News › JENOPTIK AG • sus­tai­ned good demand from the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try and the public sec­tor in first half-year

  • Group order intake down on prior year; order back­log slightly up
  • Adjus­ted reve­nue decre­a­sed by 11.9 per­cent to 329.0 mil­lion euros
  • Sharp impro­ve­ment in second-quar­ter pro­fi­ta­bi­lity (adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin up from 10.5% in Q1 to 15.6% in Q2)
  • Adjus­ted free cash flow up to 17.8 mil­lion euros
  • More pre­cise out­look for 2020: reve­nue of 770 to 790 mil­lion euros (without TRIOPTICS) expec­ted, with adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin of bet­ween 14.5 and 15.0 per­cent

 

From Janu­ary through early March busi­ness per­for­mance was in line with expec­ta­ti­ons, but clear impacts of the corona pan­de­mic and incre­a­sing uncer­tainty wit­hin the auto­mo­tive indus­try became appa­rent from late March on. These impacts impe­ded Jenoptik’s busi­ness per­for­mance in this sec­tor over the second quar­ter. Over­all, demand at group level decli­ned signi­fi­cantly in the six-month period, in part due to pro­ject post­po­ne­ments and can­cel­la­ti­ons. The order intake decre­a­sed to 333.9 mil­lion euros (prior year: adjus­ted 381.6 mil­lion euros). Due to the acqui­si­tion of INTEROB, the order back­log grew slightly to 478.0 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: adjus­ted 464.7 mil­lion euros).

The corona pan­de­mic had vary­ing effects on the deve­lo­p­ment of reve­nue of Jenoptik’s divi­si­ons. The pan­de­mic had little to no impact on busi­ness with public-sec­tor cus­to­mers and the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try, which actually pos­ted growth. By con­trast, the Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion was stron­gly affec­ted by deve­lo­p­ments in the auto­mo­tive indus­try. Over the first six mon­ths of 2020, the Jen­op­tik Group gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 329.0 mil­lion euros (prior year: adjus­ted 373.4 mil­lion euros). The Spa­nish com­pany INTEROB, acqui­red in Febru­ary 2020, con­tri­bu­ted 5.3 mil­lion euros to group reve­nue over the repor­ting period.

Mea­su­res taken to limit the impact of the COVID-19 pan­de­mic, such as short-time working, had a posi­tive effect on pro­fi­ta­bi­lity in the second quar­ter. Adjus­ted EBITDA rose appre­cia­bly from 17.3 mil­lion euros in the first quar­ter to 24.9 mil­lion euros in the second quar­ter. For the full repor­ting period, adjus­ted EBITDA fell to 42.2 mil­lion euros as a result of the drop in reve­nue, and was thus 22.3 per­cent down on the com­pa­ra­ble prior-year figure (prior year: 54.3 mil­lion euros). The adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin accord­in­gly fell to 12.8 per­cent (prior year: 14.5 per­cent). As we already infor­med, the figu­res include effects ari­sing from struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res amoun­ting to a total of minus 4.4 mil­lion euros (prior year: minus 0.3 mil­lion euros). The mea­su­res include effects of minus 0.8 mil­lion euros for rest­ruc­tu­ring and site opti­miz­a­tion, minus 2.4 mil­lion euros for cost-cut­ting pro­grams, and minus 1.1 mil­lion euros for M+A acti­vi­ties.

“After a solid start to the year, the second quar­ter has seen a wea­ker order situa­tion, as we expec­ted. Howe­ver, we are con­fi­dent of achie­ving impro­ved busi­ness per­for­mance in the second half-year,” says Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Pre­si­dent & CEO of JENOPTIK AG. “Key to this has been our com­pre­hen­sive and rapid response, with a bunch of mea­su­res, to the struc­tu­ral chal­len­ges we face, par­ti­cu­larly in the auto­mo­tive indus­try, and, of course, to the effects of the corona pan­de­mic.”

