News › JENOPTIK · signi­fi­cant and pro­fi­ta­ble growth expec­ted in 2021

  • Group reve­nue of 767.2 mil­lion euros in 2020, down due to Covid-19; return to near prior-year level in Q4
  • Adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin of 17.6 per­cent excl. PPA shar­ply up on expectations
  • Appre­cia­ble growth in demand in Q4; order back­log only slightly below prior-year level; good basis for 2021
  • Free cash flow remains at high level with 62.3 mil­lion euros
  • Pro­po­sed divi­dend of 0.25 euros per share for 2020
  • 2021: Reve­nue growth in low dou­ble-digit per­cen­tage range; EBITDA mar­gin of 16.0–17.0 per­cent (prior year 14.6 percent)

Jen­op­tik ended the 2020 repor­ting year with a strong fourth quar­ter and was able to signi­fi­cantly incre­ase pro­fi­ta­bi­lity in 2020. This posi­tive deve­lo­p­ment was sup­por­ted by sus­tai­ned high demand from the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try, the acqui­si­tion of TRIOPTICS and a lar­gely sta­ble capi­tal spen­ding by public sec­tor cus­to­mers. The com­pany used the year that was chal­len­ging due to the pan­de­mic to drive for­ward important stra­te­gic decisi­ons for its deve­lo­p­ment into a lea­ding inter­na­tio­nal pho­to­nics group, the stream­li­ning of struc­tures and grea­ter cost efficiency.

“At the begin­ning of 2021, Jen­op­tik stands for growth, inno­va­tion, and pro­fi­ta­bi­lity even more than it did a year ago. By focu­sing on growth areas in pho­to­nics, we mana­ged the Covid-19 year 2020 well. We are con­fi­dent for 2021 thanks to an upturn in demand, impro­ved cost effi­ci­ency and exter­nal growth. We expect reve­nue growth in the low dou­ble-digit per­cen­tage range and want to incre­ase pro­fi­ta­bi­lity to an EBITDA mar­gin of 16.0 to 17.0 per­cent. Thanks to lea­ding posi­ti­ons in pro­mi­sing future mar­kets, Jen­op­tik is well posi­tio­ned to grow pro­fi­ta­bly also in the medium term,” Dr. Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Pre­si­dent & CEO of JENOPTIK AG comments on the development.

Reve­nue deve­lo­p­ment mar­ked by Covid-19 pan­de­mic – pro­fi­ta­bi­lity signi­fi­cantly improved

In the 2020 fis­cal year, Jen­op­tik gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 767.2 mil­lion euros, which, as expec­ted, was clearly down on the prior-year figure of adjus­ted 837.0 mil­lion euros, mainly due to the Covid-19 pan­de­mic and struc­tu­ral issues in the auto­mo­tive indus­try. As in the prior year, the fourth quar­ter was stron­gest, with 262.2 mil­lion euros (prior year: adjus­ted 255.7 mil­lion euros). The two com­pa­nies acqui­red during the repor­ting year, TRIOPTICS and INTEROB, con­tri­bu­ted 47.2 mil­lion euros to annual reve­nue in 2020. On a regio­nal level, reve­nue in Asia rose by 9 per­cent to 105.8 mil­lion euros in spite of Covid-19, mainly due to the acqui­si­tion of TRIOPTICS. Europe (excl. Ger­many) remai­ned rela­tively sta­ble at 226.1 mil­lion euros. By con­trast, the Ame­ri­cas (195.5 mil­lion euros), Ger­many (214.7 mil­lion euros), and the Middle East/Africa (25.2 mil­lion euros) were appre­cia­bly affec­ted by the impacts of the pan­de­mic. As in the prior year, for­eign reve­nue amoun­ted to around 72 percent.

Thanks to a lower cost of sales, first posi­tive effects from the struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res imple­men­ted and tan­gi­ble cost savings, the gross mar­gin reached 34.2 per­cent in 2020 and was thus on a par with the prior-year figure of 34.1 percent.

Taking into account expen­ses for the plan­ned struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res amoun­ting to minus 19.1 mil­lion euros (prior year: minus 4.0 mil­lion euros), which mainly incur­red in the Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion and VINCORION, adjus­ted EBITDA amoun­ted to 130.7 mil­lion euros (prior year: adjus­ted 138.0 mil­lion euros). This resul­ted in an adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin of 17.0 per­cent (prior year: adjus­ted 16.5 per­cent), or 17.6 per­cent excl. PPA. On a non-adjus­ted basis, the mar­gin was 14.6 per­cent (prior year: 15.7 per­cent). In 2020, TRIOPTICS and INTEROB con­tri­bu­ted a total of 6.0 mil­lion euros to EBITDA, inclu­ding PPA of minus 4.6 mil­lion euros. Taking into account the lower finan­cial result, due among other things to the acqui­si­ti­ons, and lower taxes, Jen­op­tik once again achie­ved mar­kedly posi­tive ear­nings after tax of 42.7 mil­lion euros (prior year: 67.6 mil­lion euros) or ear­nings per share of 0.73 euros (prior year: 1.18 euros), des­pite the chal­len­ging environment.

