News › JENOPTIK • Impro­ve­ments in reve­nue and ear­nings in third quarter

  • In the third quar­ter, order intake was at prior-year level with 177.0 mil­lion euros; buoyed by acqui­si­ti­ons, order back­log grew to 496.7 mil­lion euros after nine months
  • Reve­nue of 176.1 mil­lion euros in the third quar­ter was 6.9 per­cent up on prior quar­ters; cumu­la­tive figure of 505.0 mil­lion euros was 13.1 per­cent down on prior year
  • Pro­fi­ta­bi­lity impro­ved over the year; adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin was up to 18.0 per­cent in the third quar­ter, and came to 14.6 per­cent in first nine months
  • Adjus­ted free cash flow grew to 18.5 mil­lion euros
  • Out­look for 2020: inclu­ding TRIOPTICS, reve­nue is expec­ted to come in at bet­ween 755 and 775 mil­lion euros, with an adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin of 15.0 to 15.5 per­cent, exclu­ding PPA impacts ari­sing from the acqui­si­tion of TRIOPTICS

The effects of the COVID-19 pan­de­mic and uncer­tainty in the auto­mo­tive indus­try were also noti­ce­able in the pre­sent repor­ting period too, and impac­ted on busi­ness per­for­mance in the third quar­ter. Over­all eco­no­mic deve­lo­p­ment was still weak, par­ti­cu­larly in the tra­di­tio­nal auto­mo­tive busi­ness, but also in parts of the avia­tion and medi­cal tech­no­logy indus­tries. Nevertheless, demand for our pro­ducts and ser­vices was plea­sing in the third quar­ter, as pre­viously announ­ced, and at a value of 177.0 mil­lion euros was con­si­der­ably above the prior-quar­ter order intake of 122.2 mil­lion euros. In the period from Janu­ary through Sep­tem­ber 2020, the order intake fell to 510.9 mil­lion euros (prior year: adjus­ted 558.7 mil­lion euros) due to a wea­ker first half of the year that was affec­ted by the COVID-19 pan­de­mic. The order back­log grew to 496.7 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: adjus­ted 464.7 mil­lion euros), with acqui­red enti­ties INTEROB and TRIOPTICS adding orders worth 51.4 mil­lion euros.

The COVID-19 pan­de­mic had vary­ing effects on the deve­lo­p­ment of reve­nue of the Jen­op­tik divi­si­ons. The pan­de­mic had little to no impact on busi­ness with public-sec­tor con­trac­tors and the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try, which actually pos­ted growth. By con­trast, the Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion was stron­gly affec­ted by deve­lo­p­ments in the auto­mo­tive indus­try, but over the year still saw a slight impro­ve­ment in reve­nue. Reve­nue for the July through Sep­tem­ber period of 176.1 mil­lion euros was up on the two prior quar­ters of 2020. Over the first nine mon­ths of 2020, the Group gene­ra­ted cumu­la­tive reve­nue of 505.0 mil­lion euros, a fall of 13.1 per­cent (prior year: adjus­ted 581.4 mil­lion euros). The con­tri­bu­tion to reve­nue made by the INTEROB group, acqui­red in Febru­ary 2020, came to 9.5 mil­lion euros. TRIOPTICS, inclu­ded in the Con­so­li­da­ted Finan­cial State­ments at the end of the quar­ter, made a con­tri­bu­tion of 0.9 mil­lion euros.

A more favoura­ble pro­duct mix as well as mea­su­res taken to limit the impact of the COVID-19 pan­de­mic, such as short-time working, had a posi­tive effect on pro­fi­ta­bi­lity over the course of the year. Adjus­ted EBITDA incre­a­sed stron­gly from 17.3 and 24.9 mil­lion euros in the first and second quar­ters to a figure of 31.7 mil­lion euros in the repor­ting quar­ter. In the period from Janu­ary through Sep­tem­ber, adjus­ted EBITDA fell to 73.9 mil­lion euros as a result of reve­nue deve­lo­p­ment in the first six mon­ths (prior year: 92.4 mil­lion euros). The adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin for the quar­ter was 18.0 per­cent and a cumu­la­tive 14.6 per­cent for the first nine mon­ths (prior year: Q3 18.3 per­cent, 9M 15.9 per­cent). The adjus­t­ments include impacts ari­sing from struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res amoun­ting to a total of minus 7.3 mil­lion euros (prior year: minus 1.0 mil­lion euros), of which minus 0.9 mil­lion euros for rest­ruc­tu­ring and site opti­miz­a­tion, minus 3.0 mil­lion euros for cost-reduc­tion pro­grams, and minus 3.4 mil­lion euros for M+A activities.