Robust cash and liqui­dity situa­tion crea­tes good basis for future busi­ness per­for­mance

In the first quar­ter, the Exe­cu­tive Board had deci­ded to take pre­cau­tio­nary action allowing it to react quickly to the situa­tion crea­ted by the corona pan­de­mic. In addi­tion to secu­ring the company’s liqui­dity and pro­fi­ta­bi­lity, mea­su­res were imple­men­ted to secure the ope­ra­ting busi­nes­ses, inclu­ding the sup­ply chain, and opti­mize the working capi­tal. As a result, the ope­ra­ting cash flow impro­ved to 26.7 mil­lion euros as of June 30, 2020 (prior year: minus 7.6 mil­lion euros), chiefly due to active working capi­tal manage­ment. As a result of the hig­her ope­ra­ting cash flow, the free cash flow also saw a strong incre­ase to 16.0 mil­lion euros (prior year: minus 14.6 mil­lion euros), des­pite an incre­ase in capi­tal expen­dit­ure over the repor­ting period. Adjus­ted for the cash impacts ari­sing from struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res, the free cash flow actually grew to 17.8 mil­lion euros.

In view of the cur­rent situa­tion, the Group is in a good posi­tion with short-term finan­cial resour­ces of 123.5 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: 168.7 mil­lion euros). Des­pite a slight reduc­tion in finan­cial debt, the acqui­si­tion of INTEROB and the repay­ment of a deben­ture loan resul­ted in net debt of 26.6 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: minus 9.1 mil­lion euros).

Deve­lo­p­ment of the divi­si­ons: impro­ved mar­gin in Light & Optics, posi­tive deve­lo­p­ment in Light & Safety, and sta­ble per­for­mance in VINCORION, los­ses as expec­ted in Light & Pro­duc­tion

In the first six mon­ths of 2020, the Light & Optics divi­sion gene­ra­ted 137.7 mil­lion euros of reve­nue, 10.0 per­cent down on the adjus­ted prior-year figure of 153.0 mil­lion euros. Des­pite the spread of the coro­na­vi­rus, busi­ness with the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try pro­ved to be very robust. By con­trast, the divi­sion repor­ted sharp decli­nes in its Bio­pho­to­nics and Indus­trial Solu­ti­ons units. EBITDA adjus­ted for the effects ari­sing from struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res fell at a lower rate than reve­nue, by 4.3 per­cent to 30.7 mil­lion euros (prior year: 32.0 mil­lion euros). The adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin con­se­quently impro­ved noti­ce­ably from 20.8 per­cent to 22.1 per­cent, thanks to active cost manage­ment. At the end of the first half-year of 2020, the divi­sion repor­ted an order intake worth 139.6 mil­lion euros (prior year: adjus­ted 142.1 mil­lion euros). At the end of June 2020, the order back­log remai­ned at a good level of 139.0 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: adjus­ted 143.5 mil­lion euros).

Reflec­ting the glo­bal slump in the auto­mo­tive indus­try, the Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion was most stron­gly affec­ted by the impacts of the corona cri­sis. In the first six mon­ths, the divi­sion pos­ted a reve­nue decline of 33.2 per­cent, to 74.3 mil­lion euros (prior year: 111.3 mil­lion euros). While the Auto­ma­tion & Inte­gra­tion unit remai­ned lar­gely sta­ble, in part due to the INTEROB acqui­si­tion, both Metro­logy and Laser Pro­ces­sing pos­ted signi­fi­cant reduc­tions. INTEROB con­tri­bu­ted reve­nue of 5.3 mil­lion euros over the repor­ting period. Nevertheless, sta­ble deve­lo­p­ment in the auto­ma­tion busi­ness was not suf­fi­ci­ent to off­set unde­ruti­liz­a­tion in the other units. Sharp were pri­ma­rily due to weak busi­ness in Asia, but also pro­ject post­po­ne­ments and the tem­porary clo­sure of two Jen­op­tik plants decli­nes in the divi­sion. To coun­ter these deve­lo­p­ments, struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio adjus­t­ment pro­jects were initia­ted at the begin­ning of the year, tog­e­ther with mea­su­res to reduce the impact of the COVID-19 pan­de­mic. The division’s EBITDA, adjus­ted for the impacts ari­sing from the struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res, came to minus 3.4 mil­lion euros in the repor­ting period (prior year: 11.9 mil­lion euros). Due to the can­cel­la­tion of a major order and a num­ber of post­po­ned pro­jects, the order intake in Light & Pro­duc­tion fell to 65.0 mil­lion euros (prior year: 113.0 mil­lion euros). Inclu­ding the INTEROB orders, worth 13.9 mil­lion euros, the division’s order back­log of 90.6 mil­lion euros at the end of the repor­ting period was, howe­ver, up on the figure at year-end 2019 (31/12/2019: 81.6 mil­lion euros).

