News › JENOPTIK • Record figu­res achie­ved in 2nd quar­ter; strong per­for­mance expec­ted to con­ti­nue in 2nd half of 2021

  • Reve­nue up 29.6 per­cent in 2nd quar­ter com­pa­red with prior year – half-year reve­nue incre­a­sed by 18.3 per­cent to 389.3 mil­lion euros
  • EBITDA mar­gin of 25.2 per­cent in 2nd quar­ter, and 18.9 per­cent in 1st half of 2021
  • High demand in pho­to­nics divi­si­ons – half-year group order intake up 52.2 per­cent to 508.4 mil­lion euros
  • Out­look for full year 2021 signi­fi­cantly rai­sed in July: reve­nue of 880 to 900 mil­lion euros expec­ted, with EBITDA mar­gin of bet­ween 19.0 and 19.5 percent

“Jen­op­tik had a record 2nd quar­ter in a chal­len­ging envi­ron­ment still influ­en­ced by the pan­de­mic. With group reve­nue up nearly 30 per­cent and an EBITDA mar­gin of more than 25 per­cent we reached new all-time highs. Also, we are very plea­sed with the per­for­mance of TRIOPTICS, mar­king an important step for­ward in our growth stra­tegy, which com­bi­nes orga­nic growth and acqui­si­ti­ons. Based on these strong results and the posi­tive pro­spects for the rema­in­der of the year, we are well on track to achieve our recently incre­a­sed tar­gets for 2021,” says Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Pre­si­dent & CEO of JENOPTIK AG.

Thanks to a sus­tai­ned reco­very in demand in the three pho­to­nics divi­si­ons – Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion, and Light & Safety – Jen­op­tik pos­ted a strong incre­ase in order intake in the first six mon­ths of 52.2 per­cent, to 508.4 mil­lion euros (prior year: 333.9 mil­lion euros). Des­pite a pick-up in demand in the 2nd quar­ter, the order intake at VINCORION was still down on the prior year after six mon­ths. In the 2nd quar­ter, the Group’s order intake almost dou­bled, with a plus of 96.4 per­cent, com­pa­red with the prior-year quar­ter. The Group’s book-to-bill ratio incre­a­sed sub­stan­ti­ally in the first six mon­ths, from 1.02 to 1.31. The order back­log grew by 27.4 per­cent to 586.0 mil­lion euros (31/12/2020: 460.1 mil­lion euros).

In 1st first half of 2021, Jen­op­tik gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 389.3 mil­lion euros, 18.3 per­cent more than in the prior year (329.0 mil­lion euros), in the 2nd quar­ter reve­nue grew by 29.6 per­cent over the prior year. Strong orga­nic growth and the con­tri­bu­tion from TRIOPTICS led to an appre­cia­ble incre­ase in reve­nue in the Light & Optics divi­sion in the first six mon­ths of 2021. While the Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion bene­fi­ted from an upturn in demand from the auto­mo­tive indus­try and busi­ness at VINCORION also picked up slightly, reve­nue in Light & Safety was down on the prior year. TRIOPTICS was the main con­tri­bu­tor to the signi­fi­cant incre­ase in reve­nue in the Asia/Pacific region. The share of reve­nue gene­ra­ted abroad remai­ned unch­an­ged at 74.2 percent.

Pro­fi­ta­bi­lity impro­ved signi­fi­cantly in the first six mon­ths of 2021. In addi­tion to the strong ope­ra­ting per­for­mance, this also reflec­ted the incre­a­singly posi­tive impacts ari­sing from the rest­ruc­tu­ring mea­su­res imple­men­ted in 2020. The EBITDA item also inclu­des a one-off effect of around 16 mil­lion euros in con­nec­tion with the acqui­si­tion of TRIOPTICS. EBITDA grew to 73.7 mil­lion euros (incl. PPA impacts of minus 1.8 mil­lion euros), and was thus 94.6 per­cent up on the prior-year figure of 37.9 mil­lion euros. Exclu­ding the above-men­tio­ned one-off effect, ear­nings would have incre­a­sed by around 52 per­cent. The EBITDA mar­gin rose to 18.9 per­cent (prior year: 11.5 per­cent). At the end of June, income from ope­ra­ti­ons (EBIT) of 46.2 mil­lion euros was also well above the prior-year figure of 15.6 mil­lion euros. The EBIT inclu­des PPA impacts worth minus 8.9 mil­lion euros as a result of acqui­si­ti­ons in prior years (prior year: minus 3.6 mil­lion euros). Group ear­nings after tax grew from 10.6 mil­lion euros to 37.7 mil­lion euros.