“As already announ­ced, Jenoptik’s order intake sta­bi­li­zed in the third quar­ter at the prior-year level. In the period from July through Sep­tem­ber, we also saw an appre­cia­ble impro­ve­ment in the qua­lity of our ear­nings com­pa­red to the prior quar­ters. This makes us con­fi­dent for the com­ing mon­ths,” says Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Pre­si­dent & CEO of JENOPTIK AG.

Solid cash flow deve­lo­p­ment con­ti­nued – con­so­li­da­tion of TRIOPTICS clearly reflec­ted in chan­ges to balance sheet ratios

In the first quar­ter, the Exe­cu­tive Board took pre­cau­tio­nary action allowing it to react quickly to the situa­tion crea­ted by the corona pan­de­mic. In addi­tion to secu­ring the company’s liqui­dity and pro­fi­ta­bi­lity, mea­su­res were put in place to safe­guard the ope­ra­ting busi­nes­ses, inclu­ding the sup­ply chain, and opti­mize the working capi­tal. Con­se­quently, the ope­ra­ting cash flow saw an encou­ra­ging incre­ase to 31.1 mil­lion euros as of Sep­tem­ber 30, 2020 (prior year: 27.4 mil­lion euros). As a result, the free cash flow also saw a strong incre­ase to 13.4 mil­lion euros over the repor­ting period (prior year: 7.3 mil­lion euros). Adjus­ted for the cash impacts ari­sing from struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res, the free cash flow actually grew to 18.5 mil­lion euros.

Cash and cash equi­va­lents, tog­e­ther with cur­rent finan­cial invest­ments, fell in line with expec­ta­ti­ons to 83.1 mil­lion euros as of Sep­tem­ber 30 due to the acqui­si­ti­ons and the repay­ment of a deben­ture loan (31/12/2019: 168.7 mil­lion euros). In view of the pre­sent situa­tion, the Group con­ti­nues to see its­elf in a very good posi­tion with short-term liquid funds and unused lines of credit worth over 50 mil­lion euros, as well as addi­tio­nal bridge finan­cing of 300 mil­lion euros. The sharp rise in finan­cial debt fol­lowing the acqui­si­ti­ons resul­ted in net debt incre­a­sing to 242.3 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: minus 9.1 mil­lion euros).

Deve­lo­p­ment of the divi­si­ons: impro­ved mar­gin in Light & Optics, good growth in Light & Safety, as expec­ted decli­nes in Light & Pro­duc­tion and VINCORION

In the first nine mon­ths of 2020, the Light & Optics divi­sion gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 209.8 mil­lion euros, 11.2 per­cent below the adjus­ted and thus com­pa­ra­ble prior-year figure of 236.4 mil­lion euros. Busi­ness with the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try remai­ned robust, but the divi­sion pos­ted sharp decli­nes due to the pan­de­mic in its bio­pho­to­nics and indus­trial solu­ti­ons areas. Com­pa­red to the prior year, EBITDA adjus­ted for the impacts ari­sing from struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res of 1.7 mil­lion euros fell by 2.8 per­cent, to 48.1 mil­lion euros, and thus at a mar­kedly lower rate than reve­nue (prior year: 49.5 mil­lion euros). The adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin accord­in­gly incre­a­sed appre­cia­bly from 20.8 per­cent to 22.8 per­cent, in part due to a more pro­fi­ta­ble pro­duct mix. In the first nine mon­ths of 2020, the divi­sion repor­ted an order intake worth 214.6 mil­lion euros, almost the same as the adjus­ted prior-year figure of 216.8 mil­lion euros, par­ti­cu­larly due to sus­tai­ned good demand from the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try. At the end of Sep­tem­ber 2020, the order back­log, buoyed by the acqui­si­tion, had a value of 162.2 mil­lion euros, and was con­si­der­ably hig­her than the figure at year-end 2019 (31/12/2019: adjus­ted 143.5 mil­lion euros). TRIOPTICS added 24.3 mil­lion euros to the division’s order backlog.

