News › JENOPTIK • Good start into 2021

Jen­op­tik with good start to 2021 – signi­fi­cant pick-up in order intake – full-year tar­gets confirmed

  • Reve­nue up by appro­xi­mately 7 per­cent in Q1 2021, to 176.0 mil­lion euros
  • EBITDA grew signi­fi­cantly by appro­xi­mately 47 per­cent to 20.0 mil­lion euros
  • Gro­wing demand in pho­to­nics divi­si­ons – Group order intake up by around 27 per­cent to 268.3 mil­lion euros – order back­log at 561.3 mil­lion euros
  • Out­look for full year 2021 con­fir­med: reve­nue growth in low dou­ble-digit per­cen­tage range and EBITDA mar­gin of 16.0 –17.0 per­cent expected

“The Jen­op­tik Group had a good start to 2021. We see clear signs of incre­a­sing demand par­ti­cu­larly in our pho­to­nics divi­si­ons. In view of our well-fil­led order books, impro­ved cost effi­ci­ency, and the con­tri­bu­ti­ons from the com­pa­nies we acqui­red in fis­cal year 2020, we are well on track to achieve our annual tar­gets for 2021,” says Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Pre­si­dent & CEO of JENOPTIK AG.

Jen­op­tik pos­ted a 26.8 per­cent incre­ase in its order intake, to 268.3 mil­lion euros (prior year: 211.7 mil­lion euros). All three pho­to­nics divi­si­ons – Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion, and Light & Safety – pos­ted signi­fi­cantly more orders, while the order intake of VINCORION decli­ned. The Group’s book-to-bill ratio incre­a­sed sub­stan­ti­ally, from 1.29 to 1.52. The order back­log was up 22.0 per­cent to 561.3 mil­lion euros (31/12/2020: 460.1 mil­lion euros).

In terms of quar­terly reve­nue, orga­nic growth and the con­tri­bu­tion made by TRIOPTICS allo­wed the Light & Optics divi­sion to more than off­set the still appre­cia­ble impacts of the coro­na­vi­rus pan­de­mic in the Light & Pro­duc­tion and VINCORION divi­si­ons, as well as lower reve­nue in the Light & Safety divi­sion due to its pro­ject-dri­ven busi­ness and delays in deli­very of elec­tro­nic com­pon­ents. In what is tra­di­tio­nally the sea­so­nally wea­kest quar­ter, Jen­op­tik gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 176.0 mil­lion euros, 7.0 per­cent up on the prior-year figure of 164.4 mil­lion euros.

On a regio­nal level, Asia/Pacific was the pri­mary bene­fi­ciary of the TRIOPTICS acqui­si­tion. Hig­her reve­nues were also achie­ved in Europe, while they decli­ned in the Ame­ri­cas and the Middle East/Africa. The share of reve­nue gene­ra­ted abroad was broadly unch­an­ged at 74.0 per­cent (prior year: 74.2 percent).

Pro­fi­ta­bi­lity impro­ved signi­fi­cantly over the repor­ting period. EBITDA rose by 47.1 per­cent, from 13.6 mil­lion euros to 20.0 mil­lion euros. Posi­tive impacts from the struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res put in place in 2020 also con­tri­bu­ted to this rise. In the prior year, EBITDA inclu­ded costs for struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res amoun­ting to 3.7 mil­lion euros. The EBITDA mar­gin incre­a­sed signi­fi­cantly, from 8.3 per­cent in the prior-year quar­ter to a pre­sent 11.4 per­cent. Income from ope­ra­ti­ons (EBIT) of 6.1 mil­lion euros in the first three mon­ths of 2021 was also sub­stan­ti­ally hig­her than the prior-year figure of 2.5 mil­lion euros. The EBIT mar­gin was 3.4 per­cent (prior year: 1.5 per­cent). The EBIT inclu­ded PPA of minus 5.5 mil­lion euros as a result of acqui­si­ti­ons in prior years (prior year: minus 1.7 mil­lion euros). Group ear­nings after tax grew from minus 0.4 mil­lion euros to 3.8 mil­lion euros.

Very good finan­cial and balance sheet posi­tion for future growth

At 23.2 mil­lion euros, cash flows from ope­ra­ting acti­vi­ties were slightly down on the prior-year figure of 26.4 mil­lion euros due to lower posi­tive impacts from chan­ges in working capi­tal and other assets and lia­bi­li­ties. Nevertheless, lower over­all expen­dit­ure for and pro­ceeds from inves­ting acti­vi­ties led to an incre­ase in the free cash flow from 14.4 mil­lion euros to 15.7 mil­lion euros.