Strong finan­cial and balance sheet posi­tion for future growth

As of June 30, 2021, Jen­op­tik had a very healthy and robust balance sheet and finan­cing struc­ture to secure its plan­ned growth. Cash flows from ope­ra­ting acti­vi­ties came to 26.0 mil­lion euros, prac­ti­cally unch­an­ged on the prior-year figure of 26.7 mil­lion euros, while the free cash flow of 11.6 mil­lion euros was solid as expec­ted but down on the prior-year’s 16.0 mil­lion euros. This was attri­bu­ta­ble to the incre­ase in working capi­tal in pre­pa­ra­tion for reve­nue reco­gni­tion in the 2nd half of the year.

“We have a healthy balance sheet and very good finan­cial resour­ces to manage our plan­ned future growth. We will push on with our stra­tegy of orga­nic growth, and we have suf­fi­ci­ent fire­power to take advan­tage of fur­ther oppor­tu­nities for exter­nal expan­sion,” says Hans-Die­ter Schu­ma­cher, Chief Finan­cial Offi­cer of JENOPTIK AG.

As of June 30, 2021, cash and cash equi­va­lents were down in value, from 63.4 mil­lion euros at year-end 2020 to 49.8 mil­lion euros. Net debt incre­a­sed slightly to 214.5 mil­lion euros, fol­lowing 201.0 mil­lion euros as of Decem­ber 31, 2020. The equity ratio rose from 51.5 per­cent on Decem­ber 31, 2020, to now 53.5 percent.

Focus on pho­to­nics dri­ves growth

Light & Optics repor­ted record figures

In the Light & Optics divi­sion, strong momen­tum in the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment busi­ness and sub­stan­ti­ally incre­a­sing demand in the Bio­pho­to­nics and Indus­trial Solu­ti­ons areas from the 1st quar­ter con­ti­nued. TRIOPTICS also showed a plea­sing per­for­mance, con­tri­bu­ting 41.0 mil­lion euros to reve­nue. Accord­in­gly, the reve­nue of the divi­sion impro­ved by 48.6 per­cent, from 139.5 mil­lion euros to 207.3 mil­lion euros in the first six mon­ths of 2021. EBITDA fol­lo­wed this trend and more than dou­bled to 65.5 mil­lion euros (prior year: 30.0 mil­lion euros). In addi­tion to the very good ope­ra­ting per­for­mance and the con­tri­bu­tion from TRIOPTICS, howe­ver, this figure also inclu­des a one-off effect of around 16 mil­lion euros in con­nec­tion with the acqui­si­tion of TRIOPTICS. The division’s EBITDA mar­gin came to 31.5 per­cent, signi­fi­cantly up on the prior-year figure of 21.4 per­cent. Strong demand also pro­mi­ses a good per­for­mance in the sub­se­quent quar­ters. The order intake, worth 269.6 mil­lion euros, was 90.9 per­cent up on the prior year (141.2 mil­lion euros), while the order back­log reached a record level of 239.3 mil­lion euros (31/12/2020: 179.1 mil­lion euros).