Order back­log crea­tes strong basis for 2021

Jen­op­tik recor­ded good growth in order intake in the fourth quar­ter of 2020, and alt­hough a figure of 228.5 mil­lion euros was not quite enough to reach the prior-year value of an adjus­ted 234.0 mil­lion euros, it was the hig­hest level of demand in the year cove­red by the report, assis­ted by the con­tri­bu­tion made by TRIOPTICS. At 739.4 mil­lion euros, the order intake for the full year was con­si­der­ably down on the adjus­ted prior-year figure of 792.7 mil­lion euros. The order back­log, at 460.1 mil­lion euros in 2020, was almost at the same good level as in the prior year (adjus­ted 464.7 mil­lion euros). This gives cause for opti­mism in 2021, espe­cially as 78.5 per­cent of these orders are expec­ted to be reco­gni­zed as reve­nue in the new fis­cal year. At the end of 2019, this adjus­ted figure was just 68.0 percent.

Good balance sheet qua­lity and strong free cash flow

Des­pite the signi­fi­cant incre­ase in expen­dit­ure for exter­nal growth, Jen­op­tik con­ti­nues to have a high balance sheet qua­lity. At the end of 2020, the equity ratio was 51.5 per­cent (31/12/2019: 60.5 per­cent). Net debt rose to 201.0 mil­lion euros as of Decem­ber 31, 2020 due to the acqui­si­ti­ons (31/12/2019: minus 9.1 mil­lion euros). Des­pite a chal­len­ging envi­ron­ment, the com­pany again gene­ra­ted a mar­kedly posi­tive free cash flow of 62.3 mil­lion euros in 2020 (prior year: 77.2 mil­lion euros). Without the cash-effec­tive impacts of struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res, the free cash flow came to 67.2 mil­lion euros (prior year: 79.3 mil­lion euros).

Pay­ment of a sub­stan­ti­ally hig­her divi­dend of 0.25 euros per share proposed

In view of solid balance sheet ratios and a com­for­ta­ble liqui­dity situa­tion, the Exe­cu­tive Board and Super­vi­sory Board of JENOPTIK AG will pro­pose to pay a sub­stan­ti­ally hig­her divi­dend of 0.25 euros (prior year: 0.13 euros) to the share­hol­ders to the Annual Gene­ral Mee­ting on June 9, 2021 (to be held vir­tually as last year). The Jen­op­tik boards are main­tai­ning their con­sis­tent divi­dend policy with this recom­men­da­tion. Share­hol­ders of JENOPTIK AG should par­ti­ci­pate appro­pria­tely in the suc­cess of the com­pany, irre­spec­tive of the impacts of the Covid-19 pan­de­mic, two acqui­si­ti­ons, and capi­tal expenditure.

“Thanks to our good balance sheet qua­lity and the abi­lity to gene­rate sus­tainably high free cash flows, we are able to finance our future plan­ned growth very well. Thanks to a strong repu­ta­tion and the streng­t­he­ned com­mit­ment to more sus­taina­bi­lity, we also recently mana­ged to suc­cess­fully place our first deben­ture bond with a ’green com­po­nent’. We rai­sed 400 mil­lion euros on the finan­cial mar­kets at favor­able inte­rest rates. This gives us the lati­tude to con­si­der acqui­si­ti­ons and invest­ments in our core busi­ness of pho­to­nics and con­firms the cor­rect­ness of our solid finan­cing stra­tegy,” adds CFO Hans-Die­ter Schumacher.