“Jen­op­tik is very well pre­pa­red for future inter­nal and exter­nal growth, and not just thanks to its abi­lity to gene­rate robust free cash flows. In March 2021, we pla­ced on the mar­ket deben­ture bonds with sus­taina­bi­lity com­pon­ents worth 400 mil­lion euros at attrac­tive terms, of which 130 mil­lion euros were dis­bur­sed in March, to be fol­lo­wed by 270 mil­lion euros in the second half of the year. This will help to fur­ther improve our finan­cial power,” says Hans-Die­ter Schu­ma­cher, Chief Finan­cial Offi­cer of JENOPTIK AG.

The pay­ment resul­ted in cash and cash equi­va­lents incre­a­sing in value from 63.4 mil­lion euros at year-end 2020 to 203.9 mil­lion euros on March 31, 2021. Net debt fell to 189.4 mil­lion euros, com­pa­red with 201.0 mil­lion euros at the end of 2020. As of March 31, 2021, the equity ratio of 47.3 per­cent was down on the figure of 51.5 per­cent as of Decem­ber 31, 2020, due to a sharp rise in total assets.

Demand picking up in Jenoptik’s pho­to­nics divisions

Light & Optics bene­fi­ted from dyna­mic demand in the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment busi­ness – order intake increased

Over the first three mon­ths, the Light & Optics divi­sion bene­fi­ted from dyna­mic growth in the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment busi­ness, and from rising reve­nues in Bio­pho­to­nics and Indus­trial Solu­ti­ons. TRIOPTICS also gene­ra­ted a sub­stan­tial reve­nue con­tri­bu­tion. Reve­nue grew by 35.8 per­cent, from 69.3 mil­lion euros to 94.2 mil­lion euros. In terms of EBITDA, too, the divi­sion saw a strong incre­ase of 32.8 per­cent, to 19.3 mil­lion euros (prior year: 14.5 mil­lion euros), inclu­ding PPA of minus 1.8 mil­lion euros. At 20.4 per­cent, the EBITDA mar­gin was just down on the prior year’s 20.8 per­cent. In the first three mon­ths of 2021, demand picked up con­si­der­ably in all areas, resul­ting in the order intake, worth 132.7 mil­lion euros, being 78.5 per­cent up on the prior-year figure of 74.3 mil­lion euros, while the order back­log grew to a strong 219.0 mil­lion euros by the end of the quar­ter (31/12/2020: 179.1 mil­lion euros).

Light & Pro­duc­tion: pro­fi­ta­bi­lity mar­kedly impro­ved and strong order intake

The impacts of the coro­na­vi­rus pan­de­mic from the prior year, in par­ti­cu­lar a lower order back­log at the begin­ning of the year, could still be felt in the Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion. Reve­nue in the first three mon­ths came to 36.7 mil­lion euros, 5.8 per­cent down on the prior year (prior year: 38.9 mil­lion euros). While the Laser Pro­ces­sing area pos­ted minor growth, both Indus­trial Metro­logy and Auto­ma­tion & Inte­gra­tion repor­ted slightly lower reve­nue due to pro­ject post­po­ne­ments. The rest­ruc­tu­ring and cost-cut­ting mea­su­res the divi­sion put in place in the 2020 fis­cal year were already star­ting to con­tri­bute to posi­tive ear­nings per­for­mance in the first quar­ter. EBITDA came to minus 0.2 mil­lion euros (prior year: minus 4.1 mil­lion euros), with the EBITDA mar­gin rising from minus 10.6 per­cent to minus 0.5 per­cent. The divi­sion was encou­ra­ged by a pick-up of its order intake, dri­ven by the auto­mo­tive indus­try, from 60.2 mil­lion euros to 64.4 mil­lion euros. It should be noted here that the prior-year figure inclu­ded a lar­ger order, which was can­ce­led in the second quar­ter due to the pan­de­mic. By the end of March, the order back­log had grown from 74.7 mil­lion euros as of Decem­ber 31, 2020, to 99.7 mil­lion euros.