Light & Pro­duc­tion with rise in order intake and signi­fi­cant ear­nings growth

In the Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion, signs of reco­very in the auto­mo­tive indus­try became appa­rent, par­ti­cu­larly in the 2nd quar­ter. Des­pite this, the impacts of the COVID-19 pan­de­mic – the lower order back­log at the begin­ning of 2021 – have not yet been fully over­come. In total, reve­nue came to 78.0 mil­lion euros at the end of June, 7.5 per­cent up on the prior year (72.6 mil­lion euros). While the Laser Pro­ces­sing and Indus­trial Metro­logy areas pos­ted growth, Auto­ma­tion & Inte­gra­tion was still at around the prior-year level due to pro­ject post­po­ne­ments. EBITDA grew to 3.7 mil­lion euros (prior year: minus 4.4 mil­lion euros), among other things, due to impacts in con­nec­tion with the rest­ruc­tu­ring and cost-cut­ting mea­su­res imple­men­ted in the prior year making a posi­tive con­tri­bu­tion. The EBITDA mar­gin impro­ved from minus 6.1 per­cent to plus 4.7 per­cent. Impro­ved sen­ti­ment in the auto­mo­tive indus­try was reflec­ted in the sharp rise in order intake, which incre­a­sed by 73.0 per­cent to 109.6 mil­lion euros (prior year: 63.3 mil­lion euros). At the end of June, the order back­log amoun­ted to 106.1 mil­lion euros, and was also well up on the 74.7 mil­lion euros as of Decem­ber 31, 2020.

Light & Safety: strong demand for traf­fic safety solu­ti­ons led to signi­fi­cant incre­ase in order intake

Busi­ness in the Light & Safety divi­sion is pre­do­mi­nantly pro­ject-based. Due to delays in the sup­ply of elec­tro­nic com­pon­ents, fewer deli­ve­ries were made than plan­ned, and new orders came in later than ori­gi­nally expec­ted. This resul­ted in a 23.2‑percent fall in reve­nue, to 42.8 mil­lion euros, in the 1st half of 2021 (prior year: 55.7 mil­lion euros). This deve­lo­p­ment was also reflec­ted in the pro­fi­ta­bi­lity figu­res, with EBITDA decre­a­sing to 3.3 mil­lion euros (prior year: 10.6 mil­lion euros) at the end of the first six mon­ths, des­pite a clear impro­ve­ment from 0.2 mil­lion euros in the first quar­ter to 3.2 mil­lion euros in the second. The EBITDA mar­gin decli­ned from 19.0 per­cent to 7.8 per­cent. The division’s order intake, which incre­a­sed signi­fi­cantly to 64.6 mil­lion euros in the 1st half of 2021 (prior year: 41.9 mil­lion euros), shows that demand for traf­fic safety solu­ti­ons remains strong world­wide. The order back­log incre­a­sed accord­in­gly, by almost half, to 68.8 mil­lion euros (31/12/2020: 46.0 mil­lion euros).

VINCORION: strong incre­ase in ear­nings and high order backlog

In the 1st half of 2021, VINCORION gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 60.0 mil­lion euros, slightly above the prior-year figure of 58.8 mil­lion euros. While demand in the Energy & Drive area grew, reve­nue decli­nes were pos­ted in Power Sys­tems and the busi­ness with the avia­tion indus­try. Com­pa­red with the 1st quar­ter, reve­nue incre­a­sed signi­fi­cantly in the 2nd quar­ter. As a result of the cost-cut­ting mea­su­res also suc­cess­fully imple­men­ted at VINCORION, EBITDA impro­ved from 4.1 mil­lion euros to 6.3 mil­lion euros in the repor­ting period. The EBITDA mar­gin incre­a­sed from 7.0 per­cent to 10.6 per­cent. Pro­ject post­po­ne­ments, par­ti­cu­larly in the Power Sys­tems area, and wea­ker busi­ness in the Avia­tion area as a result of the pan­de­mic, led to a decline in order intake to 63.5 mil­lion euros (prior year: 84.3 mil­lion euros). The order back­log, worth 171.7 mil­lion euros, was still at a good level (31/12/2020: 160.3 mil­lion euros).