The Light & Pro­duc­tion divi­sion pro­ved to be most sus­cep­ti­ble to the ongo­ing reluc­tance to invest and con­si­derable uncer­tainty wit­hin the auto­mo­tive indus­try, which has been seen since 2019. In the first nine mon­ths, the division’s reve­nue fell by 30.4 per­cent on the prior-year period to 119.0 mil­lion euros (prior year: 170.9 mil­lion euros). Com­pa­red to prior quar­ters, Light & Pro­duc­tion achie­ved the hig­hest quar­terly reve­nue of 44.6 mil­lion euros in the third quar­ter of this fis­cal year. For the first time this year, the divi­sion repor­ted a posi­tive EBITDA of 9.1 mil­lion euros in the third quar­ter, mainly due to hig­her reve­nue and cost savings. Howe­ver, this, tog­e­ther with impro­ved pro­fi­ta­bi­lity in the auto­ma­tion busi­ness, was not enough to off­set unde­ruti­liz­a­tion in the other areas throughout the period cove­red by the report. The division’s EBITDA, adjus­ted for the impacts of struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res worth minus 1.5 mil­lion euros, came to minus 5.9 mil­lion euros in the ent­ire repor­ting period (prior year: 19.2 mil­lion euros). Fol­lowing a very weak second quar­ter, the order intake grew to 56.8 mil­lion euros in the period from July through Sep­tem­ber (prior year: 45.6 mil­lion euros). In the first nine mon­ths of 2020, the order intake in Light & Pro­duc­tion was worth 121.7 mil­lion euros (prior year: 158.7 mil­lion euros), still reflec­ting the impacts of an order can­cel­la­tion in June and pro­ject post­po­ne­ments. Inclu­ding the acqui­red INTEROB orders, worth 27.1 mil­lion euros, the division’s order back­log of 100.6 mil­lion euros at the end of the repor­ting period was shar­ply up on the figure at year-end 2019 (31/12/2019: 81.6 mil­lion euros).

Des­pite the COVID-19 pan­de­mic, sta­ble capi­tal spen­ding pat­terns by public-sec­tor con­trac­tors hel­ped the Light & Safety divi­sion to achieve very good busi­ness per­for­mance over­all in the first nine mon­ths of 2020. Reve­nue rose by 9.3 per­cent to 82.1 mil­lion euros (prior year: 75.1 mil­lion euros). As a result of good busi­ness deve­lo­p­ment, the Light & Safety divi­sion also mana­ged to signi­fi­cantly improve its ope­ra­ting results. Adjus­ted EBITDA incre­a­sed to 14.0 mil­lion euros in the period cove­red by the report (prior year: 11.9 mil­lion euros). The adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin accord­in­gly grew appre­cia­bly to 17.0 per­cent (prior year: 15.9 per­cent). The division’s order intake is sub­ject to typi­cal fluc­tua­tions and, for pro­ject-rela­ted rea­sons, came to 66.1 mil­lion euros in the first nine mon­ths of 2020 (prior year: 72.2 mil­lion euros). The division’s order back­log fell by 26.1 per­cent to 51.6 mil­lion euros (31/12/2019: 69.9 mil­lion euros).

In the first nine mon­ths of the year, VINCORION gene­ra­ted reve­nue of 91.0 mil­lion euros, ther­eby fal­ling short of the prior-year figure of 96.8 mil­lion euros. Demand in the power sys­tems area remai­ned good, but fell in the avia­tion and energy & drive areas due to the dif­fi­cult glo­bal situa­tion. As a result, and due to a lower-mar­gin pro­duct mix, VINCORION’s ope­ra­ting result saw a decline. Over the repor­ting period, EBITDA came to 6.9 mil­lion euros, down on the prior-year figure of 10.6 mil­lion euros. The EBITDA mar­gin fell from 10.9 per­cent in the prior year to a pre­sent 7.5 per­cent. The order intake in the repor­ting period was 105.2 mil­lion euros, prac­ti­cally unch­an­ged on the prior-year figure of 108.0 mil­lion euros. The order back­log grew to 182.2 mil­lion euros and was thus sub­stan­ti­ally hig­her than at the end of 2019 (31/12/2019: 169.7 mil­lion euros).

Reve­nue out­look and mar­gin tar­get for 2020, inclu­ding TRIOPTICS

The Exe­cu­tive Board updated its assess­ment for the 2020 fis­cal year in mid-Octo­ber. Due to per­sist­ently weak over­all eco­no­mic deve­lo­p­ment and fur­ther drastic mea­su­res to con­tain the COVID-19 pan­de­mic, the Exe­cu­tive Board anti­ci­pa­tes reve­nue, exclu­ding TRIOPTICS, to come in at bet­ween 730 and 750 mil­lion euros in the 2020 fis­cal year. This would equate to a decline of 10 to 13 per­cent on the adjus­ted prior-year figure. Fol­lowing a fur­ther impro­ve­ment in the qua­lity of ear­nings in the third quar­ter com­pa­red to the prior quar­ter, the adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin for the full year 2020 is now expec­ted to be at the upper end of the pre­viously fore­cast range of 14.5 to 15.0 per­cent. Inclu­ding TRIOPTICS’ con­tri­bu­tion to reve­nue of around 25 mil­lion euros, reve­nue for the full year 2020 is expec­ted to come in at bet­ween 755 and 775 mil­lion euros, with an adjus­ted EBITDA mar­gin of bet­ween 15.0 and 15.5 per­cent exclu­ding PPA impacts ari­sing from the acqui­si­tion of TRIOPTICS. “The struc­tu­ral and port­fo­lio mea­su­res are to help Jen­op­tik achieve acce­le­ra­ted growth and impro­ved pro­fi­ta­bi­lity star­ting in 2021,” says Traeger.