Light & Safety: strong glo­bal demand for traf­fic safety solu­ti­ons – sharp rise in order intake

Busi­ness in the Light & Safety divi­sion is pre­do­mi­nantly pro­ject-based and the­re­fore sub­ject to vola­ti­lity. This, tog­e­ther with pan­de­mic-rela­ted delays in the sup­ply of elec­tro­nic com­pon­ents, led to a sub­stan­tial decline in reve­nue, from 26.5 mil­lion euros in the prior year to 19.2 mil­lion euros in the first quar­ter of 2021. In addi­tion, lar­ger pro­jects in the Ame­ri­cas and the Middle East/Africa had con­tri­bu­ted to reve­nue in the prior-year period. This deve­lo­p­ment was also reflec­ted in the pro­fi­ta­bi­lity figu­res, with EBITDA fal­ling from 4.9 mil­lion euros to 0.2 mil­lion euros and the EBITDA mar­gin from 18.6 per­cent to 0.9 per­cent. In gene­ral, glo­bal demand for traf­fic safety solu­ti­ons remains strong, which was reflec­ted in the sharp rise in the order intake, from 22.3 mil­lion euros to 41.2 mil­lion euros. This figure was hig­her than in any quar­ter of the prior year. In the first quar­ter of 2021, the divi­sion recei­ved orders for traf­fic safety sys­tems in the US and Canada worth around 20 mil­lion euros. The division’s order back­log incre­a­sed by more than half com­pa­red to year-end 2020, from 46.0 mil­lion euros to 69.4 mil­lion euros.

VINCORION: pro­fi­ta­bi­lity impro­ved des­pite pro­ject post­po­ne­ments and ongo­ing dif­fi­cult situa­tion in the avia­tion indus­try due to the pandemic

In the first three mon­ths of the year, VINCORION gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 25.4 mil­lion euros (prior year: 28.1 mil­lion euros). While demand in the Energy & Drive busi­ness grew, reve­nue decli­ned in Power Sys­tems and the busi­ness with the avia­tion indus­try. Fol­lowing the cost-cut­ting mea­su­res put in place by VINCORION, EBITDA over the repor­ting period impro­ved from 1.0 mil­lion euros to 3.1 mil­lion euros, the EBITDA mar­gin from 3.4 per­cent to 12.0 per­cent. Pro­ject post­po­ne­ments, par­ti­cu­larly in the Power Sys­tems busi­ness, and wea­ker busi­ness in the Avia­tion area due to the pan­de­mic, led to an appre­cia­ble decline in the order intake through the end of March, to 28.8 mil­lion euros (prior year: 53.4 mil­lion euros). VINCORION’s order back­log, worth 172.4 mil­lion euros, was still at a high level (31/12/2020: 160.3 mil­lion euros).

Out­look for full year 2021 con­fir­med: reve­nue growth in low dou­ble-digit per­cen­tage range and EBITDA mar­gin of 16.0–17.0 per­cent expected

Based on good order intake growth in late 2020 and the first quar­ter of 2021, a well-fil­led pro­ject pipe­line, a pro­mi­sing deve­lo­p­ment in the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment busi­ness, and a pick-up of busi­ness in the Auto­mo­tive and Bio­pho­to­nics areas, the Exe­cu­tive Board expects fur­ther growth in the cur­rent fis­cal year. In addi­tion to the orga­nic growth in the divi­si­ons, TRIOPTICS, which is con­so­li­da­ted for the full year for the first time, will also con­tri­bute posi­tively. For 2021, Jen­op­tik, inclu­ding TRIOPTICS, is expec­ting reve­nue growth in the low dou­ble-digit per­cen­tage range (prior year: 767.2 mil­lion euros). In terms of EBITDA, the Group is cur­r­ently expec­ting signi­fi­cant growth in the cur­rent fis­cal year (prior year: 111.6 mil­lion euros). The EBITDA mar­gin is due to come in at bet­ween 16.0 and 17.0 per­cent (prior year: 14.6 percent).

In view of the con­ti­nuing uncer­tainty cau­sed by the COVID-19 pan­de­mic, a more pre­cise fore­cast is cur­r­ently not pos­si­ble. Howe­ver, it is plan­ned to spe­cify the out­look for full year 2021 during the course of the year.

The quar­terly state­ment is avail­able on the Jen­op­tik web­site in the Inves­tors / Reports and Pre­sen­ta­ti­ons sec­tion. Images are avail­able for down­load from our media cen­ter at media.jenoptik.com.