Des­pite the spread of the coro­na­vi­rus, sta­ble capi­tal spen­ding pat­terns by public-sec­tor cus­to­mers hel­ped the Light & Safety divi­sion to achieve very good busi­ness per­for­mance in the first half-year of 2020. Reve­nue rose by 15.1 per­cent to 55.7 mil­lion euros (prior year: 48.4 mil­lion euros). As a result of good busi­ness per­for­mance, the divi­sion also mana­ged to signi­fi­cantly improve its ope­ra­ting results. Adjus­ted EBITDA incre­a­sed to 10.9 mil­lion euros in the period cove­red by the report (prior year: 6.6 mil­lion euros). The adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin accord­in­gly incre­a­sed appre­cia­bly to 19.6 per­cent (prior year: 13.5 per­cent). The order intake is sub­ject to typi­cal fluc­tua­tions and, for pro­ject-rela­ted rea­sons, fell to 41.9 mil­lion euros in the first six mon­ths of 2020 (prior year: 50.6 mil­lion euros). The order back­log grew 22.6 per­cent to 54.1 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: 69.9 mil­lion euros).

Over the first six mon­ths of the year, VINCORION gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 58.8 mil­lion euros, ther­eby almost reaching the prior-year figure (prior year: 59.1 mil­lion euros). This posi­tive busi­ness per­for­mance was pri­ma­rily due to strong demand in the Power Sys­tems unit, mainly for power gene­ra­tors and com­pon­ents for energy sys­tems. Due to reve­nue mix effects, the ope­ra­ting result was slightly down. Over the repor­ting period, EBITDA came to 4.1 mil­lion euros, down on the prior-year figure of 4.5 mil­lion euros. The EBITDA mar­gin fell from 7.6 per­cent to a pre­sent 7.0 per­cent. At 84.3 mil­lion euros, the order intake in the period cove­red by the report was shar­ply up on the prior-year figure of 73.8 mil­lion euros. In light of good demand, VINCORION’s order back­log also grew in value, by 23.9 mil­lion euros to 193.6 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: 169.7 mil­lion euros), and was thus stron­gly up on all the quar­ters in the prior year.

JENOPTIK AG spe­ci­fies reve­nue and mar­gin tar­gets for 2020

Sup­por­ted by the actions taken to limit the impacts of COVID-19 and in view of an expec­ted stron­ger second half-year, the Exe­cu­tive Board fore­casts reve­nue of 770 to 790 mil­lion euros for the full year 2020 (not inclu­ding the impacts ari­sing from the expec­ted acqui­si­tion of TRIOPTICS GmbH). Adjus­ted for the effects ari­sing from the initia­ted struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res, the EBITDA mar­gin is expec­ted to be bet­ween 14.5 and 15.0 per­cent. “To ensure a stron­ger second half-year, we expect to see signs of reco­very in the eco­nomy and no fur­ther corona wave. The struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res that we have initia­ted will help Jen­op­tik to acce­le­rate growth and improve pro­fi­ta­bi­lity star­ting next year at the latest. To ensure full trans­pa­rency, we are repor­ting the asso­cia­ted effects sepa­r­ately in this fis­cal year,” says Tra­e­ger.