Jen­op­tik well on track to meet recently incre­a­sed full-year 2021 targets

On the basis of the very good ope­ra­ting per­for­mance in the 2nd quar­ter of 2021, and the expec­ted strong deve­lo­p­ment in the 2nd half of the year, Jen­op­tik has signi­fi­cantly rai­sed its full-year gui­d­ance in July. In addi­tion, a one-off effect in EBITDA of around 16 mil­lion euros expec­ted in con­nec­tion with the con­di­tio­nal purchase price com­pon­ents ari­sing from the acqui­si­tion of TRIOPTICS will also con­tri­bute to the mar­gin incre­ase. Reve­nue is expec­ted to come in at bet­ween 880 mil­lion and 900 mil­lion euros in the 2021 fis­cal year (pre­viously: reve­nue growth in the low dou­ble-digit per­cen­tage range / prior year: 767.2 mil­lion euros). In addi­tion, an EBITDA mar­gin of bet­ween 19.0 and 19.5 per­cent (pre­viously: EBITDA mar­gin of 16.0 to 17.0 per­cent / prior year: 14.6 per­cent) is expected.

The full Half-Year Report is avail­able in the “Investors/Reports and Pre­sen­ta­ti­ons” sec­tion. Images for down­load can be found in the Jen­op­tik image data­base at media.jenoptik.com.

About Jen­op­tik

Opti­cal tech­no­lo­gies are the very basis of our busi­ness: Jen­op­tik is a glo­bally active tech­no­logy group and is active in the three pho­to­nics-based divi­si­ons: Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion and Light & Safety. Under the TRIOPTICS brand, Jen­op­tik also offers opti­cal test and manu­fac­tu­ring sys­tems for the qua­lity con­trol of len­ses, objec­ti­ves and camera modu­les. VINCORION is the brand for our mecha­tro­nic busi­ness. Our key tar­get mar­kets pri­ma­rily include the semi­con­duc­tor indus­try, medi­cal tech­no­logy, auto­mo­tive and mecha­ni­cal engi­nee­ring, traf­fic, avia­tion as well as secu­rity and defense tech­no­logy indus­tries. Appro­xi­mately 4,400 employees work for Jen­op­tik world­wide. The Group’s head­quar­ters are in Jena (Ger­many). JENOPTIK AG is lis­ted on the Ger­man Stock Exchange in Frank­furt and is inclu­ded in the SDax and TecDax. In the 2020 fis­cal year, Jen­op­tik gene­ra­ted reve­nue of approx. 767 mil­lion euros.

Con­tact

Les­lie Iltgen
JENOPTIK AG
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons & Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2291
moc.kitponej@negtli.eilsel

Aktuelles › JENOPTIK • 2. Quar­tal mit Rekord­wer­ten; starke Per­for­mance auch im 2. Halb­jahr 2021 erwartet

  • Umsatz­plus von 29,6 Pro­zent im 2. Quar­tal gegen­über Vor­jahr– Halb­jah­res­um­satz legte um 18,3 Pro­zent auf 389,3 Mio Euro zu
  • EBITDA-Marge bei 25,2 Pro­zent im 2. Quar­tal und bei 18,9 Pro­zent im 1. Halb­jahr 2021
  • Hohe Nach­frage in pho­to­ni­schen Divi­sio­nen – Kon­zern-Auf­trags­ein­gang im 1. Halb­jahr plus 52,2 Pro­zent auf 508,4 Mio Euro
  • Aus­blick für Gesamt­jahr 2021 wurde im Juli deut­lich ange­ho­ben: Umsatz soll auf 880–900 Mio Euro und EBITDA-Marge auf 19,0–19,5 Pro­zent zulegen

„Für Jen­op­tik war das 2. Quar­tal ein Rekord­quar­tal in einem immer noch von der Pan­de­mie gepräg­ten her­aus­for­dern­den Umfeld. Mit einem Umsatz­an­stieg von nahezu 30 Pro­zent und einer EBITDA-Marge von mehr als 25 Pro­zent haben wir neue Höchst­werte erreicht. Auch über die Per­for­mance von TRIOPTICS sind wir sehr erfreut, das ist für uns ein wich­ti­ger Schritt in unse­rer Wachs­tums­stra­te­gie, zu der sowohl orga­ni­sches Wachs­tum als auch Akqui­si­tio­nen gehö­ren. Auf der Basis der sehr guten Ergeb­nisse und in Erwar­tung eines star­ken 2. Halb­jah­res sind wir auf gutem Weg, die jüngst ange­ho­be­nen Ziele für 2021 zu errei­chen“, kom­men­tiert Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Vor­stands­vor­sit­zen­der der JENOPTK AG.