Deve­lo­p­ment of the divisions

Des­pite con­ti­nuing good demand from the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try, reve­nue in the Light & Optics divi­sion decre­a­sed from adjus­ted 331.8 mil­lion euros to 318.0 mil­lion euros. The main rea­son for this was the reluc­tance to invest seen in the bio­pho­to­nics and indus­trial solu­ti­ons sec­tors due to the pan­de­mic. TRIOPTICS con­tri­bu­ted reve­nue of 27.8 mil­lion euros. In terms of ear­nings, Light & Optics bene­fi­ted from a good pro­duct mix and stron­ger growth in hig­her-mar­gin pro­ducts. Adjus­ted EBITDA the­re­fore incre­a­sed from 71.7 mil­lion euros in the prior year to 72.7 mil­lion euros in the 2020 fis­cal year, des­pite nega­tive PPA of 4.6 mil­lion euros. TRIOPTICS con­tri­bu­ted 4.3 mil­lion euros to ear­nings. Accord­in­gly, the adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin impro­ved from the already high level of 21.5 per­cent in the prior year to a new figure of 22.8 per­cent. The signi­fi­cant impro­ve­ment in the order intake, by 34.8 mil­lion euros to 339.5 mil­lion euros (prior year: adjus­ted 304.7 mil­lion euros), which was attri­bu­ta­ble in par­ti­cu­lar to strong demand in the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try and TRIOPTICS, gives hope for a sus­tai­ned good deve­lo­p­ment in 2021. The order back­log also rose signi­fi­cantly, from an adjus­ted 143.5 mil­lion euros to 178.0 mil­lion euros.

In 2020, reve­nue in the Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion was stron­gly impac­ted by Covid-19 and the reluc­tance to invest in the auto­mo­tive indus­try. At 178.9 mil­lion euros it was the­re­fore shar­ply down on the prior year’s figure of 228.9 mil­lion euros. Des­pite a strong drop in the cost of sales, the division’s adjus­ted EBITDA fell from 25.8 mil­lion euros to 15.8 mil­lion euros. The adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin for 2020 came to 8.8 per­cent, com­pa­red with 11.3 per­cent in the prior year. The manage­ment has imple­men­ted exten­sive struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res amoun­ting to 7.9 mil­lion euros, which were already showing a posi­tive impact and will take full effect by 2022. Due to post­po­ne­ments and a major can­cel­la­tion the order intake, at 157.8 mil­lion euros, was also signi­fi­cantly down on the prior year (prior year: 199.3 mil­lion euros). Nevertheless, the divi­sion recei­ved a major order with great poten­tial from the Spa­nish sup­plier Gestamp in the field of auto­ma­tion. The order intake inclu­des orders from INTEROB worth around 20.4 mil­lion euros.

The Light & Safety divi­sion showed that it could con­ti­nue to grow pro­fi­ta­bly, even in a chal­len­ging envi­ron­ment. Sta­ble capi­tal spen­ding by public-sec­tor cus­to­mers led to an incre­ase in reve­nue by 4.9 mil­lion euros to 114.0 mil­lion euros (prior year: 108.7 mil­lion euros). Thanks to a strong final quar­ter, EBITDA impro­ved signi­fi­cantly, by more than a fifth to an adjus­ted 22.7 mil­lion euros. The EBITDA mar­gin accord­in­gly incre­a­sed to an adjus­ted 19.9 per­cent (prior year: 17.3 per­cent). Ano­t­her posi­tive high­light in 2020 was the signi­fi­cant impro­ve­ment in the free cash flow from 11.3 mil­lion euros to adjus­ted 21.8 mil­lion euros, thanks in part to the afo­re­men­tio­ned impro­ve­ment in ear­nings and an effi­ci­ent receiva­bles manage­ment system.

VINCORION’s per­for­mance was affec­ted by unch­an­ged strong demand in the Power Sys­tems unit but con­si­derable pro­blems in the Avia­tion and Energy & Drive units. Accord­in­gly, reve­nue of VINCORION fell by 7.9 per­cent to 151.7 mil­lion euros (prior year: 164.8 mil­lion euros). The decre­ase in reve­nue and a lower-mar­gin pro­duct mix led to a decline in adjus­ted EBITDA from 24.2 mil­lion euros to 20.6 mil­lion euros, or in terms of the adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin, from 14.7 per­cent to 13.6 per­cent. Here, again, free cash flow incre­a­sed sub­stan­ti­ally from 1.0 mil­lion euros to 9.8 mil­lion euros. Thanks to the long-term nature of many orders, the order back­log remai­ned at a high level of 160.3 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: 169.7 mil­lion euros).

Out­look for 2021: signi­fi­cant and pro­fi­ta­ble growth expected

Based on good order intake growth in the fourth quar­ter of 2020, a well-fil­led pro­ject pipe­line, and the con­ti­nued pro­mi­sing deve­lo­p­ment in the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment busi­ness, the Exe­cu­tive Board expects fur­ther growth in the cur­rent fis­cal year. In addi­tion to the orga­nic growth in the divi­si­ons, TRIOPTICS, which will be con­so­li­da­ted for the full year for the first time, will also con­tri­bute to the posi­tive development.