The half-year report is avail­able in the “Investors/Reports and Pre­sen­ta­ti­ons” sec­tion of the Jen­op­tik web­site (www.jenoptik.com). The “Jen­op­tik app” can be used to view the report on mobile devices run­ning iOS or Android. Images for down­load can be found in the Jen­op­tik image data­base at media.jenoptik.com.

*Figu­res without note are not adjus­ted

About Jen­op­tik

Jen­op­tik is a glo­bally ope­ra­ting tech­no­logy group, which is active in the three pho­to­nics-based divi­si­ons Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion and Light & Safety as well as with VINCORION for mecha­tro­nics solu­ti­ons. Opti­cal tech­no­lo­gies are the very basis of our busi­ness with the majo­rity of our pro­ducts and ser­vices being pro­vi­ded to the pho­to­nics mar­ket. Our key tar­get mar­kets pri­ma­rily include the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try, the medi­cal tech­no­logy, auto­mo­tive and mecha­ni­cal engi­nee­ring, traf­fic, avia­tion as well as the secu­rity and defense tech­no­logy indus­tries. Jen­op­tik is lis­ted on the Frank­furt Stock Exchange, has more than 4,100 employees and gene­ra­ted reve­nue of approx. 855 mil­lion euros in 2019.

Con­tact

Tho­mas Frit­sche
JENOPTIK AG
Head of Inves­tor Rela­ti­ons
+49 3641 65–2291
moc.kitponej@ehcstirf.samoht

 

Sabine Bar­ne­kow
JENOPTIK AG
Inves­tor Rela­ti­ons
+49 3641 65–2156
moc.kitponej@wokenrab.enibas

Aktuelles › JENOPTIK AG • Gute Nach­frage aus Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­in­dus­trie und der öffent­li­chen Hand im 1. Halb­jahr

  • Auf­trags­ein­gang im Kon­zern unter Vor­jahr, Auf­trags­be­stand legt leicht zu
  • Umsatz ging berei­nigt um 11,9 Pro­zent auf 329,0 Mio Euro zurück
  • Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät im 2. Quar­tal deut­lich ver­bes­sert (adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge steigt von 10,5% in Q1 auf 15,6% in Q2
  • Adjus­tier­ter Free Cash­flow klet­terte auf 17,8 Mio Euro
  • Aus­blick 2020 kon­kre­ti­siert: Umsatz wird (ohne TRIOPTICS) zwi­schen 770- 790 Mio Euro und adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge zwi­schen 14,5 und 15,0 Pro­zent erwar­tet

 

Nach­dem das ope­ra­tive Geschäft von Januar bis Anfang März wie erwar­tet ver­lief, sind seit Ende März deut­li­che Aus­wir­kun­gen der Corona-Pan­de­mie und die wei­ter zuneh­mende Ver­un­si­che­rung in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie spür­bar, die im 2. Quar­tal den Geschäfts­ver­lauf von Jen­op­tik in die­sem Bereich erschwert haben. Ins­ge­samt ent­wi­ckelte sich die Nach­frage auf Kon­zern­ebene im Sechs-Monats-Zeit­raum unter ande­rem auf­grund von Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen und Stor­nie­run­gen deut­lich rück­läu­fig. So ver­rin­gerte sich der Auf­trags­ein­gang auf 333,9 Mio Euro (i.Vj. berei­nigt 381,6 Mio Euro). Der Auf­trags­be­stand legte durch die Akqui­si­tion von INTEROB leicht auf 478,0 Mio Euro zu (31.12.2019: berei­nigt 464,7 Mio Euro).