This announ­ce­ment can con­tain for­ward-loo­king state­ments that are based on cur­rent expec­ta­ti­ons and cer­tain assump­ti­ons of the manage­ment of the Jen­op­tik Group. A variety of known and unknown risks, uncer­tain­ties and other fac­tors can cause the actual results, the finan­cial situa­tion, the deve­lo­p­ment or the per­for­mance of the com­pany to be mate­ri­ally dif­fe­rent from the announ­ced for­ward-loo­king state­ments. Such fac­tors can be, among others, pan­de­mic dise­a­ses, chan­ges in cur­rency exchange rates and inte­rest rates, the intro­duc­tion of com­pe­ting pro­ducts or the change of the busi­ness stra­tegy. The com­pany does not assume any obli­ga­tion to update such for­ward-loo­king state­ments in the light of future developments.

About Jen­op­tik

Opti­cal tech­no­lo­gies are the very basis of our busi­ness: Jen­op­tik is a glo­bally active tech­no­logy group and is active in the three pho­to­nics-based divi­si­ons: Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion and Light & Safety. Under the TRIOPTICS brand, Jen­op­tik also offers opti­cal test and manu­fac­tu­ring sys­tems for the qua­lity con­trol of len­ses, objec­ti­ves and camera modu­les. VINCORION is the brand for our mecha­tro­nic busi­ness. Our key tar­get mar­kets pri­ma­rily include the semi­con­duc­tor indus­try, medi­cal tech­no­logy, auto­mo­tive and mecha­ni­cal engi­nee­ring, traf­fic, avia­tion as well as secu­rity and defense tech­no­logy indus­tries. Appro­xi­mately 4,500 employees work for Jen­op­tik world­wide. The Group’s head­quar­ters are in Jena (Ger­many). JENOPTIK AG is lis­ted on the Ger­man Stock Exchange in Frank­furt and is inclu­ded in the SDax and TecDax. In the 2020 fis­cal year, Jen­op­tik gene­ra­ted reve­nue of approx. 767 mil­lion euros.

Con­tact

Les­lie Iltgen
JENOPTIK AG
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons & Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2255
moc.kitponej@negtli.eilsel

Aktuelles › JENOPTIK • Guter Start ins Jahr 2021

Jen­op­tik star­tet gut ins Jahr 2021 – Auf­trags­lage belebt sich deut­lich – Gesamt­jah­res­ziele bestätigt

  • JenoptikUmsatz stieg im 1. Quar­tal 2021 um rund 7 Pro­zent auf 176,0 Mio Euro
  • EBITDA wächst über­pro­por­tio­nal um rund 47 Pro­zent auf 20,0 Mio Euro
  • Nach­frage zieht in pho­to­ni­schen Divi­sio­nen an – Kon­zern-Auf­trags­ein­gang um rund 27 Pro­zent auf 268,3 Mio Euro erhöht – Auf­trags­be­stand bei 561,3 Mio Euro
  • Aus­blick für Gesamt­jahr 2021 bestä­tigt: Umsatz­plus im nied­ri­gen zwei­stel­li­gen Pro­zent­be­reich und EBITDA-Marge von 16,0–17,0 Pro­zent erwartet

„Der Jen­op­tik-Kon­zern ist gut ins Jahr 2021 gestar­tet. Wir spü­ren deut­lich, dass sich die Nach­frage in unse­ren pho­to­ni­schen Divi­sio­nen belebt. Dank gut gefüll­ter Auf­trags­bü­cher, einer ver­bes­ser­ten Kos­ten­ef­fi­zi­enz und der Bei­träge der im Geschäfts­jahr 2020 akqui­rier­ten Unter­neh­men sind wir auf einem sehr guten Weg, die Jah­res­ziele für 2021 zu errei­chen“, kom­men­tiert Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Vor­stands­vor­sit­zen­der der JENOPTK AG.

Jen­op­tik ver­zeich­nete einen Anstieg des Auf­trags­ein­gangs um 26,8 Pro­zent auf 268,3 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 211,7 Mio Euro). Alle drei pho­to­ni­schen Divi­sio­nen – Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion und Light & Safety – ver­buch­ten deut­lich mehr Auf­träge, dage­gen ging der Auf­trags­ein­gang bei VINCORION zurück. Die Book-to-Bill-Rate des Kon­zerns stieg sub­stan­zi­ell von 1,29 auf 1,52. Der Auf­trags­be­stand legte um 22,0 Pro­zent auf 561,3 Mio Euro zu (31.12.2020: 460,1 Mio Euro).