Dank einer anhal­ten­den Nach­fra­ge­be­le­bung in den drei pho­to­ni­schen Divi­sio­nen – Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion und Light & Safety – ver­zeich­nete Jen­op­tik beim Auf­trags­ein­gang in den ers­ten sechs Mona­ten einen star­ken Anstieg um 52,2 Pro­zent auf 508,4 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 333,9 Mio Euro). Trotz einer eben­falls anzie­hen­den Nach­frage im 2. Quar­tal lag der Auf­trags­ein­gang bei VINCORION im 1. Halb­jahr noch unter Vor­jahr. Im 2. Quar­tal 2021 hat sich der Kon­zern-Auf­trags­ein­gang im Ver­gleich zum Vor­jah­res­quar­tal mit einem Plus von 96,4 Pro­zent fast ver­dop­pelt. Die Book-to-Bill-Rate des Kon­zerns stieg in den ers­ten sechs Mona­ten deut­lich von 1,02 auf 1,31. Der Auf­trags­be­stand klet­terte um 27,4 Pro­zent auf 586,0 Mio Euro (31.12.2020: 460,1 Mio Euro).

Jen­op­tik rea­li­sierte im 1. Halb­jahr 2021 mit 389,3 Mio Euro einen gegen­über Vor­jahr (329,0 Mio Euro) um 18,3 Pro­zent höhe­ren Umsatz, im 2. Quar­tal solo legte der Umsatz im Ver­gleich zum Vor­jahr um 29,6 Pro­zent zu. Ein hohes orga­ni­sches Wachs­tum und der Bei­trag von TRIOPTICS führ­ten im 1. Halb­jahr 2021 zu einem deut­li­chen Umsatz­plus in der Divi­sion Light & Optics. Wäh­rend die Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion von einer anzie­hen­den Nach­frage aus der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie pro­fi­tierte und sich auch das Geschäft bei VINCORION leicht belebte, lagen die Umsätze bei Light & Safety unter Vor­jahr. Zum deut­li­chen Umsatz­an­stieg in der Region Asien/Pazifik trug vor allem TRIOPTICS bei. Der Anteil des Aus­lands­um­sat­zes blieb mit 74,2 Pro­zent unverändert.

In den ers­ten sechs Mona­ten 2021 wurde die Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät signi­fi­kant ver­bes­sert. Neben der star­ken ope­ra­ti­ven Per­for­mance zeig­ten sich hier auch zuneh­mend posi­tive Effekte aus den 2020 ergrif­fe­nen Restruk­tu­rie­rungs­maß­nah­men. Im EBITDA ist zudem ein Ein­mal­ef­fekt in Höhe von rund 16 Mio Euro im Zusam­men­hang mit dem Erwerb von TRIOPTICS ent­hal­ten. Das EBITDA klet­terte auf 73,7 Mio Euro (inklu­sive PPA-Effek­ten von minus 1,8 Mio Euro) und lag damit um 94,6 Pro­zent über dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 37,9 Mio Euro. Ohne den genann­ten Ein­mal­ef­fekt wäre ein Ergeb­nis­an­stieg von rund 52 Pro­zent rea­li­siert wor­den. Die EBITDA-Marge stieg auf 18,9 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 11,5 Pro­zent). Das Ergeb­nis aus betrieb­li­cher Tätig­keit (EBIT) lag Ende Juni mit 46,2 Mio Euro eben­falls klar über dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 15,6 Mio Euro. Im EBIT ent­hal­ten sind PPA-Effekte von minus 8,9 Mio Euro infolge der in den Vor­jah­ren getä­tig­ten Akqui­si­tio­nen (i.Vj. minus 3,6 Mio Euro). Das Kon­zern­er­geb­nis nach Steu­ern legte von 10,6 Mio Euro auf 37,7 Mio Euro zu.