Bezo­gen auf die Divi­sio­nen hatte die Corona-Pan­de­mie unter­schied­li­che Aus­wir­kun­gen auf den Umsatz­ver­lauf bei Jen­op­tik. Die Geschäfte mit öffent­li­chen Auf­trag­ge­bern sowie mit der Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­in­dus­trie waren nicht bzw. kaum von der Pan­de­mie betrof­fen und ver­zeich­ne­ten sogar Zuwächse. Die Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion wurde dage­gen durch die Ent­wick­lung in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie stark beein­flusst. Der Jen­op­tik-Kon­zern rea­li­sierte in den ers­ten sechs Mona­ten 2020 einen Umsatz in Höhe von 329,0 Mio Euro (i.Vj. berei­nigt 373,4 Mio Euro). Das im Februar 2020 erwor­bene spa­ni­sche Unter­neh­men INTEROB steu­erte im Berichts­zeit­raum 5,3 Mio Euro zum Kon­zern­um­satz bei.

Die Maß­nah­men, die ein­ge­lei­tet wur­den, um die Aus­wir­kun­gen der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie zu begren­zen, wie unter ande­rem die Nut­zung von Kurz­ar­beit, hat­ten einen posi­ti­ven Ein­fluss auf die Ent­wick­lung der Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät im 2. Quar­tal. Das adjus­tierte EBITDA legte von 17,3 Mio Euro im 1. Quar­tal deut­lich auf 24,9 Mio Euro im 2. Quar­tal zu. Im gesam­ten Berichts­zeit­raum redu­zierte sich das adjus­tierte EBITDA bedingt durch den Umsatz­rück­gang auf 42,2 Mio Euro und lag damit 22,3 Pro­zent unter dem ver­gleich­ba­ren Vor­jah­res­wert (i.Vj. 54,3 Mio Euro). Die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge sank folg­lich auf 12,8 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 14,5 Pro­zent). Hierin berück­sich­tigt sind wie avi­siert Effekte aus Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men von ins­ge­samt minus 4,4 Mio Euro (i.Vj. minus 0,3 Mio Euro). Die Maß­nah­men umfas­sen Effekte von minus 0,8 Mio Euro für Restruk­tu­rie­rung und Stand­ort­op­ti­mie­rung, minus 2,4 Mio Euro für Kos­ten­sen­kungs­pro­gramme sowie minus 1,1 Mio Euro für M+A‑Aktivitäten.

„Nach einem soli­dem Start zu Jah­res­be­ginn ist das 2. Quar­tal auf­trags­sei­tig erwar­tungs­ge­mäß schwä­cher ver­lau­fen, wir sind jedoch opti­mis­tisch, was unsere Geschäfts­ent­wick­lung im 2. Halb­jahr angeht“, erklärt Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Vor­stands­vor­sit­zen­der der JENOPTIK AG. „Aus­schlag­ge­bend hier­für ist auch, dass wir umfas­send und schnell auf die struk­tu­rel­len Her­aus­for­de­run­gen ins­be­son­dere in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie und auch auf die Aus­wir­kun­gen der Corona-Pan­de­mie mit einem Bün­del an Maß­nah­men reagiert haben.“

Solide Cash- und Liqui­di­täts­si­tua­tion schafft gute Basis für wei­te­ren Geschäfts­ver­lauf

Der Vor­stand hatte bereits im 1. Quar­tal vor­sorg­lich Maß­nah­men beschlos­sen, um schnell auf die durch die Corona-Pan­de­mie ent­stan­dene Situa­tion zu reagie­ren. Neben der Siche­rung von Liqui­di­tät und Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät wur­den auch Maß­nah­men ergrif­fen, um die ope­ra­ti­ven Geschäfte inklu­sive Lie­fer­kette zu sichern und das Working Capi­tal zu opti­mie­ren. So konnte der ope­ra­tive Cash­flow zum 30. Juni 2020 deut­lich auf 26,7 Mio Euro gestei­gert wer­den (i.Vj. minus 7,6 Mio Euro). Dies war im Wesent­li­chen auf ein akti­ves Working-Capi­tal-Manage­ment zurück­zu­füh­ren. Auf­grund des höhe­ren ope­ra­ti­ven Cash­flows legte auch der Free Cash­flow trotz gestie­ge­ner Inves­ti­tio­nen im Berichts­zeit­raum deut­lich auf 16,0 Mio Euro zu (i.Vj. minus 14,6 Mio Euro). Adjus­tiert um die zah­lungs­wirk­sa­men Effekte aus Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men stieg der Free Cash­flow sogar auf 17,8 Mio Euro.