Beim Quar­tals­um­satz konnte die Divi­sion Light & Optics dank des orga­ni­schen Wachs­tums und des Bei­trags von TRIOPTICS die noch immer spür­ba­ren Aus­wir­kun­gen der Corona-Pan­de­mie in den Divi­sio­nen Light & Pro­duc­tion und VINCORION sowie den nied­ri­ge­ren Pro­jekt-getrie­be­nen Umsatz und Lie­fer­ver­zö­ge­run­gen bei elek­tro­ni­schen Kom­po­nen­ten bei Light & Safety über­kom­pen­sie­ren. Jen­op­tik rea­li­sierte im erfah­rungs­ge­mäß sai­so­nal schwächs­ten Quar­tal einen Umsatz in Höhe von 176,0 Mio Euro und somit 7,0 Pro­zent mehr als im Vor­jahr (i.Vj. 164,4 Mio Euro).

Regio­nal betrach­tet pro­fi­tierte vor allem der asiatisch/pazifische Raum von der Akqui­si­tion von TRIOPTICS. Auch in Europa konn­ten höhere Umsätze erzielt wer­den, wäh­rend die Ent­wick­lung in Ame­rika und im Mitt­le­ren Osten/Afrika rück­läu­fig waren. Der Anteil des Aus­lands­um­sat­zes war mit 74,0 Pro­zent nahezu kon­stant (i.Vj. 74,2 Prozent).

Im Berichts­zeit­raum ver­bes­serte sich die Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät signi­fi­kant. Das EBITDA wurde um 47,1 Pro­zent von 13,6 Mio Euro auf 20,0 Mio Euro ver­bes­sert, dazu haben auch posi­tive Effekte aus den 2020 ergrif­fe­nen Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men bei­getra­gen. Im Vor­jahr waren im EBITDA Kos­ten für Struk­tur-und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men in Höhe von 3,7 Mio Euro ent­hal­ten. Die EBITDA-Marge legte deut­lich von 8,3 Pro­zent im Vor­jah­res­quar­tal auf 11,4 Pro­zent zu. Das Ergeb­nis aus betrieb­li­cher Tätig­keit (EBIT) lag in den ers­ten drei Mona­ten 2021 mit 6,1 Mio Euro eben­falls sub­stan­zi­ell über dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 2,5 Mio Euro. Die EBIT-Marge erreichte 3,4 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 1,5 Pro­zent). Im EBIT ent­hal­ten sind PPA-Effekte von minus 5,5 Mio Euro infolge der in den Vor­jah­ren getä­tig­ten Akqui­si­tio­nen (i.Vj. minus 1,7 Mio Euro). Das Kon­zern­er­geb­nis nach Steu­ern stieg von minus 0,4 Mio Euro auf 3,8 Mio Euro.

Finan­zi­ell und bilan­zi­ell sehr gut auf­ge­stellt für das zukünf­tige Wachstum

Der Cash­flow aus lau­fen­der Geschäfts­tä­tig­keit lag trotz eines höhe­ren Ergeb­nis­ses vor Steu­ern auf­grund gerin­ge­rer posi­ti­ver Effekte aus Ver­än­de­run­gen des Working Capi­tals sowie sons­ti­ger Ver­mö­gens­werte und Schul­den mit 23,2 Mio Euro etwas unter dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 26,4 Mio Euro. Den­noch führ­ten in Summe gerin­gere Ein- und Aus­zah­lun­gen aus ope­ra­ti­ver Inves­ti­ti­ons­tä­tig­keit zu einem Anstieg des Free Cash­flows von 14,4 Mio Euro auf 15,7 Mio Euro.

„Jen­op­tik ist nicht nur dank der Fähig­keit zur Gene­rie­rung soli­der Free Cash­flows sehr gut für das zukünf­tige interne und externe Wachs­tum auf­ge­stellt. Wir haben im März 2021 Schuld­schein­dar­le­hen mit Nach­hal­tig­keits­kom­po­nen­ten und einem Volu­men von 400 Mio Euro zu attrak­ti­ven Kon­di­tio­nen am Kapi­tal­markt plat­ziert, von denen 130 Mio Euro im März aus­ge­zahlt wur­den und noch 270 Mio Euro in der 2. Jah­res­hälfte fol­gen. Das trägt dazu bei, unsere finan­zi­elle Schlag­kraft wei­ter zu ver­bes­sern“, so Hans-Die­ter Schu­ma­cher, Finanz­vor­stand der JENOPTK AG.