Finan­zi­ell und bilan­zi­ell gut auf­ge­stellt für künf­ti­ges Wachstum

Jen­op­tik ver­fügte zum 30. Juni 2021 über eine sehr gesunde und solide Bilanz- und Finan­zie­rungs­struk­tur zur Sicher­stel­lung des geplan­ten Wachs­tums. Der Cash­flow aus lau­fen­der Geschäfts­tä­tig­keit lag mit 26,0 Mio Euro etwa auf dem Vor­jah­res­ni­veau von 26,7 Mio Euro, wäh­rend der Free Cash­flow mit 11,6 Mio Euro zwar erwar­tungs­ge­mäß solide war, aber unter dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 16,0 Mio Euro lag. Grund dafür war der Anstieg des Working Capi­tals in Vor­be­rei­tung auf die Umsatz­rea­li­sie­rung im 2. Halbjahr.

„Wir ver­fü­gen über eine gesunde Bilanz und eine sehr gute finan­zi­elle Aus­stat­tung, um das für die Zukunft geplante Wachs­tum stem­men zu kön­nen. Wir wer­den unser orga­ni­sches Wachs­tum vor­an­trei­ben und ver­fü­gen über genug Finanz­kraft, um wei­tere Chan­cen für die externe Expan­sion nut­zen zu kön­nen“, so Hans-Die­ter Schu­ma­cher, Finanz­vor­stand der JENOPTK AG.

Zum 30. Juni 2021 redu­zierte sich der Bestand an Zah­lungs­mit­teln und Zah­lungs­mit­tel­äqui­va­len­ten von 63,4 Mio Euro am Jah­res­ende 2020 auf 49,8 Mio Euro. Die Net­to­ver­schul­dung erhöhte sich leicht auf 214,5 Mio Euro nach 201,0 Mio Euro zum 31. Dezem­ber 2020. Die Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote stieg von 51,5 Pro­zent zum 31. Dezem­ber 2020 auf nun 53,5 Prozent.

Fokus­sie­rung auf Pho­to­nik treibt Wachstum

Light & Optics mit Rekordwerten

In der Divi­sion Light & Optics setzte sich die dyna­mi­sche Ent­wick­lung im Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs-geschäft und die deut­lich anzie­hende Nach­frage bei Bio­pho­to­nics und Indus­trial Solu­ti­ons aus dem 1. Quar­tal fort. Auch TRIOPTICS ver­zeich­nete eine sehr erfreu­li­che Ent­wick­lung und steu­erte 41,0 Mio Euro zum Umsatz bei. Ent­spre­chend wurde der Divi­si­ons­um­satz nach sechs Mona­ten 2021 um 48,6 Pro­zent von 139,5 Mio Euro auf 207,3 Mio Euro ver­bes­sert. Das EBITDA folgte die­sem Trend und konnte mit 65,5 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 30,0 Mio Euro) mehr als ver­dop­pelt wer­den. Neben der sehr guten ope­ra­ti­ven Per­for­mance und dem Bei­trag von TRIOPTICS ist hierin jedoch auch ein Ein­mal­ef­fekt von rund 16 Mio Euro im Zusam­men­hang mit dem Erwerb von TRIOPTICS ent­hal­ten. Die EBITDA-Marge der Divi­sion erreichte 31,5 Pro­zent und lag damit signi­fi­kant über dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 21,4 Pro­zent. Auch für die Fol­ge­quar­tale ver­spricht die hohe Nach­frage eine posi­tive Ent­wick­lung. So lag der Auf­trags­ein­gang mit 269,6 Mio Euro um 90,9 Pro­zent über Vor­jahr (141,2 Mio Euro) und der Auf­trags­be­stand mit 239,3 Mio Euro auf einem Rekord­ni­veau (31.12.2020: 179,1 Mio Euro).