In Anbe­tracht der aktu­el­len Rah­men­be­din­gun­gen sieht sich der Kon­zern mit einem Bestand an kurz­fris­tig ver­füg­ba­ren Finanz­mit­teln in Höhe von 123,5 Mio Euro wei­ter­hin kom­for­ta­bel auf­ge­stellt (31.12.2019: 168,7 Mio Euro). Die Akqui­si­tion von INTEROB und die Rück­zah­lung eines Schuld­schein­dar­le­hens führ­ten trotz leicht gesun­ke­ner Finanz­ver­bind­lich­kei­ten zu einer Net­to­ver­schul­dung von 26,6 Mio Euro (31.12.2019: minus 9,1 Mio Euro).

Ent­wick­lung der Divi­sio­nen: Mar­gen­ver­bes­se­rung bei Light & Optics, gute Ent­wick­lung bei Light & Safety und sta­bi­ler Ver­lauf bei VINCORION, Ein­bu­ßen bei Light & Pro­duc­tion wie erwar­tet

In den ers­ten sechs Mona­ten 2020 erzielte die Divi­sion Light & Optics mit 137,7 Mio Euro einen Umsatz, der 10,0 Pro­zent unter dem berei­nig­ten Vor­jah­res­ni­veau von 153,0 Mio Euro lag. Das Geschäft mit der Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­in­dus­trie erwies sich dabei trotz der Aus­brei­tung von Corona wei­ter­hin als sehr robust. Dage­gen ver­zeich­nete die Divi­sion in den Berei­chen Bio­pho­to­nik sowie Indus­trial Solu­ti­ons deut­li­che Rück­gänge. Das um die Effekte aus Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men adjus­tierte EBITDA sank im Ver­gleich zum Vor­jahr unter­pro­por­tio­nal zum Umsatz um 4,3 Pro­zent auf 30,7 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 32,0 Mio Euro). Die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge ver­bes­serte sich folg­lich dank eines akti­ven Kos­ten­ma­nage­ments von 20,8 Pro­zent spür­bar auf 22,1 Pro­zent. Bis zum Ende des 1. Halb­jah­res 2020 ver­zeich­nete die Divi­sion Auf­trags­ein­gänge in Höhe von 139,6 Mio Euro (i.Vj. berei­nigt 142,1 Mio Euro). Der Auf­trags­be­stand lag Ende Juni 2020 mit 139,0 Mio Euro wei­ter­hin auf einem guten Niveau (31.12.2019: berei­nigt 143,5 Mio Euro).

