quan­ten­ver­schlüs­se­lung macht sich die Eigen­schaft von Quan­ten­teil­chen zunutze, dass sie nicht unbe­merkt ver­mes­sen oder kopiert wer­den kön­nen. So erzeugt z. B. eine Quan­ten­quelle Licht­pulse, die zwi­schen zwei Orten aus­ge­tauscht wer­den. Aus den Ergeb­nis­sen einer quan­ten­me­cha­ni­schen Mes­sung würde eine Mani­pu­la­tion oder ein Abhö­ren der Licht­pulse erkannt wer­den. Dar­auf auf­bau­end lässt sich ein Schlüs­sel erzeu­gen, der nur dem Sen­der und Emp­fän­ger bekannt ist und der für eine Ver­schlüs­se­lung genutzt wer­den kann. Die­ses Ver­fah­ren ist auch gegen alle zukünf­ti­gen Angriffe durch einen Quan­ten­com­pu­ter sicher. Um grö­ßere Distan­zen zu über­win­den, kön­nen Satel­li­ten mit Quan­ten­quel­len die Quan­ten­schlüs­sel über inter­kon­ti­nen­tale Distan­zen erzeu­gen, oder aber künf­tige Ent­wick­lun­gen soge­nann­ter Quan­ten­re­pea­ter (vgl. Q.Link.X) genutzt werden.

Wel­che For­schungs­in­sti­tute sind an der Initia­tive beteiligt?

  • Das Fraun­ho­fer-Insti­tut für Ange­wandte Optik und Fein­me­cha­nik IOF mit Sitz in Jena forscht an der Wei­ter­ent­wick­lung von Licht als Mit­tel zur Lösung unter­schied­lichs­ter Fra­ge­stel­lun­gen und Anwen­dungs­sze­na­rien. Die Arbeit des 1992 gegrün­de­ten For­schungs­in­sti­tuts kon­zen­triert sich daher auf die anwen­dungs­ori­en­tierte For­schung an der Licht­ent­ste­hung, Licht­füh­rung und Licht­mes­sung. Gemein­sam mit For­schen­den aus der Grund­la­gen­for­schung und Indus­trie ent­ste­hen inno­va­ti­ven Lösun­gen, die in der Wis­sen­schaft und Wirt­schaft einen tech­no­lo­gi­schen Vor­teil bedeu­ten und für die Pho­to­nik neue Anwen­dungs­fel­der erschließen.
  • Inno­va­tio­nen für die digi­tale Gesell­schaft von mor­gen ste­hen im Mit­tel­punkt der For­schungs­ar­beit des Fraun­ho­fer Hein­rich-Hertz-Insti­tuts (HHI) in Ber­lin. Dabei ist das 1928 gegrün­dete Insti­tut welt­weit füh­rend in der Erfor­schung von mobi­len und opti­schen Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­net­zen und ‑sys­te­men sowie der Kodie­rung von Video­si­gna­len und Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung. Gemein­sam mit inter­na­tio­na­len Part­nern aus For­schung und Indus­trie arbei­tet das Fraun­ho­fer HHI im gesam­ten Spek­trum der digi­ta­len Infra­struk­tur – von der grund­le­gen­den For­schung bis zur Ent­wick­lung von Pro­to­ty­pen und Lösun­gen. Das Insti­tut trägt signi­fi­kant zu den Stan­dards für Infor­ma­ti­ons- und Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­tech­no­lo­gien bei und schafft neue Anwen­dun­gen als Part­ner der Industrie.
  • Das Max-Planck-Insti­tut für die Phy­sik des Lichts (MPL) in Erlan­gen deckt ein brei­tes For­schungs­spek­trum ab, dar­un­ter nicht­li­neare Optik, Quan­ten­op­tik, Nano­pho­to­nik, pho­to­ni­sche Kris­tall­fa­sern, Opto­me­cha­nik, Quan­ten­tech­no­lo­gien, Bio­phy­sik und – in Zusam­men­ar­beit mit dem Max-Planck-Zen­trum für Phy­sik und Medi­zin – Ver­bin­dun­gen zwi­schen Phy­sik und Medi­zin. Das MPL wurde im Januar 2009 gegrün­det und ist eines der über 80 Insti­tute der Max-Planck-Gesell­schaft, die Grund­la­gen­for­schung in den Natur‑, Bio‑, Geis­tes- und Sozi­al­wis­sen­schaf­ten im Dienste der All­ge­mein­heit betrei­ben. Heute arbei­ten knapp 400 Men­schen aus rund 40 Natio­nen am Insti­tut. Die For­sche­rin­nen und For­scher ver­fü­gen zum Teil über jahr­zehn­te­lange Erfah­rung im Bereich der Quan­ten­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion. Dabei ver­wen­den sie auch Tele­kom-Tech­no­lo­gie für den Aus­tausch von Quan­ten­schlüs­seln, was erlaubt, die Ver­fah­ren schnell kom­mer­zi­ell zu nut­zen. Dar­über hin­aus unter­sucht das Insti­tut seit mehr als zehn Jah­ren, wie sich die Schlüs­sel am Boden mit Laser­licht über meh­rere Kilo­me­ter über­tra­gen las­sen (Frei­strahl­ver­bin­dung genannt) oder per Satel­lit über grö­ßere Distan­zen. Dabei ist das MPL – auch in Zusam­men­ar­beit mit der natio­na­len Indus­trie – an vie­len gro­ßen natio­na­len und inter­na­tio­na­len Pro­jek­ten maß­geb­lich beteiligt.
  • Das DLR-Insti­tut für Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion und Navi­ga­tion wid­met sich der mis­si­ons­ori­en­tier­ten For­schung in aus­ge­wähl­ten Berei­chen der Kom­mu­ni­ka­tion und Navi­ga­tion. Seine Arbei­ten rei­chen dabei von den theo­re­ti­schen Grund­la­gen bis hin zur Demons­tra­tion neuer Ver­fah­ren und Sys­teme im rea­len Umfeld und sind in die DLR-Pro­gramme Raum­fahrt, Luft­fahrt, Ver­kehr, Digi­ta­li­sie­rung und Sicher­heit ein­ge­bet­tet. Das Insti­tut beschäf­tigt der­zeit rund 200 Mit­ar­bei­tende, dar­un­ter 150 Wis­sen­schaft­le­rin­nen und Wis­sen­schaft­ler, an den Stand­or­ten Ober­pfaf­fen­ho­fen und Neu­stre­litz. Das Insti­tut erar­bei­tet Lösun­gen zur glo­ba­len Ver­net­zung von Mensch und Maschine, zur hoch­prä­zi­sen und zuver­läs­si­gen Posi­tio­nie­rung für zukünf­tige Navi­ga­ti­ons­an­wen­dun­gen sowie Ver­fah­ren für auto­nome und koope­ra­tive Sys­teme im Ver­kehr und in der Explo­ra­tion. Dar­über hin­aus befasst sich das Insti­tut mit der Cyber­si­cher­heit. Zu den Schwer­punk­ten in die­sem Bereich zäh­len u. a. die Post-Quan­tum-Kryp­to­gra­fie und die Über­tra­gung von Quan­ten­schlüs­seln per Satellit.

Kon­takt

QuNET Office
Koor­di­na­tion der QuNET-Initia­tive am Fraun­ho­fer IOF

Fraun­ho­fer IOF
Albert-Ein­stein-Str. 7
07745 Jena
+49 3641 807–290 / ‑506
ed.refohnuarf.foi@eciffo-tenuq
https://www.qunet-initiative.de