For 2021, Jen­op­tik is expec­ting reve­nue growth in the low dou­ble-digit per­cen­tage range, inclu­ding TRIOPTICS (prior year: 767.2 mil­lion euros). The Group cur­r­ently fore­casts EBITDA (ear­nings before inte­rest, taxes, depre­cia­tion, and amor­tiz­a­tion, inclu­ding impairment los­ses and rever­sals) to incre­ase signi­fi­cantly in the cur­rent fis­cal year (prior year: 111.6 mil­lion euros). The EBITDA mar­gin is due to reach bet­ween 16.0 and 17.0 per­cent (prior year: not adjus­ted 14.6 percent).

Due to the uncer­tainty gene­ra­ted by the Covid-19 lock­down at the begin­ning of the year and the risk of a third wave of the pan­de­mic, a more pre­cise fore­cast is not cur­r­ently pos­si­ble. Howe­ver, we plan to spe­cify the fore­cast during the course of the year.

The pre­sen­ta­tion on the 2020 Annual Finan­cial State­ments and the 2020 Annual Report are avail­able on the Jen­op­tik web­site in the Inves­tors / Reports and Pre­sen­ta­ti­ons sec­tion. Images are avail­able for down­load from our media cen­ter at media.jenoptik.com.

About Jen­op­tik

Opti­cal tech­no­lo­gies are the very basis of our busi­ness: Jen­op­tik is a glo­bally active tech­no­logy group and is active in the three pho­to­nics-based divi­si­ons: Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion and Light & Safety. Under the TRIOPTICS brand, Jen­op­tik also offers opti­cal test and manu­fac­tu­ring sys­tems for the qua­lity con­trol of len­ses, objec­ti­ves and camera modu­les. VINCORION is the brand for our mecha­tro­nic busi­ness. Our key tar­get mar­kets pri­ma­rily include the semi­con­duc­tor indus­try, medi­cal tech­no­logy, auto­mo­tive and mecha­ni­cal engi­nee­ring, traf­fic, avia­tion as well as secu­rity and defense tech­no­logy indus­tries. Appro­xi­mately 4,500 employees work for Jen­op­tik world­wide. The Group’s head­quar­ters are in Jena (Ger­many). JENOPTIK AG is lis­ted on the Ger­man Stock Exchange in Frank­furt and is inclu­ded in the SDax and TecDax. In the 2020 fis­cal year, Jen­op­tik gene­ra­ted reve­nue of approx. 767 mil­lion euros.

Kon­takt

Les­lie Iltgen
JENOPTIK AG
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons & Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2255
moc.kitponej@negtli.eilsel

Aktuelles › JENOPTIK • 2021 deut­li­ches und pro­fi­ta­bles Wachs­tum erwartet

  • Kon­zern­um­satz 2020 mit 767,2 Mio Euro COVID-19-bedingt rück­läu­fig, Q4 wie­der annä­hernd auf Vorjahresniveau
  • Adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge von 17,6 Pro­zent vor PPA-Effek­ten über­trifft Erwar­tun­gen deutlich
  • Spür­bar anzie­hende Nach­frage in Q4, Auf­trags­be­stand nur knapp unter Vor­jahr, gute Aus­gangs­ba­sis für 2021
  • Free Cash­flow mit 62,3 Mio Euro wei­ter auf hohem Niveau
  • Divi­den­den­vor­schlag von 0,25 Euro je Aktie für 2020
  • 2021: Umsatz­plus im nied­ri­gen zwei­stel­li­gen Pro­zent­be­reich, EBITDA-Marge von 16,0–17,0 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 14,6 Prozent)

Jen­op­tik hat das Berichts­jahr 2020 mit einem star­ken 4. Quar­tal abge­schlos­sen und konnte die Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät 2020 deut­lich stei­gern. Gestützt wurde die posi­tive Ent­wick­lung durch eine anhal­tend hohe Nach­frage aus der Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­in­dus­trie, der Akqui­si­tion von TRIOPTICS und einem weit­ge­hend sta­bi­len Inves­ti­ti­ons­ver­hal­ten der Kun­den aus dem öffent­li­chen Sek­tor. Das Unter­neh­men hat das pan­de­mie­be­dingt her­aus­for­dernde Jahr genutzt, um wich­tige stra­te­gi­sche Wei­chen­stel­lun­gen für die Ent­wick­lung hin zu einem inter­na­tio­nal füh­ren­den Pho­to­nik-Kon­zern, die Ver­schlan­kung der Struk­tu­ren und eine höhere Kos­ten­ef­fi­zi­enz voranzutreiben.