Die Aus­zah­lung führte zu einem Anstieg der Zah­lungs­mit­tel und Zah­lungs­mit­tel­äqui­va­lente von 63,4 Mio Euro am Jah­res­ende 2020 auf 203,9 Mio Euro zum 31. März 2021. Die Net­to­ver­schul­dung sank auf 189,4 Mio Euro nach 201,0 Mio Euro zum Jah­res­ende 2020. Zum 31. März 2021 lag die Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote auf­grund einer deut­lich gestie­ge­nen Bilanz­summe mit 47,3 Pro­zent unter dem Niveau 2020 von 51,5 Pro­zent zum 31. Dezember.

Nach­frage belebt sich in den pho­to­ni­schen Divi­sio­nen von Jenoptik

Light & Optics pro­fi­tiert von dyna­mi­scher Nach­frage im Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­ge­schäft – Auf­trags­ein­gang zieht an

Die Divi­sion Light & Optics pro­fi­tierte in den ers­ten drei Mona­ten von der dyna­mi­schen Ent­wick­lung im Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­ge­schäft und von anzie­hen­den Umsät­zen bei Bio­pho­to­nics und Indus­trial Solu­ti­ons. Zudem erwirt­schaf­tete TRIOPTICS einen sub­stan­zi­el­len Umsatz­bei­trag. Der Umsatz klet­terte um 35,8 Pro­zent von 69,3 Mio Euro auf 94,2 Mio. Euro. Auch beim EBITDA konnte die Divi­sion deut­lich um 32,8 Pro­zent auf 19,3 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 14,5 Mio Euro) zule­gen, inklu­sive der PPA-Effekte in Höhe von minus 1,8 Mio Euro. Die EBITDA-Marge lag mit 20,4 Pro­zent leicht unter dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 20,8 Pro­zent. In den ers­ten drei Mona­ten 2021 zog die Nach­frage deut­lich an, sodass der Auf­trags­ein­gang mit 132,7 Mio Euro um 78,5 Pro­zent über dem Vor­jah­res­wert von 74,3 Mio Euro lag. Der Auf­trags­be­stand erreichte zum Quar­tals­ende ein hohes Niveau von 219,0 Mio Euro (31.12.2020: 179,1 Mio Euro).

Light & Pro­duc­tion mit deut­lich ver­bes­ser­ter Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät und star­kem Auftragseingang

Bei der Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion waren die Aus­wir­kun­gen der Corona-Pan­de­mie aus dem Vor­jahr, ins­be­son­dere durch den nied­ri­ge­ren Auf­trags­be­stand zu Jah­res­be­ginn, noch spür­bar. Der Umsatz lag in den ers­ten drei Mona­ten mit 36,7 Mio Euro um 5,8 Pro­zent unter Vor­jahr (i.Vj. 38,9 Mio Euro). Wäh­rend der Bereich Laser Pro­ces­sing einen leich­ten Zuwachs ver­zeich­nete, lagen Indus­trial Metro­logy sowie Auto­ma­tion & Inte­gra­tion wegen Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen noch etwas zurück. Die in der Divi­sion im Geschäfts­jahr 2020 ergrif­fe­nen Restruk­tu­rie­rungs- und Kos­ten­sen­kungs­maß­nah­men tru­gen bereits im 1. Quar­tal zur posi­ti­ven Ergeb­nis­ent­wick­lung bei. Das EBITDA belief sich auf minus 0,2 Mio Euro (i.Vj. minus 4,1 Mio Euro). Die EBITDA-Marge stieg von minus 10,6 Pro­zent auf minus 0,5 Pro­zent. Erfreu­lich war das von der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie getrie­bene Wie­der­an­zie­hen des Auf­trags­ein­gangs der Divi­sion von 60,2 Mio Euro auf 64,4 Mio Euro. Hier­bei ist zu berück­sich­ti­gen, dass im Vor­jah­res­wert ein grö­ße­rer Auf­trag ent­hal­ten war, der Pan­de­mie-bedingt im 2. Quar­tal wie­der stor­niert wurde. Der Auf­trags­be­stand klet­terte bis Ende März von 74,7 Mio Euro zum 31. Dezem­ber 2020 auf 99,7 Mio Euro.

