News › JENOPTIK · On-site pro­duc­tion capa­ci­ties more than doubled

The Group plans to invest around 70 mil­lion euros in a highly func­tio­nal clean­room faci­lity. Con­struc­tion will begin in 2022 – pro­duc­tion to start in early 2025.

The Jen­op­tik Group intends to build a state-of-the-art pro­duc­tion buil­ding with office com­plex in Dres­den. In total, the pho­to­nics group is plan­ning to invest around 70 mil­lion euros in a clean­room faci­lity for micro-optics and sen­sors for semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment. Jen­op­tik acqui­red a 24,000-square-meter plot of land in the Air­port­park Dres­den in May 2021, and since then has plan­ned and desi­gned fur­ther details of the buil­dings. In addi­tion to the hig­hest clean­li­ness and vibra­tion requi­re­ments for clean­room pro­duc­tion, the pro­ject also focu­ses on eco­lo­gi­cal and social aspects – in par­al­lel, Jen­op­tik seeks sus­taina­bi­lity cer­ti­fi­ca­tion for the project.

“We con­sciously intend to make the invest­ment for our micro-optics busi­ness in Ger­many, and spe­ci­fi­cally Dres­den, the country’s Sili­con Val­ley, an out­stan­ding loca­tion for the semi­con­duc­tor indus­try,” says Jen­op­tik Pre­si­dent & CEO Ste­fan Tra­e­ger. Dres­den is Europe’s key loca­tion for the semi­con­duc­tor indus­try, home to a large num­ber of glo­bal com­pa­nies and rese­arch insti­tu­tes ope­ra­ting in this indus­try. Jen­op­tik has been ope­ra­ting here since 2007, manu­fac­tu­ring micro-optics and sen­sors for use in semi­con­duc­tor litho­gra­phy sys­tems. Unlike tra­di­tio­nal optics, these high-pre­cision com­pon­ents are also manu­fac­tu­red in a pro­cess simi­lar to semi­con­duc­tor production

“The new fab will allow us to pool and more than dou­ble our on-site pro­duc­tion capa­city,” says Ste­fan Tra­e­ger. Con­struc­tion is due to begin in 2022, with pro­duc­tion star­ting in early 2025. A fur­ther 60 high-tech jobs at the Dres­den site will then be added to the pre­sent 50.

The micro-optics and sen­sors manu­fac­tu­red here are core com­pon­ents for cur­rent and future litho­gra­phy tech­no­lo­gies (DUV and EUV), enab­ling more com­pact chip struc­tures and thus grea­ter com­pu­ting power with an even smal­ler design. Semi­con­duc­tor growth is par­ti­cu­larly being dri­ven by the expan­sion in data com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons and IT, but also by auto­mo­tive and other indus­trial app­li­ca­ti­ons such as the Inter­net of Things, arti­fi­cial intel­li­gence, etc.

“The con­struc­tion of the state-of-the-art faci­lity in Dres­den is to fur­ther boost Dresden’s appeal in the heart of Sili­con Sax­ony. I would like to take this oppor­tu­nity to assure you of the express com­mit­ment of Dres­den, the state capi­tal, to sup­port the plan­ned com­ple­tion of this ambi­tious pro­ject,” says Dirk Hil­bert, the mayor of Dres­den, on Jenoptik’s investment.

About Jen­op­tik

Opti­cal tech­no­lo­gies are the very basis of our busi­ness: Jen­op­tik is a glo­bally active tech­no­logy group and is active in the three pho­to­nics-based divi­si­ons: Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion and Light & Safety. Under the TRIOPTICS brand, Jen­op­tik also offers opti­cal test and manu­fac­tu­ring sys­tems for the qua­lity con­trol of len­ses, objec­ti­ves and camera modu­les. VINCORION is the brand for our mecha­tro­nic busi­ness. Our key tar­get mar­kets pri­ma­rily include the semi­con­duc­tor indus­try, medi­cal tech­no­logy, auto­mo­tive and mecha­ni­cal engi­nee­ring, traf­fic, avia­tion as well as secu­rity and defense tech­no­logy indus­tries. Appro­xi­mately 4,400 employees work for Jen­op­tik world­wide. The Group’s head­quar­ters are in Jena (Ger­many). JENOPTIK AG is lis­ted on the Ger­man Stock Exchange in Frank­furt and is inclu­ded in the SDax and TecDax. In the 2020 fis­cal year, Jen­op­tik gene­ra­ted reve­nue of approx. 767 mil­lion euros.

Con­tact

Les­lie Iltgen
JENOPTIK AG
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons & Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2291
moc.kitponej@negtli.eilsel

Aktuelles › JENOPTIK · Kapa­zi­tä­ten für Mikro­op­tik-Akti­vi­tä­ten in Dres­den verdoppeln

Der Kon­zern plant, rund 70 Mio Euro in hoch­funk­tio­nale Rein­raum-Fabrik zu inves­tie­ren. Bau­be­ginn ist 2022 – Pro­duk­ti­ons­start soll Anfang 2025 sein

Der Jen­op­tik-Kon­zern beab­sich­tigt, in Dres­den ein hoch­mo­der­nes Fer­ti­gungs­ge­bäude mit Büro­kom­plex zu errich­ten. Ins­ge­samt plant der Pho­to­nik-Kon­zern rund 70 Mil­lio­nen Euro in eine Rein­raum-Fabrik zu inves­tie­ren, in der Mikro­op­ti­ken und Sen­so­ren für die Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tung gefer­tigt wer­den. Im Mai 2021 hatte Jen­op­tik ein 24.000 Qua­drat­me­ter gro­ßes Grund­stück im Air­port­park Dres­den erwor­ben und die Gebäu­de­pla­nung seit­her wei­ter detail­liert. Bei dem Vor­ha­ben ste­hen neben höchs­ten Rein­heits- und Schwin­gungs­an­for­de­run­gen der Rein­raum­fer­ti­gung auch öko­lo­gi­sche und soziale Aspekte im Fokus – eine Nach­hal­tig­keits­zer­ti­fi­zie­rung für das Vor­ha­ben wird par­al­lel verfolgt.