The quar­terly state­ment is avail­able in the “Investors/Reports and Pre­sen­ta­ti­ons” sec­tion of the Jen­op­tik web­site. The “Jen­op­tik app” can be used to view the report on mobile devices run­ning iOS or Android. Images for down­load can be found in the Jen­op­tik image data­base at media.jenoptik.com.

*Figu­res without note are not adjusted

About Jen­op­tik

Jen­op­tik is a glo­bally ope­ra­ting tech­no­logy group, which is active in the three pho­to­nics-based divi­si­ons Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion and Light & Safety as well as with VINCORION for mecha­tro­nics solu­ti­ons. Opti­cal tech­no­lo­gies are the very basis of our busi­ness with the majo­rity of our pro­ducts and ser­vices being pro­vi­ded to the pho­to­nics mar­ket. Our key tar­get mar­kets pri­ma­rily include the semi­con­duc­tor equip­ment indus­try, the medi­cal tech­no­logy, auto­mo­tive and mecha­ni­cal engi­nee­ring, traf­fic, avia­tion as well as the secu­rity and defense tech­no­logy indus­tries. Jen­op­tik is lis­ted on the Frank­furt Stock Exchange, has more than 4,400 employees world­wide and gene­ra­ted reve­nue of approx. 855 mil­lion euros in 2019.

Con­tact

Tho­mas Fritsche
JENOPTIK AG
Head of Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2291
moc.kitponej@ehcstirf.samoht

Sabine Bar­ne­kow
JENOPTIK AG
Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2156
moc.kitponej@wokenrab.enibas

Aktuelles › JENOPTIK • Ver­bes­se­run­gen bei Umsatz und Ertrag im 3. Quartal

  • Auf­trags­ein­gang mit 177,0 Mio Euro im 3. Quar­tal auf Vor­jah­res­ni­veau, Auf­trags­be­stand stieg nach 9 Mona­ten akqui­si­ti­ons­be­dingt um 6,9 Pro­zent auf 496,7 Mio Euro
  • Umsatz im 3. Quar­tal lag mit 176,1 Mio Euro über den Vor­quar­ta­len, mit 505,0 Mio Euro kumu­liert 13,1 Pro­zent unter Vorjahr
  • Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät im Jah­res­ver­lauf wei­ter ver­bes­sert, adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge im 3. Qaur­tal bei 18,0 Pro­zent, in den ers­ten neun Mona­ten bei 14,6 Prozent
  • Adjus­tier­ter Free Cash­flow klet­terte auf 18,5 Mio Euro
  • Aus­blick 2020: inkl. TRIOPTICS Umsatz zwi­schen 755 und 775 Mio Euro bei einer adjus­tier­ten EBITDA-Marge in einer Spanne von 15,0 bis 15,5 Pro­zent vor PPA-Effek­ten aus der Akqui­si­tion von TRIOPTICS erwartet

Die Aus­wir­kun­gen der Corona-Pan­de­mie und die Ver­un­si­che­rung in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie waren auch im aktu­el­len Berichts­zeit­raum spür­bar und haben den Geschäfts­ver­lauf im 3. Quar­tal wei­ter­hin beein­flusst. Die anhal­tend schwa­che gesamt­wirt­schaft­li­che Ent­wick­lung setzte sich ins­be­son­dere im klas­si­schen Auto­mo­bil­ge­schäft aber auch in Tei­len der Luft­fahrt­bran­che und der Medi­zin­tech­nik fort. Die Nach­frage ent­wi­ckelte sich im 3. Quar­tal wie avi­siert trotz­dem erfreu­lich und lag mit 177,0 Mio Euro deut­lich über dem Auf­trags­ein­gang vom Vor­quar­tal mit 122,2 Mio Euro. Im Zeit­raum Januar bis Sep­tem­ber 2020 ver­rin­gerte sich der Auf­trags­ein­gang auf­grund der Corona-bedingt schwä­che­ren ers­ten Jah­res­hälfte auf 510,9 Mio Euro (i.Vj. berei­nigt 558,7 Mio Euro). Der Auf­trags­be­stand legte auf 496,7 Mio Euro zu (31.12.2019: berei­nigt 464,7 Mio Euro). Die akqui­rier­ten Unter­neh­men INTEROB und TRIOPTICS steu­er­ten hier Auf­träge in Höhe von 51,4 Mio Euro bei.