Light & Pro­duc­tion mit Wachs­tum bei Auf­trags­ein­gang und Ergebnis

In der Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion war ins­be­son­dere im 2. Quar­tal eine Erho­lung in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie zu spü­ren. Jedoch sind die Aus­wir­kun­gen der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie durch den nied­ri­ge­ren Auf­trags­be­stand zu Jah­res­be­ginn noch nicht voll­stän­dig über­wun­den. Ins­ge­samt lag der Umsatz Ende Juni mit 78,0 Mio Euro um 7,5 Pro­zent über Vor­jahr (72,6 Mio Euro). Wäh­rend die Berei­che Laser Pro­ces­sing und Indus­trial Metro­logy Zuwächse ver­zeich­ne­ten, lag Auto­ma­tion & Inte­gra­tion wegen Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen noch etwa auf Vor­jah­res­ni­veau. Das EBITDA erhöhte sich auf 3,7 Mio Euro (i.Vj. minus 4,4 Mio Euro). Dazu haben unter ande­rem Effekte im Zusam­men­hang mit den im Vor­jahr ergrif­fe­nen Restruk­tu­rie­rungs- und Kos­ten­sen­kungs-maß­nah­men posi­tiv bei­getra­gen. Die EBITDA-Marge erhöhte sich von minus 6,1 Pro­zent auf plus 4,7 Pro­zent. Die Ver­bes­se­rung der Stim­mung in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie spie­gelte sich im stark ver­bes­ser­ten Auf­trags­ein­gang wider. Die­ser legte um 73,0 Pro­zent auf 109,6 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 63,3 Mio Euro) zu. Auch der Auf­trags­be­stand lag Ende Juni mit 106,1 Mio Euro sub­stan­zi­ell über den 74,7 Mio Euro zum 31. Dezem­ber 2020.

Light & Safety: Starke Nach­frage nach Lösun­gen für mehr Ver­kehrs­si­cher­heit führte zu hohem Auftragseingang

Das Geschäft der Divi­sion Light & Safety ist stark vom Pro­jekt­ge­schäft geprägt. Auf­grund von Ver­zö­ge­run­gen bei der Zulie­fe­rung elek­tro­ni­scher Bau­teile konnte weni­ger als geplant aus­ge­lie­fert wer­den, zudem kamen neue Auf­träge spä­ter als ursprüng­lich erwar­tet. Dies führte im 1. Halb­jahr 2021 zu einem Rück­gang der Umsätze um 23,2 Pro­zent auf 42,8 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 55,7 Mio Euro). Diese Ent­wick­lung zeigte sich auch in der Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät. Das EBITDA sank im 1. Halb­jahr auf 3,3 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 10,6 Mio Euro), obwohl eine klare Ver­bes­se­rung von 0,2 Mio Euro im 1. Quar­tal auf 3,2 Mio Euro im 2. Quar­tal zu sehen war. Die EBITDA-Marge nahm von 19,0 Pro­zent auf 7,8 Pro­zent ab. Dass die Nach­frage nach Lösun­gen für mehr Ver­kehrs­si­cher­heit welt­weit unver­än­dert hoch ist, zeigt der Auf­trags­ein­gang der Divi­sion, der im 1. Halb­jahr 2021 deut­lich auf 64,6 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 41,9 Mio Euro) zulegte. Ent­spre­chend stieg auch der Auf­trags­be­stand um fast die Hälfte auf 68,8 Mio Euro (31.12.2020: 46,0 Mio Euro).