„Wir wol­len für unsere Mikro­op­tik-Akti­vi­tä­ten bewusst in Deutsch­land und in Dres­den inves­tie­ren, dem Sili­con Val­ley Deutsch­lands, einem her­vor­ra­gen­den Stand­ort der Halb­lei­ter­indus­trie“, so der Jen­op­tik-Vor­stands­vor­sit­zende Ste­fan Tra­e­ger. Dres­den ist inner­halb Euro­pas der bedeu­tendste Stand­ort der Halb­lei­ter­indus­trie, an dem viele glo­bale Unter­neh­men und For­schungs­ein­rich­tun­gen der Bran­che prä­sent sind. Jen­op­tik ist hier bereits seit 2007 aktiv und fer­tigt Mikro­op­ti­ken und Sen­so­ren, die in Anla­gen für die Halb­lei­ter-Litho­gra­fie zum Ein­satz kom­men. Diese hoch­prä­zi­sen Bau­teile wer­den – anders als klas­si­sche Opti­ken – eben­falls in einem der Halb­lei­ter­pro­duk­tion ähn­li­chen Ver­fah­ren hergestellt.

„Mit der neuen Fab wer­den wir unsere Fer­ti­gungs­ka­pa­zi­tä­ten vor Ort bün­deln und mehr als ver­dop­peln“, so Ste­fan Tra­e­ger. 2022 soll Bau­be­ginn sein und die Pro­duk­tion Anfang 2025 star­ten. Zu den heu­ti­gen 50 High­tech-Arbeits­plät­zen am Stand­ort Dres­den kom­men dann wei­tere 60 hinzu.

Die hier gefer­tig­ten Mikro­op­ti­ken und Sen­so­ren sind Kern­kom­po­nen­ten für heu­tige und künf­tige Litho­gra­fie-Tech­no­lo­gien (DUV und EUV), die immer klei­nere Chip-Struk­tu­ren und damit mehr Rechen­leis­tung auf immer klei­ne­rem Raum ermög­li­chen. Trei­ber des Halb­lei­ter-Wachs­tums sind ins­be­son­dere der Aus­bau der Daten­kom­mu­ni­ka­tion und der IT, aber auch auto­mo­bile und wei­tere Indus­trie­an­wen­dun­gen, wie z.B. Inter­net of Things, Künst­li­che Intel­li­genz, etc.

„Mit dem geplan­ten Bau der hoch­mo­der­nen Fabrik in Dres­den, soll die Attrak­ti­vi­tät des Stand­or­tes Dres­den im Her­zen des Sili­con Sax­ony wei­ter gestärkt wer­den. Die Unter­stüt­zung der Lan­des­haupt­stadt Dres­den für die plan­ge­mäße Umset­zung des ambi­tio­nier­ten Vor­ha­bens möchte ich an die­ser Stelle aus­drück­lich zusa­gen“, so der Dres­de­ner Ober­bür­ger­meis­ter Dirk Hil­bert zur Jenoptik-Investition.

Über Jen­op­tik

Opti­sche Tech­no­lo­gien sind die Basis unse­res Geschäfts: Jen­op­tik ist ein glo­bal agie­ren­der Tech­no­lo­gie-Kon­zern und in den drei auf Pho­to­nik basie­ren­den Divi­sio­nen Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion und Light & Safety aktiv. Dar­über hin­aus bie­tet Jen­op­tik unter der Marke TRIOPTICS opti­sche Mess- und Fer­ti­gungs­sys­teme für die Qua­li­täts­kon­trolle von Lin­sen, Objek­ti­ven und Kame­ra­mo­du­len. Unter der Marke VINCORION ist das mecha­tro­ni­sche Geschäft zusam­men­ge­fasst. Zu unse­ren Schlüs­sel­märk­ten zäh­len vor allem die Halb­lei­ter­indus­trie, die Medi­zin­tech­nik, Auto­mo­tive und Maschi­nen­bau, Ver­kehr, Luft­fahrt sowie die Sicher­heits- und Wehr­tech­nik. Rund 4.400 Mit­ar­bei­ter arbei­ten bei Jen­op­tik welt­weit, Haupt­sitz des Kon­zerns ist Jena (Deutsch­land). Die JENOPTIK AG ist an der Deut­schen Börse in Frank­furt notiert und wird im SDax und TecDax geführt. Im Geschäfts­jahr 2020 erzielte Jen­op­tik einen Umsatz von rund 767 Mio Euro.

Con­tact

Les­lie Iltgen
JENOPTIK AG
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons & Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2291
moc.kitponej@negtli.eilsel