Die Corona-Pan­de­mie hatte unter­schied­li­che Aus­wir­kun­gen auf den Umsatz­ver­lauf der Jen­op­tik-Divi­sio­nen. Die Geschäfte mit öffent­li­chen Auf­trag­ge­bern sowie mit der Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­in­dus­trie waren nicht bzw. kaum von der Pan­de­mie betrof­fen und ver­zeich­ne­ten sogar Zuwächse. Die Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion wurde dage­gen durch die Ent­wick­lung in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie stark beein­flusst. Im Jah­res­ver­lauf zeigte sich den­noch eine leichte Ver­bes­se­rung der Umsatz­ent­wick­lung. Die Erlöse im Zeit­raum Juli bis Sep­tem­ber lagen mit 176,1 Mio Euro über dem Niveau der bei­den Vor­quar­tale 2020. Kumu­liert rea­li­sierte der Kon­zern in den ers­ten neun Mona­ten 2020 einen Umsatz in Höhe von 505,0 Mio Euro, was einem Rück­gang von 13,1 Pro­zent ent­spricht (i.Vj. berei­nigt 581,4 Mio Euro). Der Umsatz­bei­trag der im Februar 2020 erwor­be­nen Unter­neh­mens­gruppe INTEROB belief sich auf 9,5 Mio Euro. Die zum Ende des Quar­tals in den Kon­zern­ab­schluss ein­be­zo­gene TRIOPTICS lie­ferte einen Bei­trag von 0,9 Mio Euro.

Ein mar­gen­stär­ke­rer Pro­dukt­mix sowie die Maß­nah­men, die ein­ge­lei­tet wur­den, um die Aus­wir­kun­gen der COVID-19-Pan­de­mie zu begren­zen, wie unter ande­rem die Nut­zung von Kurz­ar­beit, hat­ten einen posi­ti­ven Ein­fluss auf die Ent­wick­lung der Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät im Jah­res­ver­lauf. Das adjus­tierte EBITDA legte von 17,3 Mio Euro bzw. 24,9 Mio Euro im 1. und 2. Quar­tal deut­lich auf 31,7 Mio Euro im Berichts­quar­tal zu. Im Zeit­raum Januar bis Sep­tem­ber redu­zierte sich das adjus­tierte EBITDA bedingt durch den Umsatz­ver­lauf im 1. Halb­jahr auf 73,9 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 92,4 Mio Euro). Die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge betrug im Quar­tal 18,0 Pro­zent und kumu­liert über neun Monate 14,6 Pro­zent (i.Vj. Q3 18,3 bzw. 9M 15,9 Pro­zent). In den Adjus­tie­run­gen sind Effekte aus Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men von ins­ge­samt minus 7,3 Mio Euro berück­sich­tigt (i.Vj. minus 1,0 Mio Euro), davon minus 0,9 Mio Euro für Restruk­tu­rie­rung und Stand­ort­op­ti­mie­rung, minus 3,0 Mio Euro für Kos­ten­sen­kungs­pro­gramme sowie minus 3,4 Mio Euro für M+A‑Aktivitäten.

„Wie avi­siert hat sich der Auf­trags­ein­gang von Jen­op­tik im 3. Quar­tal auf Vor­jah­res­ni­veau sta­bi­li­siert. Auch die Ergeb­nis­qua­li­tät hat sich im Zeit­raum Juli bis Sep­tem­ber gegen­über den Vor­quar­ta­len 2020 spür­bar ver­bes­sert, dies stimmt uns für die kom­men­den Monate zuver­sicht­lich“, erklärt Ste­fan Tra­e­ger, Vor­stands­vor­sit­zen­der der JENOPTIK AG.