Die Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion war auf­grund der glo­ba­len Schwä­che der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie am stärks­ten von den Aus­wir­kun­gen der Corona-Krise betrof­fen. Der Umsatz der Divi­sion fiel daher in den ers­ten sechs Mona­ten deut­lich um 33,2 Pro­zent auf 74,3 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 111,3 Mio Euro). Wäh­rend sich der Bereich Auto­ma­tion & Inte­gra­tion unter ande­rem auf­grund der Akqui­si­tion von INTEROB nahezu sta­bil ent­wi­ckelte, ver­zeich­ne­ten die Geschäfts­fel­der Metro­logy und Laser Pro­ces­sing erheb­li­che Rück­gänge. INTEROB steu­erte im Berichts­zeit­raum einen Umsatz von 5,3 Mio Euro bei. Den­noch reichte die sta­bile Ent­wick­lung im Auto­ma­ti­sie­rungs­ge­schäft nicht aus, um die Unter­aus­las­tung in den ande­ren Berei­chen aus­zu­glei­chen. Vor allem das schwa­che Asi­en­ge­schäft sowie Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen und die vor­über­ge­hende Schlie­ßung zweier Jen­op­tik-Werke in der Divi­sion führ­ten zu deut­li­chen Rück­gän­gen. Um den Ent­wick­lun­gen ent­ge­gen­zu­wir­ken, wur­den bereits zu Beginn des Jah­res Pro­jekte zur Struk­tur- und Port­fo­li­o­an­pas­sung initi­iert und Maß­nah­men zur Ein­däm­mung der Aus­wir­kun­gen der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie ergrif­fen. Das um die Effekte aus den Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men adjus­tierte EBITDA der Divi­sion belief sich im Berichts­zeit­raum auf minus 3,4 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 11,9 Mio Euro). Der Auf­trags­ein­gang von Light & Pro­duc­tion fiel auf­grund einer grö­ße­ren Auf­trags­stor­nie­rung sowie eini­gen Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen auf 65,0 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 113,0 Mio Euro). Inklu­sive der von INTEROB über­nom­me­nen Auf­träge in Höhe von 13,9 Mio Euro lag der Auf­trags­be­stand der Divi­sion zum Ende des Berichts­zeit­raums mit 90,6 Mio Euro jedoch über dem Niveau vom Jah­res­ende (31.12.2019: 81,6 Mio Euro).

Das sta­bile Inves­ti­ti­ons­ver­hal­ten der Kun­den aus dem öffent­li­chen Sek­tor bescherte der Divi­sion Light & Safety im 1. Halb­jahr 2020 trotz der Corona-Aus­brei­tung eine ins­ge­samt sehr posi­tive Geschäfts­ent­wick­lung. Die Umsätze stie­gen um 15,1 Pro­zent auf 55,7 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 48,4 Mio Euro). Die Divi­sion konnte im Zuge der guten Geschäfts­ent­wick­lung auch ihre ope­ra­ti­ven Ergeb­nisse deut­lich ver­bes­sern. Das adjus­tierte EBITDA stieg im Berichts­zeit­raum auf 10,9 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 6,6 Mio Euro). Die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge ver­bes­serte sich folg­lich spür­bar auf 19,6 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 13,5 Pro­zent). Der Auf­trags­ein­gang unter­liegt typi­schen Schwan­kun­gen und redu­zierte sich pro­jekt­be­dingt in den ers­ten sechs Mona­ten 2020 auf 41,9 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 50,6 Mio Euro). Der Auf­trags­be­stand nahm um 22,6 Pro­zent auf 54,1 Mio Euro ab (31.12.2019: 69,9 Mio Euro).

VINCORION erwirt­schaf­tete in den ers­ten sechs Mona­ten des Jah­res Umsätze in Höhe von 58,8 Mio Euro. Damit lagen die Umsatz­er­löse fast auf Vor­jah­res­ni­veau (i.Vj. 59,1 Mio Euro). Zurück­zu­füh­ren war der posi­tive Geschäfts­ver­lauf vor allem auf eine gute Nach­frage im Bereich Power Sys­tems unter ande­rem nach Strom­ge­ne­ra­to­ren und Kom­po­nen­ten für Ener­gie­sys­teme. Auf­grund von Mix­ef­fek­ten im Umsatz redu­zierte sich das ope­ra­tive Ergeb­nis leicht. Das EBITDA betrug im Berichts­zeit­raum 4,1 Mio Euro nach 4,5 Mio Euro im Vor­jahr. Die EBITDA-Marge ver­rin­gerte sich von 7,6 Pro­zent auf aktu­ell 7,0 Pro­zent. Der Auf­trags­ein­gang der Berichts­pe­ri­ode über­traf mit 84,3 Mio Euro deut­lich das Vor­jah­res­ni­veau von 73,8 Mio Euro. Infolge der guten Nach­frage erhöhte sich auch der Auf­trags­be­stand von VINCORION um 23,9 Mio Euro auf 193,6 Mio Euro (31.12.2019: 169,7 Mio Euro) und lag damit deut­lich höher als in allen Quar­ta­len des Vor­jah­res.