„Jen­op­tik steht Anfang 2021 stär­ker denn je für Wachs­tum, Inno­va­tion und Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät. Mit der Fokus­sie­rung auf Wachs­tums­fel­der im Bereich Pho­to­nik sind wir gut durch das Corona-Jahr 2020 gekom­men. Für 2021 sind wir dank einer anzie­hen­den Nach­frage, einer ver­bes­ser­ten Kos­ten­ef­fi­zi­enz und exter­nen Wachs­tums zuver­sicht­lich. So wol­len wir 2021 beim Kon­zern­um­satz im nied­ri­gen zwei­stel­li­gen Pro­zent­be­reich zule­gen und die Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät auf eine EBITDA-Marge von 16,0 bis 17,0 Pro­zent stei­gern. Jen­op­tik ist dank füh­ren­der Posi­tio­nen in aus­sichts­rei­chen Zukunfts­märk­ten gut posi­tio­niert, um auch mit­tel­fris­tig pro­fi­ta­bel zu wach­sen“, kom­men­tiert der Vor­stands­vor­sit­zende der JENOPTIK AG, Dr. Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, die Entwicklung.

Umsatz­ent­wick­lung geprägt von COVID-19-Pan­de­mie – Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät deut­lich verbessert

Im Geschäfts­jahr 2020 erzielte Jen­op­tik einen Umsatz von 767,2 Mio Euro, der wie erwar­tet vor allem COVID-19-bedingt und auf­grund struk­tu­rel­ler The­men in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie deut­lich unter dem Vor­jah­res­wert von berei­nigt 837,0 Mio Euro lag. Das umsatz­stärkste war wie im Vor­jahr das 4. Quar­tal mit 262,2 Mio Euro (i.Vj. berei­nigt 255,7 Mio Euro). Die im Berichts­jahr akqui­rier­ten Unter­neh­men TRIOPTICS und INTEROB tru­gen 2020 47,2 Mio Euro zum Jah­res­um­satz bei. Regio­nal betrach­tet ver­bes­serte sich der Umsatz trotz COVID-19 in Asien um 9 Pro­zent auf 105,8 Mio Euro vor allem auf­grund der Akqui­si­tion von TRIOPTICS. Europa (ohne Deutsch­land) blieb mit 226,1 Mio Euro rela­tiv sta­bil, dage­gen waren in Ame­rika (195,5 Mio Euro), Deutsch­land (214,7 Mio Euro) und dem Mitt­le­ren Osten/Afrika (25,2 Mio Euro) spür­bare pan­de­mie­be­dingte Rück­gänge zu ver­zeich­nen. Der Aus­lands­um­satz belief sich wie im Vor­jahr auf rund 72 Prozent.

Dank nied­ri­ge­rer Umsatz­kos­ten, ers­ter posi­ti­ver Effekte der ein­ge­lei­te­ten Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men sowie spür­ba­rer Kos­ten­ein­spa­run­gen lag die Brut­to­marge 2020 mit 34,2 Pro­zent auf Vor­jah­res­ni­veau (i.Vj. 34,1 Prozent).

Das adjus­tierte EBITDA betrug unter Berück­sich­ti­gung der avi­sier­ten Auf­wen­dun­gen für Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men von minus 19,1 Mio Euro (i.Vj. minus 4,0 Mio Euro), die haupt­säch­lich in der Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion und bei VINCORION anfie­len, 130,7 Mio Euro (i.Vj. adjus­tiert 138,0 Mio Euro). Hier­aus lässt sich eine adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge von 17,0 Pro­zent (i.Vj. adjus­tiert 16,5 Pro­zent) bzw. vor PPA-Effek­ten von 17,6 Pro­zent errech­nen. Nicht adjus­tiert lag die Marge bei 14,6 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 15,7 Pro­zent). TRIOPTICS und INTEROB tru­gen 2020 ins­ge­samt 6,0 Mio Euro zum EBITDA bei, inkl. PPA-Effek­ten von minus 4,6 Mio Euro. Unter Berück­sich­ti­gung des unter ande­rem akqui­si­ti­ons­be­dingt gerin­ge­ren Finanz­ergeb­nis­ses und nied­ri­ge­rer Steu­ern erzielte Jen­op­tik trotz der schwie­ri­gen Rah­men­be­din­gun­gen erneut ein deut­lich posi­ti­ves Ergeb­nis nach Steu­ern von 42,7 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 67,6 Mio Euro) bezie­hungs­weise ein Ergeb­nis je Aktie von 0,73 Euro (i.Vj. 1,18 Euro).