Wei­ter­hin solide Cash­flow-Ent­wick­lung – Kon­so­li­die­rung von TRIOPTICS zeigt sich deut­lich in der Ver­än­de­rung der Bilanzrelationen

Der Vor­stand hatte bereits im 1. Quar­tal vor­sorg­lich Maß­nah­men beschlos­sen, um schnell auf die durch die Corona-Pan­de­mie ent­stan­dene Situa­tion zu reagie­ren. Neben der Siche­rung von Liqui­di­tät und Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät wur­den auch Maß­nah­men ergrif­fen, um die ope­ra­ti­ven Geschäfte inklu­sive Lie­fer­kette zu sichern und das Working Capi­tal zu opti­mie­ren. So konnte der ope­ra­tive Cash­flow zum 30. Sep­tem­ber 2020 erfreu­lich auf 31,1 Mio Euro gestei­gert wer­den (i.Vj. 27,4 Mio Euro). Infolge des­sen legte auch der Free Cash­flow im Berichts­zeit­raum deut­lich auf 13,4 Mio Euro zu (i.Vj. 7,3 Mio Euro). Adjus­tiert um die zah­lungs­wirk­sa­men Effekte aus Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men stieg der Free Cash­flow sogar auf 18,5 Mio Euro.

Sowohl die Zah­lungs­mit­tel und Zah­lungs­mit­tel­äqui­va­lente als auch die kurz­fris­ti­gen Finanz­an­la­gen ver­rin­ger­ten sich auf­grund der getä­tig­ten Über­nah­men und der Rück­zah­lung eines Schuld­schein­dar­le­hens erwar­tungs­ge­mäß zum 30. Sep­tem­ber auf 83,1 Mio Euro (31.12.2019: 168,7 Mio Euro). In Anbe­tracht der aktu­el­len Ent­wick­lung sieht sich der Kon­zern mit dem Bestand an kurz­fris­tig ver­füg­ba­ren Finanz­mit­teln in Ver­bin­dung mit unge­nutz­ten Kre­dit­li­nien von mehr als 50 Mio Euro sowie einer zusätz­li­chen Brü­cken­fi­nan­zie­rung in Höhe von 300 Mio Euro wei­ter­hin sehr kom­for­ta­bel auf­ge­stellt. Die auf­grund der Akqui­si­tio­nen deut­lich gestie­ge­nen Finanz­ver­bind­lich­kei­ten führ­ten zu einer Erhö­hung der Net­to­ver­schul­dung auf 242,3 Mio Euro (31.12.2019: minus 9,1 Mio Euro).

Ent­wick­lung der Divi­sio­nen: Mar­gen­ver­bes­se­rung bei Light & Optics, gute Ent­wick­lung bei Light & Safety und erwar­tungs­ge­mäß Ein­bu­ßen bei Light & Pro­duc­tion und VINCORION

In den ers­ten neun Mona­ten 2020 erzielte die Divi­sion Light & Optics mit 209,8 Mio Euro einen Umsatz, der 11,2 Pro­zent unter dem berei­nig­ten und somit ver­gleich­ba­ren Vor­jah­res­ni­veau von 236,4 Mio Euro lag. Das Geschäft mit der Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­in­dus­trie blieb wei­ter­hin robust. In den Berei­chen Bio­pho­to­nics sowie Indus­trial Solu­ti­ons hatte die Divi­sion dage­gen auf­grund der Pan­de­mie deut­li­che Rück­gänge zu ver­bu­chen. Das um die Effekte aus Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men in Höhe von 1,7 Mio Euro adjus­tierte EBITDA redu­zierte sich im Ver­gleich zum Vor­jahr um 2,8 Pro­zent auf 48,1 Mio Euro und damit deut­lich unter­pro­por­tio­nal zum Umsatz (i.Vj. 49,5 Mio Euro). Die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge ver­bes­serte sich folg­lich spür­bar von 20,8 Pro­zent auf 22,8 Pro­zent. Zurück­zu­füh­ren war diese Ent­wick­lung unter ande­rem auf einen ren­di­te­stär­ke­ren Pro­dukt­mix. In den ers­ten neun Mona­ten 2020 ver­zeich­nete die Divi­sion Auf­trags­ein­gänge in Höhe von 214,6 Mio Euro und damit fast auf dem berei­nig­ten Vor­jah­res­ni­veau von 216,8 Mio Euro, vor allem auf­grund der anhal­tend guten Nach­frage aus der Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tungs­bran­che. Der Auf­trags­be­stand über­traf akqui­si­ti­ons­be­dingt Ende Sep­tem­ber 2020 mit 162,2 Mio Euro das Niveau vom Jah­res­ende 2019 deut­lich (31.12.2019: berei­nigt 143,5 Mio Euro). TRIOPTICS steu­erte 24,3 Mio Euro zum Auf­trags­be­stand der Divi­sion bei.