VINCORION: Deut­li­ches Ergeb­nis­plus und hoher Auftragsbestand

Im 1. Halb­jahr 2021 erwirt­schaf­tete VINCORION Umsätze in Höhe von 60,0 Mio Euro, die leicht über dem Vor­jah­res­ni­veau von 58,8 Mio Euro lagen. Wäh­rend die Nach­frage im Bereich Energy & Drive stieg, ver­zeich­ne­ten der Bereich Power Sys­tems und das Geschäft mit der Luft­fahrt­in­dus­trie Umsatz­rück­gänge. Gegen­über dem 1. Quar­tal zogen die Umsätze im 2. Quar­tal deut­lich an. Auf­grund der auch bei VINCORION erfolg­reich ergrif­fe­nen Maß­nah­men zur Kos­ten­re­du­zie­rung ver­bes­serte sich das EBITDA im Berichts­zeit­raum von 4,1 Mio Euro auf 6,3 Mio Euro. Die EBITDA-Marge stieg von 7,0 Pro­zent auf 10,6 Pro­zent. Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen, vor allem im Bereich Power Sys­tems, sowie das Pan­de­mie-bedingt schwä­chere Geschäft im Bereich Avia­tion führ­ten zu einem Rück­gang des Auf­trags­ein­gangs auf 63,5 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 84,3 Mio Euro). Der Auf­trags­be­stand blieb mit 171,7 Mio Euro auf einem hohen Niveau (31.12.2020: 160,3 Mio Euro).

Jen­op­tik ist auf gutem Weg, die kürz­lich erhöh­ten Ziele für das Gesamt­jahr 2021 zu erreichen

Auf Basis der sehr guten ope­ra­ti­ven Ent­wick­lung im 2. Quar­tal 2021 sowie der erwar­te­ten star­ken Ent­wick­lung im 2. Halb­jahr hat Jen­op­tik im Juli die Gesamt­jah­res­pro­gnose deut­lich erhöht. Dar­über hin­aus trägt auch ein Ein­mal­ef­fekt im EBITDA von vor­aus­sicht­lich rund 16 Mio Euro im Zusam­men­hang mit den beding­ten Kauf­preis­kom­po­nen­ten aus dem Erwerb von TRIOPTICS zum Mar­gen­an­stieg bei. Für das Geschäfts­jahr 2021 wird ein Umsatz zwi­schen 880 und 900 Mio Euro erwar­tet (bis­her Umsatz­plus im nied­ri­gen zwei­stel­li­gen Pro­zent­be­reich / i.Vj. 767,2 Mio Euro). Die EBITDA-Marge soll zwi­schen 19,0 und 19,5 Pro­zent lie­gen (bis­lang EBITDA-Marge von 16,0–17,0 Pro­zent / i.Vj. 14,6 Prozent).

Der voll­stän­dige Halb­jah­res­be­richt 2021 steht unter „Investoren/Berichte und Prä­sen­ta­tio­nen“ zur Ver­fü­gung. Bil­der zum Down­load fin­den Sie in der Jen­op­tik Bild­da­ten­bank unter media.jenoptik.com.

Über Jen­op­tik

Opti­sche Tech­no­lo­gien sind die Basis unse­res Geschäfts: Jen­op­tik ist ein glo­bal agie­ren­der Tech­no­lo­gie-Kon­zern und in den drei auf Pho­to­nik basie­ren­den Divi­sio­nen Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion und Light & Safety aktiv. Dar­über hin­aus bie­tet Jen­op­tik unter der Marke TRIOPTICS opti­sche Mess- und Fer­ti­gungs­sys­teme für die Qua­li­täts­kon­trolle von Lin­sen, Objek­ti­ven und Kame­ra­mo­du­len. Unter der Marke VINCORION ist das mecha­tro­ni­sche Geschäft zusam­men­ge­fasst. Zu unse­ren Schlüs­sel­märk­ten zäh­len vor allem die Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tung, Medi­zin­tech­nik, Auto­mo­tive und Maschi­nen­bau, Ver­kehr, Luft­fahrt sowie die Sicher­heits- und Wehr­tech­nik. Rund 4.400 Mit­ar­bei­ter arbei­ten bei Jen­op­tik welt­weit, Haupt­sitz des Kon­zerns ist Jena (Deutsch­land). Die JENOPTIK AG ist an der Deut­schen Börse in Frank­furt notiert und wird im SDax und TecDax geführt. Im Geschäfts­jahr 2020 erzielte Jen­op­tik einen Umsatz von rund 767 Mio Euro.

Kon­takt

Les­lie Iltgen
JENOPTIK AG
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons & Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2291
moc.kitponej@negtli.eilsel