Auf­trags­be­stand schafft gute Aus­gangs­ba­sis für 2021

Im 4. Quar­tal 2020 ver­zeich­nete Jen­op­tik eine erfreu­li­che Ent­wick­lung beim Auf­trags­ein­gang und erreichte mit 228,5 Mio Euro zwar nicht ganz den Vor­jah­res­wert von berei­nigt 234,0 Mio Euro, aber das höchste Nach­frage-Niveau des Berichts­jah­res, unter­stützt durch den Bei­trag von TRIOPTICS. Der Auf­trags­ein­gang im Gesamt­jahr lag mit 739,4 Mio Euro deut­lich unter dem berei­nig­ten Vor­jah­res­wert von 792,7 Mio Euro. Der Auf­trags­be­stand erreichte 2020 mit 460,1 Mio Euro annäh­rend das gute Niveau des Vor­jah­res von berei­nigt 464,7 Mio Euro. Dies stimmt zuver­sicht­lich für die Ent­wick­lung im Jahr 2021, zumal bei 78,5 Pro­zent davon mit einer Umsatz­rea­li­sie­rung im lau­fen­den Geschäfts­jahr zu rech­nen ist. Die­ser Wert betrug Ende 2019 berei­nigt nur 68,0 Prozent.

Gute Bilanz­qua­li­tät und hoher Free Cashflow

Jen­op­tik ver­fügt trotz der deut­lich gestie­ge­nen Aus­ga­ben für exter­nes Wachs­tum über eine unver­än­dert hohe Bilanz­qua­li­tät. So lag die Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote zum Jah­res­ende 2020 bei 51,5 Pro­zent (31.12.2019: 60,5 Pro­zent). Die Net­to­ver­schul­dung stieg auf­grund der Akqui­si­tio­nen zum 31. Dezem­ber 2020 auf 201,0 Mio Euro (31.12.2019: minus 9,1 Mio Euro). Der Kon­zern konnte 2020 trotz schwie­ri­ger Rah­men­be­din­gun­gen erneut einen deut­lich posi­ti­ven Free Cash­flow von 62,3 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 77,2 Mio Euro) gene­rie­ren. Ohne Berück­sich­ti­gung der zah­lungs­wirk­sa­men Effekte aus den Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men lag der adjus­tierte Free Cash­flow bei 67,2 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 79,3 Mio Euro).

Deut­lich höhere Divi­dende von 0,25 Euro je Aktie vorgeschlagen

Ange­sichts der soli­den Bilanz­re­la­tio­nen und der kom­for­ta­blen Liqui­di­täts­si­tua­tion schla­gen Vor­stand und Auf­sichts­rat der JENOPTIK AG den Aktio­nä­ren auf der erneut vir­tu­el­len Haupt­ver­samm­lung am 9. Juni 2021 die Aus­schüt­tung einer Divi­dende von 0,25 Euro vor und damit deut­lich mehr als im Vor­jahr mit 0,13 Euro. Mit die­ser Emp­feh­lung set­zen die Jen­op­tik-Gre­mien die kon­ti­nu­ier­li­che Divi­den­den­po­li­tik fort. Die Aktio­näre der JENOPTIK AG sol­len ange­mes­sen am Unter­neh­mens­er­folg betei­ligt wer­den, unge­ach­tet der Aus­wir­kun­gen der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie, der Akqui­si­tion von zwei Unter­neh­men und der Investitionen.

„Auf­grund unse­rer guten Bilanz­qua­li­tät und der Fähig­keit, nach­hal­tig hohe Free Cash­flows zu gene­rie­ren, kön­nen wir unser zukünf­tig geplan­tes Wachs­tum sehr gut finan­zie­ren. Dank der guten Repu­ta­tion und eines ver­stärk­ten Bekennt­nis­ses zu mehr Nach­hal­tig­keit konn­ten wir kürz­lich auch unser ers­tes Schuld­schein­dar­le­hen mit ‚grü­ner Kom­po­nente‘ erfolg­reich plat­zie­ren. Hier­bei haben wir 400 Mio Euro zu güns­ti­gen Zins-Kon­di­tio­nen auf­ge­nom­men. Das schafft uns Hand­lungs­spiel­raum für Akqui­si­tio­nen und Inves­ti­tio­nen im pho­to­ni­schen Kern­ge­schäft und bestä­tigt die Rich­tig­keit unse­rer soli­den Finan­zie­rungs­stra­te­gie“, ergänzt Finanz­vor­stand Hans-Die­ter Schumacher.