In der Geschäfts­ent­wick­lung der Divi­sion Light & Pro­duc­tion waren die bereits seit 2019 anhal­tende Inves­ti­ti­ons­zu­rück­hal­tung und die hohe Unsi­cher­heit in der Auto­mo­bil­in­dus­trie am stärks­ten spür­bar. Der Umsatz der Divi­sion sank in den ers­ten neun Mona­ten gegen­über dem Vor-jah­res­zeit­raum um 30,4 Pro­zent auf 119,0 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 170,9 Mio Euro). Im Quar­tals­ver­gleich erzielte Light & Pro­duc­tion mit 44,6 Mio Euro im 3. Quar­tal jedoch den höchs­ten Quar­tals­um­satz in die­sem Geschäfts­jahr. Mit 9,1 Mio Euro zeigte die Divi­sion im 3. Quar­tal erst­mals in die­sem Jahr ein posi­ti­ves EBITDA. Dazu bei­getra­gen haben vor allem der höhere Umsatz und die Kos­ten­ein­spa­run­gen. Dies sowie die Ver­bes­se­rung der Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät im Auto­ma­ti­sie­rungs­ge­schäft reich­ten jedoch nicht aus, um die Unter­aus­las­tung in den ande­ren Berei­chen wäh­rend des gesam­ten Berichts­zeit­raums aus­zu­glei­chen. Das um die Effekte aus Struk­tur- und Port­fo­lio­maß­nah­men in Höhe von minus 1,5 Mio Euro adjus­tierte EBITDA der Divi­sion belief sich im Berichts­zeit­raum auf 5,9 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 19,2 Mio Euro). Nach einem sehr schwa­chen 2. Quar­tal stieg der Auf­trags­ein­gang von Juli bis Sep­tem­ber auf 56,8 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 45,6 Mio Euro). In den ers­ten neun Mona­ten 2020 betrug der Auf­trags­ein­gang von Light & Pro­duc­tion 121,7 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 158,7 Mio Euro). Hier zei­gen sich immer noch die Aus­wir­kun­gen der Auf­trags­stor­nie­rung im Juni sowie von Pro­jekt­ver­schie­bun­gen. Zusam­men mit den Auf­trä­gen von INTEROB in Höhe von 27,1 Mio Euro lag der Auf­trags­be­stand der Divi­sion zum Ende des Berichts­zeit­raums mit 100,6 Mio Euro deut­lich über dem Niveau vom Jah­res­ende 2019 (31.12.2019: 81,6 Mio Euro).

Das sta­bile Inves­ti­ti­ons­ver­hal­ten der Kun­den aus dem öffent­li­chen Sek­tor bescherte der Divi­sion Light & Safety in den ers­ten neun Mona­ten 2020 trotz der Corona-Pan­de­mie eine ins­ge­samt sehr posi­tive Geschäfts­ent­wick­lung. Die Umsätze stie­gen um 9,3 Pro­zent auf 82,1 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 75,1 Mio Euro). Die Divi­sion Light & Safety konnte im Zuge der guten Geschäfts­ent­wick­lung auch ihre ope­ra­ti­ven Ergeb­nisse deut­lich ver­bes­sern. Das adjus­tierte EBITDA stieg im Berichts­zeit­raum auf 14,0 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 11,9 Mio Euro). Die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge ver­bes­serte sich spür­bar auf 17,0 Pro­zent (i.Vj. 15,9 Pro­zent). Der Auf­trags­ein­gang unter­liegt typi­schen Schwan­kun­gen. Pro­jekt­be­dingt lag er in den ers­ten neun Mona­ten 2020 bei 66,1 Mio Euro (i.Vj. 72,2 Mio Euro). Der Auf­trags­be­stand der Divi­sion redu­zierte sich um 26,1 Pro­zent auf 51,6 Mio Euro (31.12.2019: 69,9 Mio Euro).

In den ers­ten neun Mona­ten des Jah­res erwirt­schaf­tete VINCORION Umsätze in Höhe von 91,0 Mio Euro. Damit lagen die Erlöse unter dem Vor­jah­res­ni­veau von 96,8 Mio Euro. Die Nach­frage im Bereich Power Sys­tems war wei­ter­hin gut. Durch die welt­weit ange­spannte Lage ver­zeich­ne­ten die Berei­che Avia­tion sowie Energy & Drive jedoch Rück­gange. Hier­durch und infolge eines mar­gen­schwä­che­ren Pro­dukt­mi­xes redu­zierte sich das ope­ra­tive Ergeb­nis von VINCORION. Das EBITDA betrug im Berichts­zeit­raum 6,9 Mio Euro nach 10,6 Mio Euro im Vor­jahr. Die EBITDA-Marge ver­rin­gerte sich von 10,9 Pro­zent im Vor­jahr auf aktu­ell 7,5 Pro­zent. Der Auf­trags­ein­gang der Berichts­pe­ri­ode lag mit 105,2 Mio Euro fast auf dem Vor­jah­res­ni­veau von 108,0 Mio Euro, der Auf­trags­be­stand mit 182,2 Mio Euro hin­ge­gen deut­lich über dem Jah­res­end­wert 2019 von 169,7 Mio Euro.