JENOPTIK AG kon­kre­ti­siert Umsatz­aus­blick und Mar­gen­ziel für 2020

Unter­stützt durch die ergrif­fe­nen Maß­nah­men zur Ein­däm­mung der COVID-19-Aus­wir­kun­gen und in Anbe­tracht eines erwar­te­ten stär­ke­ren 2. Halb­jah­res geht der Vor­stand für das Gesamt­jahr 2020 davon aus, einen Umsatz von 770 bis 790 Mio Euro zu erzie­len (ohne Berück­sich­ti­gung der Effekte aus dem erwar­te­ten Erwerb der TRIOPTICS GmbH). Die um Effekte aus den initi­ier­ten Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge soll in einer Spanne von 14,5 bis 15,0 Pro­zent lie­gen. „Als Vor­aus­set­zung für ein stär­ke­res 2. Halb­jahr erwar­ten wir zumin­dest leichte Erho­lungs­ten­den­zen in der Wirt­schaft und ein Aus­blei­ben einer wei­te­ren Corona-Welle. Unsere ein­ge­lei­te­ten Maß­nah­men zur Struk­tur- und Port­fo­li­o­an­pas­sung sol­len, spä­tes­tens ab dem nächs­ten Jahr, zu einer Beschleu­ni­gung des Wachs­tums und einer Ver­bes­se­rung der Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät von Jen­op­tik bei­tra­gen. Die damit ver­bun­de­nen Effekte wei­sen wir in die­sem Geschäfts­jahr aus Trans­pa­renz­grün­den sepa­rat aus“, erklärt Tra­e­ger wei­ter.

Der Halb­jah­res­be­richt steht auf der Jen­op­tik-Web­seite unter „Investoren/Berichte und Prä­sen­ta­tio­nen“ zur Ver­fü­gung. Die „Jen­op­tik App“ ermög­licht die Ansicht des Zwi­schen­be­richts auf Mobil­ge­rä­ten mit iOS- und Android-Betriebs­sys­te­men. Bil­der zum Down­load fin­den Sie in der Jen­op­tik Bild­da­ten­bank unter media.jenoptik.com.

*Zah­len ohne Ver­merk sind weder adjus­tiert noch berei­nigt

Über Jen­op­tik

Als glo­bal agie­ren­der Tech­no­lo­gie-Kon­zern ist Jen­op­tik mit den drei pho­to­ni­schen Divi­sio­nen Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion und Light & Safety im Markt tätig sowie mit der Marke VINCORION für mecha­tro­ni­sche Lösun­gen. Opti­sche Tech­no­lo­gien sind die Basis unse­res Geschäfts: Mit dem über­wie­gen­den Teil unse­res Pro­dukt- und Leis­tungs­spek­trums sind wir in der Pho­to­nik tätig. Zu unse­ren Schlüs­sel­märk­ten zäh­len vor allem die Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tung, Medi­zin­tech­nik, Auto­mo­tive und Maschi­nen­bau, Ver­kehr, Luft­fahrt sowie die Sicher­heits- und Wehr­tech­nik. Jen­op­tik ist an der Frank­fur­ter Wert­pa­pier­börse notiert, beschäf­tigt über 4.100 Mit­ar­bei­ter welt­weit und erzielte im Geschäfts­jahr 2019 einen Umsatz von rund 855 Mio Euro.

Kon­takt

Tho­mas Frit­sche
JENOPTIK AG
Lei­ter Inves­tor Rela­ti­ons
+49 3641 65–2291
moc.kitponej@ehcstirf.samoht

Sabine Bar­ne­kow
JENOPTIK AG
Inves­tor Rela­ti­ons
+49 3641 65–2156
moc.kitponej@wokenrab.enibas