Light & Safety: Nach­frage nach Lösun­gen für mehr Ver­kehrs­si­cher­heit welt­weit hoch – deut­li­cher Anstieg beim Auftragseingang

Das Geschäft der Divi­sion Light & Safety ist stets geprägt durch vola­ti­les Pro­jekt­ge­schäft. Dies sowie Pan­de­mie-bedingte Ver­zö­ge­run­gen bei der Zulie­fe­rung von elek­tro­ni­schen Kom­po­nen­ten führ­ten im 1. Quar­tal 2021 zu einem deut­li­chen Umsatz­rück­gang von 26,5 Mio Euro im Vor­jahr auf 19,2 Mio Euro. Zudem tru­gen im Vor­jah­res­zeit­raum grö­ßere Pro­jekte in den Regio­nen Ame­rika sowie Mitt­le­rer Osten/Afrika zum Umsatz bei. Die Umsatz­ent­wick­lung spie­gelte sich auch in der Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät wider. So ver­rin­gerte sich das EBITDA von 4,9 Mio Euro auf 0,2 Mio Euro und die EBITDA-Marge von 18,6 Pro­zent auf 0,9 Pro­zent. Grund­sätz­lich bleibt die Nach­frage nach Lösun­gen für mehr Ver­kehrs­si­cher­heit welt­weit hoch. Dies zeigte sich auch im von 22,3 Mio Euro im Vor­jah­res­quar­tal auf 41,2 Mio Euro deut­lich gestie­ge­nen Auf­trags­ein­gang. Die­ser über­traf damit alle Quar­tale des Vor­jah­res. Im 1. Quar­tal 2021 erhielt die Divi­sion Auf­träge für Ver­kehrs­si­cher­heits­an­la­gen im Wert von ca. 20 Mio Euro in den USA und Kanada. Der Auf­trags­be­stand der Divi­sion stieg gegen­über dem Jah­res­ende 2020 um mehr als die Hälfte von 46,0 Mio Euro auf 69,4 Mio Euro.

VINCORION: Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät ver­bes­sert trotz Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen und wei­ter­hin Pan­de­mie-bedingt schwie­rige Situa­tion in der Luftfahrtindustrie

In den ers­ten drei Mona­ten des Jah­res erwirt­schaf­tete VINCORION Umsätze in Höhe von 25,4 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 28,1 Mio Euro). Wäh­rend die Nach­frage im Bereich Energy & Drive stieg, ver­zeich­ne­ten der Bereich Power Sys­tems und das Geschäft mit der Luft­fahrt­in­dus­trie Umsatz­rück­gänge. Ins­be­son­dere auf­grund der bei VINCORION ergrif­fe­nen Maß­nah­men zur Kos­ten­re­du­zie­rung ver­bes­serte sich das EBITDA im Berichts­zeit­raum von 1,0 Mio Euro auf 3,1 Mio Euro und die EBITDA-Marge von 3,4 Pro­zent auf 12,0 Pro­zent. Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen, vor allem im Bereich Power Sys­tems, sowie das Pan­de­mie-bedingt schwä­chere Geschäft im Bereich Avia­tion führ­ten zu einem spür­ba­ren Rück­gang des Auf­trags­ein­gangs bis Ende März auf 28,8 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 53,4 Mio Euro). Der Auf­trags­be­stand von VINCORION blieb mit 172,4 Mio Euro auf einem hohen Niveau (31.12.2020: 160,3 Mio Euro).

Aus­blick für Gesamt­jahr 2021 bestä­tigt: Umsatz­plus im nied­ri­gen zwei­stel­li­gen Pro­zent­be­reich und EBITDA-Marge von 16,0–17,0 Pro­zent erwartet