Umsatz­aus­blick und Mar­gen­ziel für 2020 inkl. TRIOPTICS

Mitte Okto­ber hat der Vor­stand seine Ein­schät­zung für das Geschäfts­jahr 2020 aktua­li­siert. Auf­grund der anhal­tend schwa­chen gesamt­wirt­schaft­li­chen Ent­wick­lung und wei­te­rer ein­schnei­den­der Maß­nah­men im Zusam­men­hang mit der Corona-Pan­de­mie erwar­tet der Vor­stand für das Geschäfts­jahr 2020 ohne TRIOPTICS einen Umsatz in einer Spanne von 730 bis 750 Mio Euro, was einem Rück­gang von 10 bis 13 Pro­zent im Ver­gleich zum berei­nig­ten Vor­jahr ent­sprä­che. Nach einer wei­te­ren Ver­bes­se­rung der Ergeb­nis­qua­li­tät im 3. Quar­tal gegen­über dem Vor­quar­tal wird die adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge für das Gesamt­jahr 2020 nun­mehr am obe­ren Ende der bis­her pro­gnos­ti­zier­ten Spanne von 14,5 bis 15,0 Pro­zent gese­hen. Inklu­sive des Umsatz­bei­trags von TRIOPTICS in Höhe von rund 25 Mio Euro wer­den für das Gesamt­jahr 2020 ein Umsatz in einer Spanne von bis 755 bis 775 Mio Euro und eine adjus­tierte EBITDA-Marge zwi­schen 15,0 bis 15,5 Pro­zent vor PPA-Effek­ten aus der Akqui­si­tion von TRIOPTICS erwar­tet. „Unsere Maß­nah­men zur Struk­tur- und Port­fo­li­o­an­pas­sung sol­len ab 2021 zu einer Beschleu­ni­gung des Wachs­tums und einer Ver­bes­se­rung der Pro­fi­ta­bi­li­tät von Jen­op­tik bei­tra­gen“, erklärt Traeger.

Die Quar­tals­mit­tei­lung steht auf der Jen­op­tik-Web­seite unter „Investoren/Berichte und Prä­sen­ta­tio­nen“ zur Ver­fü­gung. Die „Jen­op­tik App“ ermög­licht die Ansicht des Zwi­schen­be­richts auf Mobil­ge­rä­ten mit iOS- und Android-Betriebs­sys­te­men. Bil­der zum Down­load fin­den Sie in der Jen­op­tik-Bild­da­ten­bank unter media.jenoptik.com.

*Zah­len ohne Ver­merk sind weder adjus­tiert noch bereinigt

Über Jen­op­tik

Als glo­bal agie­ren­der Tech­no­lo­gie-Kon­zern ist Jen­op­tik mit den drei pho­to­ni­schen Divi­sio­nen Light & Optics, Light & Pro­duc­tion und Light & Safety sowie mit der Marke VINCORION für mecha­tro­ni­sche Lösun­gen im Markt tätig. Opti­sche Tech­no­lo­gien sind die Basis unse­res Geschäfts: Mit dem über­wie­gen­den Teil unse­res Pro­dukt- und Leis­tungs­spek­trums sind wir in der Pho­to­nik tätig. Zu unse­ren Schlüs­sel­märk­ten zäh­len vor allem die Halb­lei­ter­aus­rüs­tung, Medi­zin­tech­nik, Auto­mo­tive und Maschi­nen­bau, Ver­kehr, Luft­fahrt sowie die Sicher­heits- und Wehr­tech­nik. Jen­op­tik ist an der Frank­fur­ter Wert­pa­pier­börse notiert, beschäf­tigt über 4.400 Mit­ar­bei­ter welt­weit und erzielte im Geschäfts­jahr 2019 einen Umsatz von rund 855 Mio Euro.

Kontakt

Tho­mas Fritsche
JENOPTIK AG
Lei­ter Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2291
moc.kitponej@ehcstirf.samoht

Sabine Bar­ne­kow
JENOPTIK AG
Inves­tor Relations
+49 3641 65–2156
moc.kitponej@wokenrab.enibas