Ent­wick­lung der Divisionen

Trotz einer anhal­tend guten Nach­frage aus der Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­in­dus­trie nahm der Umsatz der Divi­sion Light & Optics von berei­nigt 331,8 Mio Euro auf 318,0 Mio Euro ab. Aus­schlag­ge­bend hier­für war die Corona-bedingte Inves­ti­ti­ons­zu­rück­hal­tung aus den Berei­chen Bio­pho­to­nics und Indus­trial Solu­ti­ons. TRIOPTICS trug Umsätze in Höhe von 27,8 Mio Euro bei. Beim Ergeb­nis pro­fi­tierte Light & Optics von einem guten Pro­dukt­mix und dem stär­ke­ren Wachs­tum bei höher­mar­gi­gen Pro­duk­ten. Das adjus­tierte EBITDA legte daher trotz nega­ti­ver PPA-Effekte von 4,6 Mio Euro von 71,7 Mio Euro im Vor­jahr auf 72,7 Mio Euro im Geschäfts­jahr 2020 zu. TRIOPTICS steu­erte 4,3 Mio Euro Ergeb­nis bei. Ent­spre­chend wurde die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge vom bereits hohen Niveau des Vor­jahrs von 21,5 Pro­zent auf 22,8 Pro­zent ver­bes­sert. Hoff­nung auf eine anhal­tend gute Ent­wick­lung im Jahr 2021 macht der um 34,8 Mio Euro auf 339,5 Mio Euro deut­lich ver­bes­serte Auf­trags­ein­gang (i.Vj. berei­nigt 304,7 Mio Euro), zu dem vor allem die hohe Nach­frage im Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­be­reich und TRIOPTICS bei­tru­gen. Auch der Auf­trags­be­stand stieg signi­fi­kant von berei­nigt 143,5 Mio Euro auf 178,0 Mio Euro.

Der Umsatz der Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion wurde 2020 stark durch COVID-19 und die Inves­ti­ti­ons­zu­rück­hal­tung in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie geprägt und lag ent­spre­chend mit 178,9 Mio Euro spür­bar unter dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 228,9 Mio Euro. Trotz deut­lich gerin­ge­rer Umsatz­kos­ten sank das adjus­tierte EBITDA der Divi­sion von 25,8 Mio Euro auf 15,8 Mio Euro. Die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge lag 2020 bei 8,8 Pro­zent nach 11,3 Pro­zent im Vor­jahr. Das Manage­ment hat umfang­rei­che Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men in Höhe von 7,9 Mio Euro initi­iert, die bereits posi­tive Aus­wir­kun­gen zeig­ten und bis 2022 ihre volle Wir­kung ent­fal­ten wer­den. Auf­grund von Ver­schie­bun­gen und einer grö­ße­ren Stor­nie­rung lag auch der Auf­trags­ein­gang 2020 mit 157,8 Mio Euro deut­lich unter Vor­jahr (i.Vj. 199,3 Mio Euro). Den­noch gelang es, einen zukunfts­wei­sen­den Groß­auf­trag des spa­ni­schen Zulie­fe­rers Gestamp im Bereich Auto­ma­ti­sie­rung zu erhal­ten. Darin ent­hal­ten sind Auf­träge von INTEROB in Höhe von rund 20,4 Mio Euro.

Die Divi­sion Light & Safety konnte unter Beweis stel­len, dass sie auch in schwie­ri­gem Umfeld in der Lage ist, wei­ter pro­fi­ta­bel zu wach­sen. So führte das sta­bile Inves­ti­ti­ons­ver­hal­ten der Kun­den im öffent­li­chen Sek­tor zu einem Umsatz­plus von 4,9 Pro­zent auf 114,0 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 108,7 Mio Euro). Dank eines star­ken Schluss­quar­tals wurde das EBITDA über­pro­por­tio­nal um mehr als ein Fünf­tel auf adjus­tierte 22,7 Mio Euro ver­bes­sert. Die EBITDA-Marge klet­terte ent­spre­chend spür­bar auf adjus­tiert 19,9 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 17,3 Pro­zent). Posi­tiv her­vor­zu­he­ben war 2020 auch die signi­fi­kante Ver­bes­se­rung des Free Cash­flows von 11,3 Mio Euro auf adjus­tiert 21,8 Mio Euro, unter ande­rem dank der genann­ten Ergeb­nis­ver­bes­se­rung und eines effi­zi­en­ten Forderungsmanagements.