Auf Basis der guten Auf­trags­ein­gangs­ent­wick­lung Ende 2020 sowie im 1. Quar­tal 2021, einer gut gefüll­ten Pro­jekt­pipe­line, des viel­ver­spre­chen­den Ver­laufs im Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­ge­schäft und einer Bele­bung des Geschäfts in den Berei­chen Auto­mo­tive und Bio­pho­to­nics geht der Vor­stand im lau­fen­den Geschäfts­jahr von wei­te­rem Wachs­tum aus. Neben dem orga­ni­schen Wachs­tum in den Divi­sio­nen wird auch die erst­ma­lig ganz­jäh­rig kon­so­li­dierte TRIOPTICS zur posi­ti­ven Ent­wick­lung bei­tra­gen. Jen­op­tik erwar­tet 2021, inklu­sive TRIOPTICS, ein Umsatz­wachs­tum im nied­ri­gen zwei­stel­li­gen Pro­zent­be­reich (i.Vj. 767,2 Mio Euro). Beim EBITDA rech­net der Kon­zern im lau­fen­den Geschäfts­jahr aktu­ell mit einem deut­li­chen Zuwachs (i.Vj. 111,6 Mio Euro). Die EBITDA-Marge soll zwi­schen 16,0 und 17,0 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 14,6 Pro­zent) liegen.

Auf­grund der immer noch anhal­ten­den Unsi­cher­heit durch die COVID-19-Pan­de­mie ist eine genauere Pro­gnose der­zeit nicht mög­lich. Es wird aber ange­strebt, die Pro­gnose für das Gesamt­jahr 2021 im Jah­res­ver­lauf zu präzisieren.

Die Quar­tals­mit­tei­lung ist auf der Jen­op­tik-Web­site unter Investoren/Berichte und Prä­sen­ta­tio­nen ver­öf­fent­licht. Bild­ma­te­rial steht unter media.jenoptik.com zum Down­load zur Verfügung.

Diese Nach­richt kann bestimmte in die Zukunft gerich­tete Aus­sa­gen ent­hal­ten, die auf den gegen­wär­ti­gen Annah­men und Pro­gno­sen der Unter­neh­mens­lei­tung des Jen­op­tik-Kon­zerns beru­hen. Ver­schie­dene bekannte wie auch unbe­kannte Risi­ken, Unge­wiss­hei­ten und andere Fak­to­ren kön­nen dazu füh­ren, dass die tat­säch­li­chen Ergeb­nisse, die Finanz­lage, die Ent­wick­lung oder die Per­for­mance der Gesell­schaft wesent­lich von den hier gege­be­nen Ein­schät­zun­gen abwei­chen. Der­ar­tige Fak­to­ren kön­nen zum Bei­spiel Pan­de­mien, Wech­sel­kurs­schwan­kun­gen, Zins­än­de­run­gen, die Markt­ein­füh­rung von Kon­kur­renz­pro­duk­ten oder Ände­run­gen in der Unter­neh­mens­stra­te­gie oder Epi­de­mien sein. Die Gesell­schaft über­nimmt kei­ner­lei Ver­pflich­tung, sol­che in die Zukunft gerich­te­ten Aus­sa­gen fort­zu­schrei­ben und an zukünf­tige Ereig­nisse oder Ent­wick­lun­gen anzupassen.

Über Jen­op­tik

Opti­sche Tech­no­lo­gien sind die Basis unse­res Geschäfts: Jen­op­tik ist ein glo­bal agie­ren­der Tech­no­lo­gie-Kon­zern und in den drei auf Pho­to­nik basie­ren­den Divi­sio­nen Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion und Light & Safety aktiv. Dar­über hin­aus bie­tet Jen­op­tik unter der Marke TRIOPTICS opti­sche Mess- und Fer­ti­gungs­sys­teme für die Qua­li­täts­kon­trolle von Lin­sen, Objek­ti­ven und Kame­ra­mo­du­len. Unter der Marke VINCORION ist das mecha­tro­ni­sche Geschäft zusam­men­ge­fasst. Zu unse­ren Schlüs­sel­märk­ten zäh­len vor allem die Halb­lei­ter­indus­trie, die Medi­zin­tech­nik, Auto­mo­tive und Maschi­nen­bau, Ver­kehr, Luft­fahrt sowie die Sicher­heits- und Wehr­tech­nik. Rund 4.500 Mit­ar­bei­ter arbei­ten bei Jen­op­tik welt­weit, Haupt­sitz des Kon­zerns ist Jena (Deutsch­land). Die JENOPTIK AG ist an der Deut­schen Börse in Frank­furt notiert und wird im SDax und TecDax geführt. Im Geschäfts­jahr 2020 erzielte Jen­op­tik einen Umsatz von rund 767 Mio Euro.

Kon­takt

Les­lie Iltgen
JENOPTIK AG
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons & Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2255
moc.kitponej@negtli.eilsel