Der Geschäfts­ver­lauf bei VINCORION war geprägt von einer unver­än­dert guten Nach­frage im Bereich Power Sys­tems, aber erheb­li­chen Belas­tun­gen in den Berei­chen Avia­tion und Energy & Drive. Ent­spre­chend ging der Umsatz der VINCORION um 7,9 Pro­zent auf 151,7 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 164,8 Mio Euro) zurück. Das Umsatz­mi­nus und ein mar­gen­schwä­che­rer Pro­dukt­mix führ­ten zu einem Rück­gang des adjus­tier­ten EBITDA von 24,2 Mio Euro auf 20,6 Mio Euro, bezie­hungs­weise bezo­gen auf die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge von 14,7 Pro­zent auf 13,6 Pro­zent. Auch hier konnte der Free Cash­flow sub­stan­zi­ell von 1,0 Mio Euro auf 9,8 Mio Euro gestei­gert wer­den. Dank der Lang­fris­tig­keit vie­ler Auf­träge lag der Auf­trags­be­stand mit 160,3 Mio Euro wei­ter auf hohem Niveau (31.12.2019: 169,7 Mio Euro).

Aus­blick für 2021: Deut­li­ches und pro­fi­ta­bles Wachs­tum erwartet

Auf Basis der guten Auf­trags­ein­gangs­ent­wick­lung im 4. Quar­tal 2020, einer gut gefüll­ten Pro­jekt­pipe­line sowie des anhal­tend viel­ver­spre­chen­den Ver­laufs im Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­ge­schäft geht der Vor­stand im lau­fen­den Geschäfts­jahr von wei­te­rem Wachs­tum aus. Neben dem orga­ni­schen Wachs­tum in den Divi­sio­nen wird auch die erst­ma­lig ganz­jäh­rig kon­so­li­dierte TRIOPTICS zur posi­ti­ven Ent­wick­lung beitragen.

Jen­op­tik erwar­tet 2021, inklu­sive TRIOPTICS, ein Umsatz­wachs­tum im nied­ri­gen zwei­stel­li­gen Pro­zent­be­reich (i.Vj. 767,2 Mio Euro). Beim EBITDA (Ergeb­nis vor Zin­sen, Steu­ern und Abschrei­bun­gen inkl. Wert­min­de­run­gen und Wert­auf­ho­lun­gen) rech­net der Kon­zern im lau­fen­den Geschäfts­jahr aktu­ell mit einem deut­li­chen Zuwachs (i.Vj. 111,6 Mio Euro). Die EBITDA-Marge soll zwi­schen 16,0 und 17,0 Pro­zent (i.Vj. nicht adjus­tiert 14,6 Pro­zent) liegen.

Auf­grund der Unsi­cher­heit durch den COVID-19-beding­ten Lock­down zu Jah­res­be­ginn und durch das Risiko einer drit­ten Welle der Pan­de­mie ist eine genauere Pro­gnose der­zeit nicht mög­lich. Es wird aber ange­strebt, die Pro­gnose im Jah­res­ver­lauf zu präzisieren.

Die Prä­sen­ta­tion zum Jah­res­ab­schluss 2020 und der Geschäfts­be­richt 2020 sind auf der Jen­op­tik-Web­site unter Investoren/Berichte und Prä­sen­ta­tio­nen ver­öf­fent­licht. Bild­ma­te­rial steht unter media.jenoptik.com zum Down­load zur Verfügung.

Über Jen­op­tik

Opti­sche Tech­no­lo­gien sind die Basis unse­res Geschäfts: Jen­op­tik ist ein glo­bal agie­ren­der Tech­no­lo­gie-Kon­zern und in den drei auf Pho­to­nik basie­ren­den Divi­sio­nen Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion und Light & Safety aktiv. Dar­über hin­aus bie­tet Jen­op­tik unter der Marke TRIOPTICS opti­sche Mess- und Fer­ti­gungs­sys­teme für die Qua­li­täts­kon­trolle von Lin­sen, Objek­ti­ven und Kame­ra­mo­du­len. Unter der Marke VINCORION ist das mecha­tro­ni­sche Geschäft zusam­men­ge­fasst. Zu unse­ren Schlüs­sel­märk­ten zäh­len vor allem die Halb­lei­ter­indus­trie, die Medi­zin­tech­nik, Auto­mo­tive und Maschi­nen­bau, Ver­kehr, Luft­fahrt sowie die Sicher­heits- und Wehr­tech­nik. Rund 4.500 Mit­ar­bei­ter arbei­ten bei Jen­op­tik welt­weit, Haupt­sitz des Kon­zerns ist Jena (Deutsch­land). Die JENOPTIK AG ist an der Deut­schen Börse in Frank­furt notiert und wird im SDax und TecDax geführt. Im Geschäfts­jahr 2020 erzielte Jen­op­tik einen Umsatz von rund 767 Mio Euro.

Kon­takt

Les­lie Iltgen
JENOPTIK AG
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons & Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2255
moc.kitponej@negtli.eilsel